We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous location and hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2010

There are a few things that make this place great:
1. Location - it's in the heart of the Medina
2. Architecture - the building is a converted old house with a wonderful courtyard, birds chirping in the morning, etc. Sounds like they are expanding.
3. Darwin - the owners' lovely dog
4. The restaurant - terrific food without over-doing it
5. Friendly welcoming service from all who work there
6. Wifi in all rooms (free)
We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. Would recommend to anyone who is looking for a great Fez experience. Also, definitely get the full day guided tour of the Medina.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandS303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    20
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
56
501
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

The friendliest owners with the cutest dog, Darwin, made us feel at home immediately. The riad is beautifully furnished and captures the essence of Morocco. The riad is located in the medina and we walked the maze easily from our accomodation.
Rooms were beautiful and I would highly recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeleCPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solon ohio
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Yasmine and Alexandre are the most warm and welcoming owners/ hosts whom we have ever met. The staff is the same...you think it and they are offering it to you. They seem to understand that you are somewhere "different" when you are in Fes and they anticipate your needs and concerns. We stayed in the Opaline room...beautiful and so comfortable. The entire Riad has been lovingly restored. We were exhaused from a long day of driving from Marrakech and even though we hadn't arranged for dinner at the Riad, we arrived hungry. They apologetically presented us with the most beautiful and authentic meal that was so wonderful! They arranged a private guide for us, Hussein, who made Fes come to life for us. We feel like we left behind friends in Fes. We hope to return one day and we will definitely be staying with our friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nonny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

This is one of the best boutique hotels I've ever stayed in and definetly the BEST in Morocco. The owners (Yasmine and Alex) are SUPER professional, sweet and helpful. The staff (Soumaya, Mounem, Mohamed and their super chef Fatima) are nice, attentive, extremely warm-without being pushy or slizzy. The food is the best quality and value for money I found throughout my stay in Morocco.
Make sure to take the cooking class wiith Fatima which is a really cool experience and for FREE -unlike other places in Fez where they charge you 600 Dirhams. Attention to details, from the interiors to the food menu...if the name of the game in this Riad.
After staying in other riads, for the same price...I can easily say that Le Calife is the best.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Couldn’t be happier with this gracious Riad and the service we have experienced. We highly recommend it.
We have been fortunate to discover many great restaurants and places to visit in Fes. You might need a local official guide to help you.
Definitely recommend restaurant Palais des Merinides for its grandeur. It is not cheap, but definitely worth it. Ask to see Fes from their rooftop terrace.
Also, do visit Meknes while you are in Fes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We had a lovely time at The Riad le Calife, staying in the Topaz room.

We love the attention to detail of this place. Alex is very passionate about the decorations and the selections e.g. small Fez hats with some sweet inside on the pillows, a touch screen alarm clock and a natural soap.

The Riad owners Yasmine and Alex were very helpful, so as all staff. What I like about the service is that they are attentive but fully aware to give guests some space and privacy. They have an adorable dog called Darwin – very well behaved.

If you are going to stay at this Riad, or any Riad in Fez/ Marrakech, it’s recommended to let a Riad arranges the transfer from airport/ train station. It may be difficult to find a riad at the first place.

I took a cooking class with Fatima, she is a lovely person and a brilliant cook. The kitchen is very clean so you don’t need to worry about the hygienic issue eating here.

If you spend Friday here, where the medina is closed in the afternoon, it’s recommended to do Hamman (The Riad can book for your), take cooking class with Fatima or just chill our at the rooftop riad. The view from the Riad rooftop is stunning.

We have also asked the riad to organise a tour guide for us. Momo is a local and professional tour guide. He is knowledgeable and gave us a very good tour. More importantly, we don’t get hassled when we are walking around with him.

The breakfast was very nice and filling: you get the Moroccan pancake, eggs, cheese and cold meat, yoghurt, juice, coffee/tea, pastry and some delicious cake from Fatima.

Absolutely have nothing bad to say about this place, it’s just right. We would recommend our friends to stay here. Lovely experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

Absolutely great riad and wonderful hosts. Lived up to the riad experience in every way. It is obvious in every part of the riad, that every detail has been thought about and considered. Not only is the entire décor beautiful and tastefully done, the entire space is extremely comfortable and offers a great respite from the bustle of the medina….like having a second home in Morocco, if you were so lucky. The owners, Alex and Yasmine, are extremely gracious and helpful hosts. The entire staff at Riad Le Calife goes out of their way to help you and make your stay in Fez as rewarding as possible. It is obvious that Riad Le Calife takes pride in offering a wonderful experience for its guests, and has an authentic desire to help you enjoy your time in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Property: Riad Le Calife
Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing