We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Mia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Riad Tizwa Fes(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$364
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$244
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Jamai(Fes)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
49
14
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
14
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We've found this little oasis by recommendation of a friend. We stayed a full week in this lovely Dar (dar=house) in the center of the Medina. The first time the housekeeper, Zackariyae will come to Place R'Sif and pick you up, otherwise you'll never find it!
Dar Mia has 4 very nice rooms, and we used 3 of them. Actually we had the whole house for ourselves. It's very quite, once you enter, you would not say your in the middle of hectic Fes. The bathrooms are shared, and maybe that is why the owner only rents it to groups. There is one bathroom with a small bath, and the other has a shower.
The couple that bought the house has restored it with patience and with love, and that is what you see. It will add something very special to your trip if you decide to stay in such a wonderfull house.

If you ask, Amina can cook for you. They will do the shoppings and prepare everything. Once you're home all you'll have to do is to heat it, and enjoy the meal. It's easy, tasty, and will save you a lot of money too.
The kitchen is fully equipped, and you can use it to make your own meal too. It even has a dishwasher! There are not many restaurants within walking distance.
The housekeeper, a boy called Zakariyae, is very service-minded. He'll show you directions, and will recommend you restaurants, if you ask so.
We liked his tip for the restaurant "Chez Rachid" which is located near Bab Bou Jeloud!
Zakariyae can arrange transport for you by Aziz, a reliable taxidriver Aziz can pick you up at the airport too.
Overall we liked to stay in Dar Mia very much!
Our own small palace........we will never forget it! If we ever return to Fes, we will choose this accomodation again.We liked the small touches, and the decorations all in Moroccan style.

The breakfast is served on the roof terrace with wonderfull views over the medina. It's quite simple, but enough. It is served with minttea, coffee and (chocolate) milk.
I would surely recommed this hotel to everybody who wants a great expience in an old authentic Morroccan house.
And I want to thank Zakariyae, Amina and Aziz for all there help to make our week fantastic!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012
Google Translation

Vous nous remerciez...mais c'est nous qui vous devons tout.
D'une part votre présence contribue à maintenir cette magnifique demeure du 17ème siècle rénovée, en bon état, et d'autre part vous permettez à notre petite équipe de vivre, et de faire vivre plusieurs familles marocaines.
Bien sûr, vous n'oublierez pas cette expérience unique, mais c'est nous qui tenons à vous remercier pleinement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This riad is just amazing! Honestly it is the nicest apartment we have ever stayed in. As we travel three times a year we have had some experience with different places.
Our host was great. He was always there for us, organized dinner, breakfast, offered us great guide for day in Fez medina and took us to hammam. This was the best apartment for us in Morocco. Like a palace- third floor terrace, second floor great beadrooms and fist floor dining room, kitchen and place just to hang out. It looks way way better than pictures. Highly recomend!
Thank you Dar Mia ;)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2011

You're welcome.
Your compliments, sincerely, make us proud and happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Dar Mia is, simply put, a special place to stay and relax within the old walled city of Fes. The owners have carefully renovated an old town house nestled on a tiny alley that rises up four stories around a central court stunningly decorated with tiles, plasterwork and exquisitely carved cedar. Everything is comfortable, from the living room with its long inviting couches to the four bedrooms, especially the two very grand, high-ceilinged bedrooms on the top floor. Then there is the roof deck, which affords sweeping views to the south and east. And the kitchen, where we cooked a great deal and made use of the best food markets in the city nearby at R'cif. Dar Mia's location is perfect. You are near the Bab R'cif, which means that taxis to get in and out of the labyrinthine medina are less than ten minutes away. Very convenient for the Sacred Music Festival, or simply going to other parts of Fes. Yet, you are right near the R'cif market as well as the main mosque and wonderful souks.
The staff are also part of Dar Mia's attraction. Zakariye was especially helpful with everything from negotiating the market to travel arrangements. Amina produced breakfast and cleaned daily. We augmented her breakfasts (fresh orange juice, tea and breads wit jams) with fresh fruit, eggs and yoghurt purchased from the market. The guides and drivers who work with Dar Mia were excellent. If you want your own beautiful house in the heart of the Fes Medina you could not do better than Dar Mia.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Many thanks for your nice opinion !
You did understood the whole spirit of our goal : to offer a nice stay in a unique place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Travelling with four kids, this Dar Mia provides a excellent, well equipped place to stay during you visit to the old city of Fes and its incredible souks in the Medina. Close to Place R’Cif and just around the corner of the Mosque R’Cif, the local souk is just 100 m away.
The Dar is beautifully renovated. The rooms are great and there are two bathrooms. The jewel in the crown is the well-decorated fountain in the central hall. Our kids loved to play in the water after a long, warm day in the medina.
One of the assets of the place is its staff (Zakhariya and Amina). The are very friendly and prepared some excellent diners we had on the roof (with a stunning view on the medina).
My next visit I will stay at this place again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expedition6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutraParis, Propriétaire at Dar Mia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thanks a lot.
And about your next visit, you'll be also very welcome !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We were met at a designated point by Zahariyae who is the house manager at Dar Mia and quickly guided "sans" luggage via the maze of alleyways that are part of the Fez al Bali to a door that beckoned us beyond the turmoil. "Jawdroppingly beautiful" - this Dar is the most magnificent renovation - every detail draws your eye and the size of the Dar is quite unexpected. Our group consisted of myself and husband, my two sisters and neice and we felt like we were living in a palace. Well equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms and a hamman, lovely living and dining rooms, a roof terrace overlooking Fez and the surrounding mountains - what more could you ask for. After travelling for 5 weeks in England, France and Spain this was definately the highlight of my trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynlakshmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews