We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the owners”
Review of Dar Melody

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Melody
Ranked #30 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Victoria BC
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's all about the owners”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We chose to stay at Dar Melody because of the great reviews. What I hadn't anticipated was just how wonderful Laurence and Bernard, our hosts, would be. They are warm, funny, easy-going, committed, generous and thoughtful. What a combination of personality traits. We spent a lot of time laughing. While L and B are clearly good business people, frankly it doesn't feel like they are running this small bed and breakfast to make money, but rather because they enjoy people and they like doing something well. They told us that when they moved to Fes and started fixing up the house, they hadn't imagined it being a bed and breakfast; that idea came later. Others have provided many details, so I would duplicate what's already been said. I highly recommend this house.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
212
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A really very nice riad in many respects. The owners Bernard and Laurence are the perfect hosts! No effort is too much for them.
They look after you, prepare the best breakfast we had during our whole trip. Breakfast with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, like strawberries , mango even chocolate mousse one day! Rooms are large and decorated with a feel for taste. We stayed for 3 nights and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are very large. For families of 6 they have a close-by location available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked the Dar Melody because we saw it was number one on Trip Advisor, and saw the great reviews, and were slightly skeptical on quite how good it could be. It lived up to expectations! There were two reasons for this: firstly the house is spectacular with beautiful touches everywhere, and secondly the owners (Laurence and Bernard) are so hospitable and welcoming that it really feels like home. The breakfast is worth a special mention, it is huge, exquisitely presented and delicious. The only downside is that every other place you stay in Morocco will pail in comparison (and we stayed at some other lovely Riads). Definitely a holiday highlight.

Room Tip: We had the roof room, which is the best (although it does involve more steps).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in this gorgeous riad run by Laurence and Bernard for three nights during the Easter holiday and it was the best riad experience we had in Morocco, with a large part contributed to the great hospitality of Laurence and Bernard. We speak Chinese and English but not French, and Laurence made every effort to ensure that we knew our basic way around the medina. The riad itself is beautiful, with authentic Moroc style decoration, huge space (we stayed on top floor room) and comfy furniture. It is near the tanneries of Fes, and it’s a 5-minute walk from a taxi drop off location. What impressed us the most though, is the extra effort by Laurence and Bernard to make sure that we had a delightful stay (which we did have, of course). Bernard picked us up after our long taxi ride after our Sahara trip, by which time we were pretty exhausted and had no idea how to navigate the famous maze of Fes medina. Laurence then gave us a very warm welcoming with some delicious home-made refreshments. Our everyday breakfast was fresh and delicious too from their great kitchen. We did a day trip to Chefchaouen during our stay in Fes, and Bernard was super kind again and gave us a ride to the bus station in the new town and help us got the tickets. On our last day, Bernard gave us a ride to the train station AGAIN as our luggage was too big to fit into a taxi, and we did notice that he paid for all the tips to the luggage carrier to load our bags onto his car! So you can’t really ask for anymore from such a kind host, not to mention that we really love how comfortable, neat and authentic the riad itself is! Thank you so much Laurence and Bernard!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Dar Melody is a welcome surprise in Fes, and provides a much needed escape from the intensity of this exotic town. The hotel property is extraordinary, housed in the former home of a well-heeled local merchant. The location is slightly off the beaten path, but that's a good thing, as you see a less touristy, more authentic part of town. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (and have powerful A/C, useful in the summer heat), have wifi, and are tastefully decorated (note that there's no TV, but it won't be missed). There's also a nice terrace, good for relaxing to a cold beverage after a long, hot day. Breakfasts are delicious and abundant, and include fresh pastries, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, and other fun surprises. Laurence and Bernard, the owners, are exceptional hosts and will make you feel right at home.

Looking back on my recent trip, I would have to say that Dar Melody was one of the highlights... And in a place like Fes, that says a lot.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hidden on narrow small streets of Medina, Dar Melody is a pearl of Fes!
As soon as you get to a courtyard, you appear in the Arab fairy tale.
We were surrounded by attention and care. The warmth of the welcome we received was matched by the helpful advice about sightseeing & places to eat . We were accommodated in the blue room which had a separate single room attached to it through the bathroom. The main room had good space to sit and relax. The breakfasts were amazing (and every morning they concocted something different). Juices (ah!), fresh crepes with fruits (ooo!) and an array of jams and spreads. It was fantastic!
The location is good although a bit far from the main streets of medina (15 minutes walk), but it is not a big deal as it’s fairly close to the main sites of old Fez! And it’s safe place.
Highly recommended!
Bernard and Laurence – thank you for a lovely days in Fez!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sms307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Thanks to Trip advisor I chose Dar Melody. Laurence and Bernard are delightful hosts and so willing to be helpful. I couldn't have wanted a better and nicer place to stay. Their Dar is so beautifully and lovingly kept and restored it is an experience to stay in this wonderful ancient old house. So much detail and good taste, had me asking Laurence where I could buy the things she had used to decorate the riad. I am a teacher of design and architecture, anyone staying should read a little about moorish architecture to understand how this beautiful house has been kept as it should be. Thank you Laurence and Bernard and Oca for a wonderful stay in Fez.

Room Tip: I was lucky to have the top terrace room with a view over the medina. It is a truly beautiful room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishmomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#15 of 99 in Fes
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#1 of 99 in Fes
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 216 in Fes
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Seffarine
Dar Seffarine
#4 of 216 in Fes
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Melody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Melody

Property: Dar Melody
Address: 18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Melody 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional house morrocan, in the médina 3 rooms of hotes with independant bathroom air conditioning internet. breakfast included transfer included for the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Melody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Melody Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing