We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and excellent stay”
Review of Riad Le Calife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Le Calife
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
pasadena
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and excellent stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Our stay at the Riad was superb. Yasmin and Alexandre were beautiful and charming hosts and their chef was outstanding. they also provuided us with Hassan, probably one of the best guides we have had anywhere. Fes is a beautiful and cultural city as is this Riad and its facilities.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayachans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    21
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
516
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Riad Le Calife was a lovely place for a 3-night break for our wedding anniversary. Having been to Morocco before, I was keen to return, but in a more luxurious fashion than backpacking exploits of many years ago.

Fes is fascinating, but it was lovely to have somewhere tranquil and friendly in the midst of the medina after a busy day sightseeing; or it might all have got a bit overwhelming. Our hosts were so helpful, and the food was great - after our first night, we agreed there was no point eating elsewhere in the evening.

Service wonderful throughout - we were particularly grateful that we were still able to dine after we arrived later than anticipated. The good write-ups here are thoroughly justified.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexJCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We spent 4 nights at the Riad Le Califfe which is a lovely place to stay and would highly recommend it. Alex and Yasmin are excellent hosts and make you feel very welcome, all the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food cooked by Fatima was excellent, as I was not too sure what to expect. Our suite was very clean and comfortable, although up 3 flights of fairly steep steps and I loved the views from the rooftop terraces.

Joanne & John Pinner, Middx

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfitzpatrick19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Upon arival in Fez we were picked up by our taxidriver at the airport which brought us to the hotel. The hotel is about a 2min walk from the main road right next to the medina. Our suitcases were brought to our room and the check-in was very quick and efficient.

We stayed at the amethyst-room which was very lovely decorated, spacious and clean. Although the hotel was right next to the medina the room was silent and we could have a good night sleep. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant with great maroccan food and a nice bar with internet. If you want to try the maroccan-cuisine you should definately eat at the hotel's restaurant. Be aware though, if you have difficulties walking steps this hotel might not be the best choise for you.

The personal service they offer is awesome! The owners were always there to give you tips on where to go for sightseeing, eating etc. Because of eating in a roadside-restaurant i got sick and they did everything they could to make my stay as comfortable as possible. After arriving back home I even recieved an email to ask if I was ok, now thats what i call personal attention!

If you are planning on going to Fez and want a traditionally marocan looking hotel with personal service you should definately go here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Riad Le Calife is an old riad completely refurbished by Alex (French) and Yasmine (French-Morrocan) with a lot of taste. It is located in the Medina. Getting there is a bit freightening as you have to walk 500 feet from the point the taxi leaves you (the Riad sends a clerk to help you find your way). Once inside you are in another world. Rooms are beautifully decorated, and perfectly fitted. Service is perfect and the hosts are extremely helpful. I can certainly recommend this place on.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franhirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We are very happy to see that Riad Le Calife was awarded as the third best hotel on the Travelers' choice 2011 list of top 25 hotels in the world - well done Alex and Jasmine, you deserved this! Our stay in this Riad was an absolute highlight of our two weeks roundtrip in Morocco in September 2010. Our lovely room and the calm garden was the perfect place for a relaxing break when returning from the fuzz and chaos that characterizes the Fes medina. Further, it was an amazing experience to sit in the roof terrace the evening; listening to the imans calling for prayer and watching the sun set over the roof tops of the medina.
Alex and Jasmine are perfect hosts. On our first day they arranged a guided tour for us and we had a fantastic meal in the roof terrace when we returned. Another evening, they recommended us to go to a small, very authentic restaurant off the beaten track (and not mentioned in Lonely Planet) that we would never have discovered by ouselves.
Our stay at Riad Le Calife was a fantastic experience and we would recommend everyone to treat themselves by spending a few nights there while visiting the captivating city of Fes!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thilde_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Riad Le Calife is a gem among all the riads we visited in Morroco. The owners are running a great show with attention to all details including fire safety, bathroom amenities (called produits d'accueuil by the Frenchs), etc.... If one wants to be critical, a slightly better egg service for breakfast would be more appealing to patrons from around the world. We are actively recommending Riad Calife in Fes to all our contacts and can't wait to find the right opportunity to go back there.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeletaxi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Le Calife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Le Calife

Property: Riad Le Calife
Address: 19 bis derb el Ouarbyia | el Makhfia, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#15 Family Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Le Calife 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the authentic world of the Riad Le Calife, and relish in its harmonious alliance of tradition and modernity. Located in the historical centre of the Medina (old city) of Fez, the Riad is a traditional home of the last century recently converted into a charming guesthouse. The house includes three prestigious suites and four charming rooms, three lounge areas, a well-being space and two terraces with a stunning panoramic view of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Riad Le Calife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Le Calife Fes
Riad Le Calife Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing