We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, serene, and beautifully restored riad.”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This was one of our favorite places during our 2 wk. visit to Morocco. The charming owners, Alex and Yasmine, did everything they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Fez. They have done an excellent job restoring and decorating this riad, with many thoughtful details to comfort while remaining authentic in feel. The roof deck has a wonderful view of the medina which is positively magical at night. We always looked forward to the cool garden and soothing sounds of the fountain after returning from the hot and hectic medina. Breakfasts were generous and served what seems to be traditional Moroccan fare - lots of breads, jams, crepes, juice, dried fruits and eggs. We also had dinner there the first night which was delicious. Pace yourself, they give you way too much food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
There are newer reviews for Riad Le Calife
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2010

I wonder if there is any place to stay on the planet as perfect as this small, sumptuous, and charming riad. It is replete with every amenity and charming detail imaginable. The Diamond Room (one of seven gems) was absolutely exquisite and even more spacious than its picture on the riad website. My sister and I could not quit talking about the wonderful hosts and staff. The staff was unfailingly friendly and attentive, yet careful to give us our privacy. If they were in America, I would want them all as friends. The hosts, Alex and Yasmine, gave us a warm reception and helped us with absolutely anything we needed. They even asked one of their staff to accompany us to our medina destination one day because we seemed hopelessly confused with directions! The meals were Moroccan cuisine that were delicious, well-presented, and served outside on the open terrace that was as exquisite as the courtyard and several sitting rooms. We got more than our money’s worth, and the riad was an experience in itself….one we will never forget.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyTebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I cannot say enough about this magical place. As you round the corner of the narrow Fes street, knock at a beautiful door, your anticipation mounts and then you are ushered into an amazing environment that has been created to speak to all of your senses. The courtyard is an oasis of fresh air, and charming furniture, appointed with examples of the famous craftsmen of Fes in the mosaic tiles and carved wood. The attention to detail in the interiors is glorious. It is old Fes, mixed with modern conveniences, with a sprinkling of a Parisienne antique store to set the mood. The food is lovely, some of the best meals we had in all of Morocco! The hosts Alexander and Yasmin were gracious and helpful, ready to answer any quesiton. Cocktail hour in the courtyard or on the roof terrace is transforming. We would never stay anywhere else in Fes, and we may return to Morocco just to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritzieSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

So many wonderful reviews. All true. Two tips. Diamond room was huge, luxe and dramatic. Second, eat one night at the raid. Wonderful Moroccan fare was our favorite in fez

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miuraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

The RIad is amazing. It has been beautifully renovated in a manner that is true to its historic roots but is also fashionable and comfortable. We were on our honeymoon; so, we splurged for the Diamond Room. As my wife said, it is probably the nicest room we will ever stay in. You feel like you are staying in a palace. They ever arranged hearts with flower pedals on the bed for our arrival. The only thing better than the Riad are the hosts, Yasmine and Alex. They are extremely helpful, and very charming. I also highly recommend having at the Riad at least one night. The food is delicious, but you may want to skip lunch as the portions are generous. There is no reason to look any further than Riad Le Calife.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boulder1Boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I do not know what we would have done without Alex and Yasmine. They were phenomenal hosts and it was such a pleasure to be guests in their home.

Our plane to Morocco was an hour late; this caused us to miss our train. We missed the high speed train and ended up in Fes two hours late. We emailed Alex and Yasmine to let them know but we were worried that someone would not be at the train station to meet us. We were extremely relieved the find the driver waiting for us at the station. He waited for two hours after Alex and Yasmine informed him that we were still coming on a later train. What a relief! The riad porter then loaded our bags in a cart and lead us to the riad.

When we arrived at the riad we were graciously greeted by Alex and Yasmine. They requested our passports and completed a form upon our arrival. (This form is important.** All hotels are required to turn this form into the authorities as a way to account for the guests. We found out later in our trip that many riads operate fraudulently as a way to escape paying taxes. The owners will not live at the riad, they will require cash only and will not complete the forms. Just something to watch out for. ) After Alex showed us to our lovely room he escorted us to dinner in the courtyard. We had requested dinner on the first night and it was kept warm for our arrival. After our long train ride we were famished and the food was amazing. Dinner was awesome! I would recommend having dinner at the riad at least one night.

The next morning Alex showed us a map and explained how to navigate around the old city. Alex has probably given the same speech 1000 times but he seemed excited to tell us about Fes and all of the information was very useful. We set out on the first day and tried to follow the signs but we did not realize that the color paths in the souk are not always the same as the colors on the map. We realized that if you look for the name of the gate (bab) this is what really helps. You just have to let yourself get lost in the medina and have fun with it or you will get frustrated. You do not need a guide. Once we stopped trying to figure it out and just went with it, we had a blast. After wondering around a short time we started to figure out the different routes through the souk. The alleyways in Fes are very narrow and maze like, not as wide as the alleys in Marrakech. Only mules and motorbikes can make it into the souk. The souk is very traditional and it was an amazing adventure.

The riad was a wonderful place to relax after the exhausting day in the souks. My husband and I enjoyed mint tea on the terrace with an amazing assortment of cookies. The cookies were absolutely scrumptious. Alex and Yasmine did such an amazing job restoring the riad. Their riad was in the traditional format with the fountain in the center of the courtyard and the lovely gardens in the surrounding areas. Some riads have a swimming pool and other amenities which take away from the authenticity and beauty. I am involved in photography and had a blast photographing all of the amazing details in the riad. Please check out my photos attached to the trip advisor site. The riad is beautiful! The riad I stayed in in Marrakech didn’t even compare.

Alex and Yasmine recommended a restaurant called Fes Et Gestes for dinner the second night. It was wonderful! Le Calife is number one on trip advisor for a reason. They made our stay memorable and we will never forget our amazing experience staying at Le Calife. I highly recommend this riad and cannot praise the fantastic service enough. We were completely spoiled by Alex and Yasmine. They will do anything in their power to make your stay exceptional.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MChamblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

My fiancee and I stayed at Riad Le Calife for four nights in early May 2010, and we have been raving about it ever since.

We cannot imagine how you could improve upon the service provided by Alex and Yasmine Lecomte, who I believe are also the proprietors in addition to running the riad themselves. The phrase that comes to mind is that they made us feel like we were guests in their home, but actually it was better than that. They are always ready to help, but have a light touch. It would be more accurate to say we felt like house guests in all of the best ways. The two of them are on the premises from early morning until late at night and take the kind of responsibility you would expect of owners. As it gradually dawned on us that we were in the best of hands, we consulted them on more and more things. In the end, I think they did more to plan our trip to Fez than we did. They arranged a car to pick us up at the airport, arranged a guide to take us around the medina our first day, arranged a car for a day trip to Volubilis and Meknes, and offered excellent restaurants recommendations for lunch and dinner around Fez (although our favorite meals were at Riad Le Calife itself). Everything they recommended or arranged for us was flawless, and reasonably priced. There was not a single mis-step.

The riad itself is breathtaking. The Diamond Room, where we stayed, looks like you should have to buy a ticket to enter. Like the madrasas of Fez, it is decorated with sculpted stucco, carved wood and colored tilework. It has stained glass windows facing west, and the patterns cast on the walls at sunset are dazzling. It is (like the riad as a whole) perfumed by orange flower water. The central courtyard, which all the rooms face, is a soothing sanctuary from the bustle and din of the medina. Around sunset, after long days of traipsing about the medina, we often read on our bed, or on the day bed, with our windows flung wide open, listening to the courtyard fountain burble away. When we were able to tear ourselves away from our room, we would take our afternoons rest after touring on the roof terrace, which offers panoramic views of the medina and the surrounding hills.

Whatever you do, don’t miss dinners at the riad. Food matters a lot to us, and we sought out the best restaurants of Fez when we dined out, but the best meals we had were at the riad. This was quite a surprise to us – going in, I wasn’t even aware the riad offered dinner. Each night, a different set menu is offered – one night it was cous cous, another night fish. In our experience, you can’t go wrong, but we recommend the cous cous in particular. Our only regret is that we didn’t stay in for dinner more than two of our four nights.

The last thing we would note – and this is very important – is that the riad has an excellent location: it is in the medina, but at its edge. This is ideal because it puts the riad within easy walking distance of the principal sights of Fez (which are all in the medina), but, unlike places in the heart of the medina (which, to simplify, is like a giant pedestrian maze), is easily accessible by car, not more than a three-minute walk from a cab stand.

If it is not clear from the above, we cannot recommend Riad Le Calife strongly enough. We hope you try it. If you are at all unsure, exchange a few emails with Alex and Yasmine. You will quickly see what we’re talking about.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HB_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#3 of 100 in Fes
415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £85 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing