We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Alkantara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alkantara
Ranked #92 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Caerleon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just wonderful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed in this marvellous riad for three nights. Firstly the accommodation was first class, immaculately clean, beautiful with excellent air conditioning, a must for July in Fez! The gardens were verdant and full of surprises; a chess board,orange peach and lime trees, water features, an amazingly refreshing pool and during the evenings the smell of jasmine was overwhelming. The riad is in walking distance of many of the attractions in the medina and the staff organised an excellent guide for us.
All the staff who looked after us during our stay were so kind,helpful and courteous. A special mention for Imane who made us feel very comfortable and who made our stay in Riad Alkantara memorable. Nothing was too much trouble for her, she spoke excellent English and was always available for advice. She is a real asset to the Riad! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I had to write a review for this place as it is so rare you stay somewhere that truly gets under your skin.

Quiet and secluded behind a large wooden door in the heart of the Medina, Riad Alkantara brings your senses alive with the smell of jasmine, sound of birds and sight of beautiful Moroccan architecture.

The staff are brilliantly dedicated and if you are lucky enough to bump into the owner he will tell you the inspiring story of the Riad's inception and the role he played in the training and development of both the Moroccan craftsmen of Fes and the buildings within it.

The chess board in the garden alone is a work of art and you could while away the hours by the beautiful pool, the size of which should not be taken for granted in the heat, as a large pool, let alone one that is outside, is so rare in the Medina. In fact it becomes hard to drag yourself away from the poolside to see Fes itself!

Don't hesitate to treat yourself to a few nights here, if only to wonder at the incredible craftsmanship that Morocco has to offer and sit under the stars by the pool with a cold drink after a day spent in the hectic markets.

Having been taken over by new management one can only hope it retains it's exceptional charm and remains a jewel in Fes' ever more reputable crown.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our recent stay at Riad Alkantara was exceptional. You can not describe in words how beautiful the Riad is, it has been restored to perfection with utmost attention to detail. Currently with only 5 rooms it is a personal experiance with nothing too much for the staff. In the searing heat of summer the pool is essential and the only downside to the place is that it is open to the public.

We would not hesitate to come back and only hope that the new management listen to the old and maintain its high standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Alkantara was our first expirience staying in a riad - we couldnt have asked for anything better! We were greeted at our car and walked to the riad (as it is not easy to find). The grounds were emaculate (though lots of flies), the pool was beautiful (although too chilly to enjoy while we were there).

Our room: BEAUTIFUL! large room with beautiful light and wonderfully decorated- we enjoyed the full jacuzzi tub and l'occitane products and robes as well.

The food: our breakfast was prefectly fine both mornings, no meat but great coffee. We did not have dinner at the riad but heard it is fantastic.

The service: everyone was very kind and accomodating - they gave great recommendations for outside restaurants and were very accomodating with a lost wallet! Only thing that could have been better was maybe an extra person on staff- took a long time to get drinks and food and the same girl seemed to be doing everything!

We hope to return here and would recommend it to all of our friends!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcsuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

We choose initially that Riad because we were looking for a good rated one with a pool, a garden and some space for a 4 nights stay. We had made the right choice! The pool is nice and large (a bit cold at this season and a shortage of sunbeds in the afternoon), the garden is well managed and beautiful and our room was huge (Family Suite: 2 nices rooms+2 bathrooms, all v well decorated with local style stuffs). Also the room is located in a part of the Riad where the room is alone, so away from potential noise nuisances (even so you are located in the Medina and you cannot avoid Mezzin Calls at 4 am...).
Breakfast is good (read some comments saying quantities are small, but you just need to ask for more if you need and you get more breads or pancakes or crepes). Owner and stage manager are v kind, helpful for visits or restaurants adresses. You can also choose to have your dinner at the Riad, where food is good but 2 times more expensive than outside.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKD45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Really no words to describe the lovely experience at this Riad. Magically revived medina living in modern fusion enchantment. Immaculately clean and unbelievably beautiful. Staff even more enchanting, truly felt as if they were my family.
Have never had a better experience in my life and it was so seamless and magical it would an insult to put words to. Coming from a business traveller, this is considerable compliment; as we are truly jaded.
Beautiful pool surrounded by a Riad which is an unbelievable work of art that anyone who truly appreciates the beauty of life should not miss. Will return for the rest of my life!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days in Fes at this Riad, it was amazing. Upon arrival, they upgraded us (for free) to the nicest room in the hotel. Imane (who I believe is the daughter of the owner) was so hospitable and was ready to do anything to help us. The rooms were beautiful and so clean! It was so nice to have a quiet break from the busy streets of the Medina. We did not eat any meals (lunch or dinner) in the hotel, so am not sure what the food would have been like. Breakfast was included and was simple, but got the job done. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdougall357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#25 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#20 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
La Maison Bleue
La Maison Bleue
#60 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alkantara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alkantara

Property: Riad Alkantara
Address: 24 Oued Souaffine | Douh Fes Medina, Fes 30030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Alkantara 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Alkantara is an exceptional location within the walls of the medieval city of Fes; it is a hidden enchantment in the heart of a shaded area surrounded by 5 riads of different periods and architectural styles that have been restored with patience and passion to unite modern comfort and the splendours of the past in an exquisite alchemy. The garden has a vast swimming pool surrounded by greenery and supplied with pure spring water, there are many fountains and patios, where you can relax and listen to the birds soothing singing. At nightfall the delicate light breeze from the Atlas Mountains highlights the assorted fragrances of musk, jasmine and honeysuckle. The oriental sweetness and delicacy is revealed. In the vein of Italian theatre, the esplanades located at various levels are very well adapted to all types of events, whether cultural, artistic or just for amusement. Riad Alkantara also has its lounge bar and smoking area on a shaded terrace, a restaurant where cuisine inspired from all over the world is served, traditional Moroccan cuisine which is served in the guest dining room, a shop selling traditional Moroccan clothes and decorative items ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Riad Alkantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing