We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A destination in Morocco in itself” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Alkantara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alkantara
Ranked #92 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A destination in Morocco in itself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights with our three young children.
The plain black entrance door does not prepare you for what you will find inside: a magnificent collection of riads, some of them still being restored, with delightful inner courtyards, all surrounding the very beautiful gardens with roaming tortoises and big pool. The hotel is, overall, very spacious and provides a real sense of relief from the bustling streets of the medina (and a safe line with our children).

Our room, the Chant des Chants, is beautiful and spacious enough for two extra beds and a cot to fit in very comfortably and has a beautifully decorated bathroom (with lots of fluffy towels, bathrobes and expensive soaps). The Citadelle, where my mum stayed for one night, is also very spacious and has a beautiful bathroom. The rooms have a definite luxurious feel.

We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and the rooms had lit candles, which was a really nice touch. But although the level of service was adequate throughout, one felt that you were a bit left to your own devices during your stay, like when we resorted to putting cushions on the sun deck chairs by the pool ourselves (every morning) and had to solicit for towels.
And what Riad Alkantara truly lacks is a special dining experience, which would make it an absolutely faultless place to stay. Dinner is strangely served in what seems to be the bar lounge, which feels very unwelcoming with its row of leather chairs and general decoration mismatch. The food is pleasant but very much average and, again, the service is slow and often absent. But this is only meant as a constructive criticism and it must be mentioned that the person who is in charge when the owners are absent is a beautiful charming young woman whose manners will enchant you - she also has the use of a wardrobe fit for a princess and she will change into her beautiful clothes several times throughout the day!

Riad Alkantara is so beautiful that it will not fail to impress: make sure your digital camera has a large memory card as you will not be able to stop taking photos!
With cheap Ryanair flights departing from London, we will definitely consider visiting Riad Alkantara again for a long weekend in the future.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

The riad, nestled in the medieval quarter of Fes, is an oasis of gardens and terraces with a swimming pool, lounge overlooking the terrace and an art exhibit space. Each individually decorated suite features air conditioning, stereo and music library, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, and tub or shower. The gourmet Fassi cusine of Riad Alkantara provides the perfect, satisfying cap to the day. Breakfasts are served upstairs in the spacious dining room.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We were amazed and thrilled with this beautiful Riyad which we had almost to ourselves. Rooms and decor are magnificnet and in all it was a terrific stay. Staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambohare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We arrived at the Riad on New Year's eve and were met by Saffer and Imane who gave us an exceptionally warm welcome. We stayed in the Chambre des Champs which is the one room with a view overlooking Fez and the fields beyond. The whole Riad is decorated with exceptional taste and a breathtaking attention to detail and the staff is phenomenally friendly. Although it was too cold at this time of year to swim, the pool looks very inviting. The food prepared at Alkanata was excellent and I highly recommend eating there at least once. Saffer and Imane organized a guide for us, Abdul. he is somewhat surly but knows fez like the back of his hand. he will take you into carpet selling stores and other antique shops but almost every single stop was very well worth it - there is of course no obligation to buy anything and his surliness had nothing to do with that - he just is that way and on the whole, he comes also highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

really sumptuous, private environment. beautiful gardens (altho pool too cold to swim in), beautiful architecture. attention to detail amazing. fantastic room with view, could not wish for more...

note however, that you share a riad with someone else and we shared it with 2 families with young children, who were up at 6am screaming for an hour. not ideal...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

One of the best "hotels" I have ever stayed anywhere in the world. Traditional riad experience. Tiling and architecture at its best. Spacious gardens, quiet location, beautiful pool, warm service, great room, super breakfast/crepes. We dined there too - try the pastisa (wow), couscous, tagine.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Staying here is a very special and unusual experience. We were attracted initially by the fact that it has a pool and a decent sized one at that albeit it was refreshingly cold. Having said that when you have been bustling through the medina for hours or been lolling in the 36c heat all day that is most welcome. The gardens are exquisite and the rooms are grand and very elegant. As other reviewers have noted it really is like staying in your own peaceful palace a world away from the hustle and hassle outside which is an integral part of any Moroccan holiday. We appeared to be the only guests staying there and with the small number of discrete staff employed on occasions it almost got quite spooky wandering around the silent deserted gardens.
The downside of this languid atmosphere is that it has infected the staff who whilst willing do nothing very fast. For example ask for your bill well in advance as it took many minutes to fire up computers printers calculate the extras etc.
The only other gripe I would have is that 450 dirhams for a pleasant but unexceptional dinner is excessive and put into context by the fact that we had had a perfectly tasty brochette, fries and salad for lunch for 24 dirhams! OK dinner on the terrace of the Riad is more exotic than eating at a street cafe but at almost TWENTY times more I would recommend popping out to a nearby restaurant. It was also the only Riad we stayed in where butter and jam at breakfast came in plastic packets rather than in individual pots or other dishes which was a disappointment considering this was the most expensive place we stayed on our whole trip.
In summary the impression we had was that the owner - who was absolutely charming - was letting a select few people in on his life's passion which is the restoration of this amazing place rather than running a commercial business. As long as you realise that you may therefore feel you are more of a privileged house guest rather than a paying customer and you want absolute peace and quiet this is a truly unique place to stay.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fergus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#24 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#20 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Bleue
La Maison Bleue
#59 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.1 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alkantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alkantara

Property: Riad Alkantara
Address: 24 Oued Souaffine | Douh Fes Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alkantara 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alkantara is an exceptional location within the walls of the medieval city of Fes; it is a hidden enchantment in the heart of a shaded area surrounded by 5 riads of different periods and architectural styles that have been restored with patience and passion to unite modern comfort and the splendours of the past in an exquisite alchemy. The garden has a vast swimming pool surrounded by greenery and supplied with pure spring water, there are many fountains and patios, where you can relax and listen to the birds soothing singing. At nightfall the delicate light breeze from the Atlas Mountains highlights the assorted fragrances of musk, jasmine and honeysuckle. The oriental sweetness and delicacy is revealed. In the vein of Italian theatre, the esplanades located at various levels are very well adapted to all types of events, whether cultural, artistic or just for amusement. Riad Alkantara also has its lounge bar and smoking area on a shaded terrace, a restaurant where cuisine inspired from all over the world is served, traditional Moroccan cuisine which is served in the guest dining room, a shop selling traditional Moroccan clothes and decorative items ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Alkantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing