We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked the personal touches”
Review of Ramada Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Fes
Ranked #71 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lacked the personal touches”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed here 2 nights, it was what you would expect from a large chain hotel, we got the room incredibly cheap the day before, that's why we opted for this hotel, it was a bit out of the way, if we were to travel to fes again we would stay near the royal palace, closer to the medina, if you want 5 star then the ramada is for you, it was not what we wanted in fes, it could have been anywhere in the world. However it was clean and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    73
    72
    30
    27
See reviews for
40
81
16
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galicia, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

CONTEXT
A whistlestop, overnight stay in Fes to take a quick look at city at a backpack-and-Rough-Guide initial tour of Morocco by train and bus. Accommodation has tended to be more in the £25-35 line, but I managed to secure a double room deal via booking.com for £37. This is not a bad price anywhere for a Moroccan five star, or UK four star level hotel. I had an evening meal in the restaurant but no breakfast.

PROS
It is ostensibly a clean and pleasant hotel at the level you would expect with its rating.

Staff are friendly and efficient.

Room service was prompt and efficient.

Free WIFI throughout hotel.

A ten minute walk to the train station.

A short taxi ride to the old quarter of Fes.

Local shops and restaurants nearby.

Free use of gym.

CONS
For dinner, food was pleasant, but as ever in such places overpriced. I have eaten far better Moroccan food in places charging half the price.

The restaurant at the front of the hotel is very impersonal – feels like you are eating in the hotel lobby.

Pool was out of use because it is external and apparently it is too cold to use it at this time of year (January). A handy way of keeping maintenance costs down...

Sauna and hamman are charged extra.

Water not as hot as it could be in my room, and impossible to get cold water in shower.

CONCLUSIONS
If money is not an object and a certain level of style, conditions and comfort are sought, this is not a bad option. Alternatively, if you want to keep the overheads low you can always find deals that make a stay here feasible through booking sites. As ever, always a good idea if time allows to email them ahead and enquire exactly what is included with the room and what is not.

Room Tip: Away from the street side and the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glevum777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Excellent location, request a room facing away from the street for noise. There's no view to be had with a front facing room. Walk out front door and ATM's directly across the street. Turn left, walk to corner, turn right, walk two blocks and on the corner is a small market like a 7-11 for picking up drinks and snacks for the room. Turn right out of front door, walk 1-2 blocks, turn left, and you will be on the main street of Fes for restaurants. Fes is safe to walk around at night, and very busy. Stay in crowded areas, don't tempt fate. Buffet breakfast at this hotel was so-so, as they didn't refill the popular dishes fast enough and the hotel was full so the breakfast was full. Get their early for best selection, especially if you want meat. Room service was good, spaghetti bolognaise was good or you could try the Moroccan tagines. Wifi in hotel reachable in the rooms. Don't bother with the shops in the lobby other than to get ideas of what you want to buy elsewhere. The prices are embarrassing and insultingly high - like he thinks you are a stupid foreigner who he can rob - WAY overpriced. But nice selection so you can get ideas here on what to buy in the Medina (old city) section of Fes or in Marrakech. I recommend waiting until Marrakech for your souvenir buying anyway. Rug shops are great in the Medina, Fes is known for having the best quality rugs in all of Morocco, and I bought one here. But bargain hard and walk away, pretend to lose interest, and only after 30 mins, will they give you the rock bottom price. I got a rug that started out at $2000 for $800. Insist on free shipping home so you can keep your luggage weight down and charge to credit card so you can dispute it if the rug doesn't show up, which never happens anyway. Get a guided tour of the Medina or you will definately get lost, which seriously is not cool here. A map will be insufficient, you need a hired local guide. They'll know the best restaurants and rug shops anyway. View the city from the overlook also - very cool picture taking here.

Hotel is adequate quality if you can get a reasonable rate. Location is the best thing here. Didn't try any of the amenities - don't know about pool or spa. Visit the Volubilis ruins near Meknes on your way to Fes - this is a must see.

Room Tip: Quiter rooms when not facing front street. ATM's directly across street from entrance. Small m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlichadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed here as part of a tour group. I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, but it was actually better than I expected. The rooms themselves are nice. It is a solid 3 stars. Pros: Free wifi, pool, fitness center, and places to eat in walking distance. Cons: lukewarm water in the bathroom and runny eggs at breakfast. So if you wnat a hot shower and eggs for breakfast don't stay here. But if these things aren't important to you it is a decent hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DBrownCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour group for 2 nights. Water from the showers was at most lukewarm every morning. Lots of people in our group complained of no hot water or plugged toilets. Breafast was terrible especially the coffee which left sediments at the bottom of the cup. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I was very pleased with the room and public areas of this hotel. The room was comfartable, with windows that you could open for fresh air, and the bathroom was very clean. Concierge and desk staff were very helpful, but room service was a bit spotty. I would have been happier if water was provided without needing to place a call for it.
Located in a nice, pretty part of the city, plenty of pleasant little shops and fun people watching nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dottydesi214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnislake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Rooms were adequate but nothing outstanding, probably rated a 2-3 star property. The food, though, was awful. Cold, runny, scrambled egg and cold soup. No food in Morocco is ever hot but here, the hot-plates weren't even switched on. A complaint to the restaurant manager was initially greeted with denial but when invited to dip his finger into the soup, he realised the problem. None of the food was removed or replaced, it was allowed to slowly warm up when the hot-plates were switched on. Hot water for tea was obtained by waiting and begging at the kitchen door. Milk for cereals was warm, as was the fruit juices.
The food here is best avoided!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rayhamblyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fes hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Mirage Fes
Royal Mirage Fes
#55 of 98 in Fes
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fes Marriott Hotel Jnan Palace
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Fes Medina
Barcelo Fes Medina
#43 of 98 in Fes
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Palais Medina & Spa
Palais Medina & Spa
#31 of 98 in Fes
465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#52 of 98 in Fes
728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#14 of 98 in Fes
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Fes

Property: Ramada Fes
Address: 85 Av Des Far, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Fes
#41 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramada Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With mellow and intimate decor, the hotel has 128 bedrooms, 5 suites and a bedroom for disabled guests. With areas ranging from 30 m² to 140 m², the rooms are spread over 6 floors, 2 of which are exclusively non-smoking. Each room offers international standard facilities and comfort: international size bed, air conditioning, heating, TV, satellite, telephone, Wi-Fi, a desk and personal safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Fes Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing