We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible”
Review of Dar Melody

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Melody
Ranked #29 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had a wonderful time in Fes and although we only stayed a couple of nights, the Riad was by far the best place we stayed in during our Moroccan adventures.

Laurence and Bernard were superbly friendly and really made us both feel like we were guests in their home rather than customers at a hotel or B&B. Definitely worth all of the positive reviews they have received already - and worthy of at least one more from me. The other travellers staying were also friendly and great to chat with.

Breakfast - they say that it is the most important meal of the day... well L&B certainly give it the attention and love it deserves. The best breakfast we had in Morocco and that isn't to say that the others were all poor. The fresh fruit, crepes, tasty bread and orange juice was enough to see us late into the afternoon.

If you are reading the reviews and wondering whether to stay here or not... please stop. If it is available, book it! You will not regret it in the slightest!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breadnboutros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2012

I can't thank enough our lovely hosts: Laurence and Bernard for taking care of us during our few days stay in Fez. The breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had in a guest house - variety of mini dishes to die for! Rooms were beautifully decorated with amazing attention to detail, super clean and very comfortable. Location was spot on too, close enough to everything that we wanted to see in Fez. Laurence and Bernard are fantastic people: helpful, warm, kind and very generous. Nothing is a problem for them - even though I was ill during my stay, I really was looked after and let stay longer before my late departure to Marrakech. Whoever goes to Dar Melody, will be in good hands! Katya and Al

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aventuryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We chose to stay at Dar Melody because of the great reviews. What I hadn't anticipated was just how wonderful Laurence and Bernard, our hosts, would be. They are warm, funny, easy-going, committed, generous and thoughtful. What a combination of personality traits. We spent a lot of time laughing. While L and B are clearly good business people, frankly it doesn't feel like they are running this small bed and breakfast to make money, but rather because they enjoy people and they like doing something well. They told us that when they moved to Fes and started fixing up the house, they hadn't imagined it being a bed and breakfast; that idea came later. Others have provided many details, so I would duplicate what's already been said. I highly recommend this house.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

A really very nice riad in many respects. The owners Bernard and Laurence are the perfect hosts! No effort is too much for them.
They look after you, prepare the best breakfast we had during our whole trip. Breakfast with fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, like strawberries , mango even chocolate mousse one day! Rooms are large and decorated with a feel for taste. We stayed for 3 nights and were sorry to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are very large. For families of 6 they have a close-by location available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We booked the Dar Melody because we saw it was number one on Trip Advisor, and saw the great reviews, and were slightly skeptical on quite how good it could be. It lived up to expectations! There were two reasons for this: firstly the house is spectacular with beautiful touches everywhere, and secondly the owners (Laurence and Bernard) are so hospitable and welcoming that it really feels like home. The breakfast is worth a special mention, it is huge, exquisitely presented and delicious. The only downside is that every other place you stay in Morocco will pail in comparison (and we stayed at some other lovely Riads). Definitely a holiday highlight.

Room Tip: We had the roof room, which is the best (although it does involve more steps).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in this gorgeous riad run by Laurence and Bernard for three nights during the Easter holiday and it was the best riad experience we had in Morocco, with a large part contributed to the great hospitality of Laurence and Bernard. We speak Chinese and English but not French, and Laurence made every effort to ensure that we knew our basic way around the medina. The riad itself is beautiful, with authentic Moroc style decoration, huge space (we stayed on top floor room) and comfy furniture. It is near the tanneries of Fes, and it’s a 5-minute walk from a taxi drop off location. What impressed us the most though, is the extra effort by Laurence and Bernard to make sure that we had a delightful stay (which we did have, of course). Bernard picked us up after our long taxi ride after our Sahara trip, by which time we were pretty exhausted and had no idea how to navigate the famous maze of Fes medina. Laurence then gave us a very warm welcoming with some delicious home-made refreshments. Our everyday breakfast was fresh and delicious too from their great kitchen. We did a day trip to Chefchaouen during our stay in Fes, and Bernard was super kind again and gave us a ride to the bus station in the new town and help us got the tickets. On our last day, Bernard gave us a ride to the train station AGAIN as our luggage was too big to fit into a taxi, and we did notice that he paid for all the tips to the luggage carrier to load our bags onto his car! So you can’t really ask for anymore from such a kind host, not to mention that we really love how comfortable, neat and authentic the riad itself is! Thank you so much Laurence and Bernard!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Dar Melody is a welcome surprise in Fes, and provides a much needed escape from the intensity of this exotic town. The hotel property is extraordinary, housed in the former home of a well-heeled local merchant. The location is slightly off the beaten path, but that's a good thing, as you see a less touristy, more authentic part of town. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable (and have powerful A/C, useful in the summer heat), have wifi, and are tastefully decorated (note that there's no TV, but it won't be missed). There's also a nice terrace, good for relaxing to a cold beverage after a long, hot day. Breakfasts are delicious and abundant, and include fresh pastries, coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, eggs, and other fun surprises. Laurence and Bernard, the owners, are exceptional hosts and will make you feel right at home.

Looking back on my recent trip, I would have to say that Dar Melody was one of the highlights... And in a place like Fes, that says a lot.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank Carlos O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
4.3 mi away
Riad Toyour
Riad Toyour
#34 of 100 in Fes
67 reviews
3.9 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#21 of 100 in Fes
450 reviews
4.1 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
572 reviews
4.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
548 reviews
4.1 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#15 of 217 in Fes
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Melody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Melody

Address: 18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £48 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Melody 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional house morrocan, in the médina 3 rooms of hotes with independant bathroom air conditioning internet. breakfast included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Melody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Melody Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing