We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad with wonderful pool in the centre of the medina”
Review of Riad Alkantara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Alkantara
Ranked #99 of 213 Fes B&B and Inns
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    16
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deerlijk, Belgie
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

+ Riad Alkantara is a very beautiful and quiet hotel in the old medina of Fes. Only a 10 minutes walk to the shops and Bab Boujloud. Our room was spacious with a nice bathroom and huge bath-tub. The room was cleaned every day! The large swimming pool is sooo nice when the temperature in Fes is over 40 degrees C. Delicious snacks can be ordered by the pool (maybe a little expensive comparing the prices in Fes restaurants).

- Breakfast is ok, but can use some change! Sunbeds, towels,... by the pool should be ordened every evening! The pool can be used by non-hotel guests. This disturbs the peacefulness and tranquility and sometimes makes that hotel guests don't have a sunbed...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This was our first trip to Fez and as fascinating as it is, the beauty and peace of this special place made it so much better. It is truly one of the most enchanting places I have been-of course I am fascinated with Islamic architecture and Moroccan mosaic tilework-so perhaps I am a bit biased. However, my two daughters and my husband were delighted as well. Met at the door by the lovely and charming Iman, you are surrounded by lush gardens and wonderfully restored buildings.
The pool was a hit, as was dining on the terrace(great food), searching for the baby turtles or or just relaxing in the shade. Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Highly recommend for a relaxed and enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO63048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Fez is magical. Riad Alkantara is beautiful, spacious, friendly and so much better than we could have hoped. The pool is a huge draw if you have children as I think it's the only one in Fez of a decent size, ie not an oversized fountain. The service is charming, and despite only being home for a couple of hours we have recommended it to everybody we meet!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aba e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Riad Alkantara was an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of the Fes medina. The rooms are stunningly decorated, the gardens and pool are very large compared to other hotels in Fes and the staff always helpful. Terrific. We were incredibly glad that we chose to stay there while we were in Fes. We didn't try the dinners at the hotel, but the breakfasts were nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for four nights with our three young children.
The plain black entrance door does not prepare you for what you will find inside: a magnificent collection of riads, some of them still being restored, with delightful inner courtyards, all surrounding the very beautiful gardens with roaming tortoises and big pool. The hotel is, overall, very spacious and provides a real sense of relief from the bustling streets of the medina (and a safe line with our children).

Our room, the Chant des Chants, is beautiful and spacious enough for two extra beds and a cot to fit in very comfortably and has a beautifully decorated bathroom (with lots of fluffy towels, bathrobes and expensive soaps). The Citadelle, where my mum stayed for one night, is also very spacious and has a beautiful bathroom. The rooms have a definite luxurious feel.

We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and the rooms had lit candles, which was a really nice touch. But although the level of service was adequate throughout, one felt that you were a bit left to your own devices during your stay, like when we resorted to putting cushions on the sun deck chairs by the pool ourselves (every morning) and had to solicit for towels.
And what Riad Alkantara truly lacks is a special dining experience, which would make it an absolutely faultless place to stay. Dinner is strangely served in what seems to be the bar lounge, which feels very unwelcoming with its row of leather chairs and general decoration mismatch. The food is pleasant but very much average and, again, the service is slow and often absent. But this is only meant as a constructive criticism and it must be mentioned that the person who is in charge when the owners are absent is a beautiful charming young woman whose manners will enchant you - she also has the use of a wardrobe fit for a princess and she will change into her beautiful clothes several times throughout the day!

Riad Alkantara is so beautiful that it will not fail to impress: make sure your digital camera has a large memory card as you will not be able to stop taking photos!
With cheap Ryanair flights departing from London, we will definitely consider visiting Riad Alkantara again for a long weekend in the future.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taos, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The riad, nestled in the medieval quarter of Fes, is an oasis of gardens and terraces with a swimming pool, lounge overlooking the terrace and an art exhibit space. Each individually decorated suite features air conditioning, stereo and music library, wi-fi, phone, safe, mini-bar, hair dryer, and tub or shower. The gourmet Fassi cusine of Riad Alkantara provides the perfect, satisfying cap to the day. Breakfasts are served upstairs in the spacious dining room.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacromonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Biehn
Le Jardin des Biehn
#34 of 98 in Fes
199 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#25 of 98 in Fes
248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 98 in Fes
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais d'Hotes Suites & Spa Fes
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 98 in Fes
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alkantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alkantara

Property: Riad Alkantara
Address: 24 Oued Souaffine | Douh Fes Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alkantara 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alkantara is an exceptional location within the walls of the medieval city of Fes; it is a hidden enchantment in the heart of a shaded area surrounded by 5 riads of different periods and architectural styles that have been restored with patience and passion to unite modern comfort and the splendours of the past in an exquisite alchemy. The garden has a vast swimming pool surrounded by greenery and supplied with pure spring water, there are many fountains and patios, where you can relax and listen to the birds soothing singing. At nightfall the delicate light breeze from the Atlas Mountains highlights the assorted fragrances of musk, jasmine and honeysuckle. The oriental sweetness and delicacy is revealed. In the vein of Italian theatre, the esplanades located at various levels are very well adapted to all types of events, whether cultural, artistic or just for amusement. Riad Alkantara also has its lounge bar and smoking area on a shaded terrace, a restaurant where cuisine inspired from all over the world is served, traditional Moroccan cuisine which is served in the guest dining room, a shop selling traditional Moroccan clothes and decorative items ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Alkantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing