We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful, welcoming oasis”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2010

After a long journey and a challenging day, we arrived at Riad Le Calife feeling exhausted. Our host Yasmine welcomed us with mint tea and then showed us our beautiful room and the dazzling view from the rooftop terrace.

Riad Le Calife is deceptively unimpressive looking from the outside. It is situated in the dusty, twisting streets of the crowded medina. (Make sure you get exact directions before you leave home -- we failed to do so, and this contributed to my stressful day). But the location is one of the great things about it. When you step out the door, you are in the heart of the buzzing marketplace, a UNESCO world heritige site.

When you step inside, this riad is beautifully decorated in a way that honors the traditional Moroccan architecture, with a modern, soothing twist. You will instantly feel pampered and at home.

However, the crowning accomplishment is the sense of hospitality. Yasmine and Alex are fabulous hosts and Fatima is a wonderful cook. This place is perfection! We have stayed at many hotels over the years, and Rial Le Calife ranks among the best.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Riad Le Calife
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2010

From the moment we walked into this riad we fell in love with its warmth decor, ambiance and wonderful staff. Our host Yasmine was very welcoming and friendly, despite the fact that we checked in late in the evening our host showed us around the riad and was very informative. The riad has a beautiful terrace overlooking the city of Fes and a lovely tranquil garden just outside our bedroom, the room was tastefully decorated with french and moroccan influence,it was clean and the bed was very comfortable that it was hard to get out of. The Morcoccan food served was home made and delicious and the also serve wine. This riad is definitely worth staying for a traditional and beaurtiful moroccan experience, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lokann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

We had a wonderful and sophisticated experience at Riad Le Califfe in Fes. The accomodations are fantastic and the cuisine great. We enjoyed very much the kind attention of the personnel and particularly the warm and dedicated reception of the owners.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

we had a really wonderful stay at the riad , yasmine and alex go out of their way to make your holiday the best . excellent food , well organised excursions , lovely comfortable rooms , we couldn't falt them .

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midwifeibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

Riad Le Calife is a great base from which to explore Fes and the surrounding area. The building itself is gorgeous, featuring wonderfully restored tiles of deeps blues and greens, an oasis of a courtyard and terrace, and very quiet and private rooms. The staff and owners are very welcoming and warm, offerring great tips for sites to see and restaurants. The attention to detail sets this Riad apart, from a delicious and abundant breakfast to the antique books on the shelves and the fruit that greets you when you arrive. Only a few minutes walk from the most interesting sites in the medina, the location is also a big plus.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPG-Aficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2010

This is an outstanding riad. We stayed for three nights. The service was impeccable. Food was absolutely delicious--we ate dinner there two nights. It's not cheap food, but it is exquisite and the service was outstanding. The owners have done a magnificent job in creating a beautiful space. The courtyard is lovely, and the rooms are comfortable (with good beds!). It was too cold to enjoy the terrace, but the view was lovely and it would be a delightful spot on a warm, sunny day or evening. The owners were very friendly, warm, and accommodating. They also provided good advice for touring Fes. They were also very helpful in getting us from the train station to the riad--it's quite confusing at first!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

A wonderful stay with the most lovable hosts, showing you the dearest hospitality we have ever experienced at our world-wide travels; everything was really excellent: the Riad, the atmosphere, the room, the meals (prepared by fabulous cook Fatima!), the service, the short distance to the Medina - not to forget Darwin, the dog!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaus42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
952 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £86 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing