We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We felt like family”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Traditional luxurious riad. Nothing was a problem and very helpful. All staff were exceptional and we would not hesitate returning. All rooms were beautiful if not a bit dark with low lighting though this made it atmospheric. The location was excellent and easy to find. Darwin the family dog was delightful. The staff and family gave good recommendations.

Room Tip: Amethyst suite was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feliceh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We spend two wonderful nights at Riad Le Calife. The welcome was warm, genuine and helpful and the transfer from the airport was most appreciated.

Definitely have dinner in the Riad as Fatima's cooking is great! If possible ask to stay in the top suite "Rubis"

The decor and attention to detail Yasmine and her team have made makes it a true oasis in the most wonderful city which Fez is.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My partner booked a holiday for us to celebrate a 'big' birthday! Based on TA reviews he wisely picked Riad le Calife as I had previously mentioned I wanted to go to Fes. He did very well - couldn't have picked better.
Yasmine and Alexandre were very helpful both before and during our stay.
Originally 9 nights were booked, but the my partner was concerned this may be a bit long in one place. Even though they missed out on a couple of nights of occupancy Yasmine recommended a trip to Chefchauhen (a definite addition to our trip) and it was lovely to return on my birthday to the Riad. I was brought a cake and the staff arranged a car to fetch us and table at Yamine's parents' Palais Faraj for dinner. Here we were greeted as friends, given a drink and a birthday pastry, complete with candle, as part of our celebrations.
Royal Air Maroc delayed our luggage and, again, the staff at the Riad were very helpful to us in trying to sort everything out.
As others' have said, the Riad is in a great position and is beautifully decorated. Food is great and staff extremely helpful. The owners make a real effort to welcome visitors.
What more could you want?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WendyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My wife and I had a lovely two night stay and were warmly greeted and received. All the positive reviews are right on. As a nice example of how friendly they are, Alexandre (the owner) came on the last morning to say good bye. He had been unable to say hello during our stay, due to some family issue; however, he still took the time to meet us, walk us down to our waiting tour and send us off safely. Very much appreciated. Thank you to everyone there.
Shira and Ben

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsfriedland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were bought to this Riad by our tour company (Highlights Of Morocco Tours) Riad Le Calife does not deserve 5 stars...it deserves a lot more. There aren't enough stars to describe how great this riad is. The staff, management, and owners can't do enough for you to make your stay the most comfortable ever. They are so attentive to everything. The rooms, service, and food are all great The hotel is very charming, ambience is good, the people we very friendly.. and we highly recommend having at least one dinner at the hotel because the food was excellent!!

I would highly recommend a visit to this wonderful Riad. We will definitely return.thanks to our Tour Company!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jame J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stay here! Not only was the riad beautiful, private, elegant, and located in a great spot.... the staff who run it go above and beyond to make you feel welcomed and looked after. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip, and we traveled a lot through Morocco. It's a perfect place to unwind at the end of full walking days. Oh, and try the cooking class with Fatima. She's great and her food is wonderful! Thank you to Yasmine and Alex for everything! xo :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emmCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Riad in the Diamond Suite in early November of 2013. It was as beautiful as the pictures show and our room was enormous and luxurious. We were very impressed with all the staff who were, without exception, warm, helpful and very accommodating. The owners who were, unfortunately, tied up with a family emergency still made the effort to come by and greet us and welcome us to their small hotel. The breakfasts were plentiful and served with a smile. I was fortunate to spend several hours in the kitchen with Fatima learning how to make couscous and several other dishes which were served up for dinner that evening. She was a lovely girl who it was a pleasure to get to know. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming riad!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PriscillaPruitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £86 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing