We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Raid”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
1 review
“Spectacular Raid”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We were so sad to leave Riad Le Calife after just two days and wished we could have stayed longer. Yasmine and Alex were excellent hosts and made sure we had an incredible experience in Fes. From the restaurant recomendations to the car service at the train station and the last-minute massages they booked for us, our entire stay was spectacular.

We stayed in the Emerald Suite, which was gorgeous (photos don't do it justice) and the service from everyone at Raid Le Calife was unparalleled. Definitely have dinner at the Raid at least one night -- their cook is amazing and it was by far the best meal we had in Morocco. Also, Take them up on their offer to book you a guide -- it was our only regret.

Bottom line, if you want a to stay in an elegant yet authentic environment with every ammenity you could imagine, this is the place for you. We would go back to Morocco in a heartbeat just to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoGirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
517
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I loved everything about the place and the friendly owners wo were very helpful. really stunning and worth splashing out on too!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2010

This was the perfect beginning of our vacation to Morocco. My 23 year old daughter joined my husband and I on our trip through Morocco. We stayed for three nights. If I had to do it again I would spend at least one more night and travel to Mekes for a day trip. Raid Le Calife is everything you want in a vacation; beautifully decorated clean rooms, excellent cuisine prepared by Fatima, a relaxing massage, and the perfect host and hostess,Yasmine and Alex. I picked this Raid in Fez because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. You will not be disappointed if you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manlyjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed in the Amethyst room on 3rd floor of this well preserved and very beautifully decorated riad. Our room overlooked the courtyard and was very tastefully decorated. We liked all the personal touches, books, and of course - Darwin the little dog. Jasmine and Alex were among the best hosts we came across in our 5 weeks of travel through Spain and Morocco - always there to assist and to ensure that all our needs were met.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_and_Ray_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This was one of our favorite places during our 2 wk. visit to Morocco. The charming owners, Alex and Yasmine, did everything they could to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Fez. They have done an excellent job restoring and decorating this riad, with many thoughtful details to comfort while remaining authentic in feel. The roof deck has a wonderful view of the medina which is positively magical at night. We always looked forward to the cool garden and soothing sounds of the fountain after returning from the hot and hectic medina. Breakfasts were generous and served what seems to be traditional Moroccan fare - lots of breads, jams, crepes, juice, dried fruits and eggs. We also had dinner there the first night which was delicious. Pace yourself, they give you way too much food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baton rouge, la
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I wonder if there is any place to stay on the planet as perfect as this small, sumptuous, and charming riad. It is replete with every amenity and charming detail imaginable. The Diamond Room (one of seven gems) was absolutely exquisite and even more spacious than its picture on the riad website. My sister and I could not quit talking about the wonderful hosts and staff. The staff was unfailingly friendly and attentive, yet careful to give us our privacy. If they were in America, I would want them all as friends. The hosts, Alex and Yasmine, gave us a warm reception and helped us with absolutely anything we needed. They even asked one of their staff to accompany us to our medina destination one day because we seemed hopelessly confused with directions! The meals were Moroccan cuisine that were delicious, well-presented, and served outside on the open terrace that was as exquisite as the courtyard and several sitting rooms. We got more than our money’s worth, and the riad was an experience in itself….one we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyTebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I cannot say enough about this magical place. As you round the corner of the narrow Fes street, knock at a beautiful door, your anticipation mounts and then you are ushered into an amazing environment that has been created to speak to all of your senses. The courtyard is an oasis of fresh air, and charming furniture, appointed with examples of the famous craftsmen of Fes in the mosaic tiles and carved wood. The attention to detail in the interiors is glorious. It is old Fes, mixed with modern conveniences, with a sprinkling of a Parisienne antique store to set the mood. The food is lovely, some of the best meals we had in all of Morocco! The hosts Alexander and Yasmin were gracious and helpful, ready to answer any quesiton. Cocktail hour in the courtyard or on the roof terrace is transforming. We would never stay anywhere else in Fes, and we may return to Morocco just to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fritzieSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Property: Riad Le Calife
Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing