We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Melody

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Melody
Ranked #24 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mel, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Amazing- one must stay here! Lawrence and Bernard treat you like family! My partner and I arrived early by bus (4am) and Bernard collected us from the bus stop. Upon entering the riad we were amazed by the interior, it's absolutely stunning. They provided tea and toast on arrival before heading to our room for a nap. The room was as expected, just lovely. Rooftop terrace has great seating, nice view over Fez, good to sit up there with a few beers read a book& relax. Lawrence provided us with a map and marked out all the landmarks to see, where to get a taxi from etc..The breakfast is just lovely and both Lawrence and Bernard are always willing to help. They are a happy couple who love to laugh. I'd stay here again should we visit Fez in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blumeslikeakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
53
212
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tirgu Mures, Romania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

This year I decided to spend my birthday in one of the most fascinating places on Earth , Medina of Fes and I choose the most beautiful place to stay from the entire world , Dar Melody. I wanted to be happy for my birthday :) As most of the people said before me Dar Melody is not only a place to stay in Fes, is a hidden gem between the hotels and riads all over the world. We stayed 3 nights in Dar Melody and we would never leave this house :) 
I should start by telling you that the hosts Bernard and Laurence give the Dar that special thing by their presence and way of treat their guests. I never met such kind people, helpful with everything you need, polite and sweet at the same time. Even though I don't speak great French we managed to understand each other quite well and chat really nice. They are in the house all the time and very careful with everybody's needs. 
When we arrived they arranged a taxi to pick up us in the airport who took us really close to the Dar closest parking where Laurence waited for us. When leaving Fes Bernard accompanied us to the taxi also to be sure everything is ok. 

They explained everything for us on a map, showing us all thr major sites to see and also they arranged a guide for us for one day. This was a very good decision :) 

The location of the Dar is in the andaluzian quarter very close to famous tanneries and all the attractions. Maybe at first seems a bit difficult to find it without any help but in the moment you enter the door a new world is waiting for you inside.
The interior of the Dar is a tipically  moroccan one with wonderful details of architecture and furniture . 

The Dar has 3 rooms, we had the Menzeh room which is the most beautiful, at the third floor and with the windows facing the beautiful terrace they have. This is the only room with the windows into the terrace. The other rooms also have access to the terrace.
The rooms are so beautiful decorated in the moroccan style with modern accents in the bathroom. Menzeh room is very  large and everywhere you look there is something beautiful to see:) , a lamp, a beautiful pillow, a case, a chair... Everything is amazing. The windows itself give a great decoration of the room. The bathroom is a combination of old and new very well done. The linens are a very good quality and very comfortable. Everything is spotless clean and there is a pleasure to be inside the room.

The terrace is beautiful with a great view of the medina, very nice decorated with nice furniture and plants. Being so close to our room we spent great moments there. 

The breakfast is included in the room price which is so nice offered that we were so impressed. Laurence has a gift in arranging the table with so many beautiful details that is a great pleasure to serve this breakfast. We had moroccan breakfast with some delicious food. 

There is also wi fi available in the Dar, not in the rooms but down in the main room and salon. It works with great speed and it is a pleasure to stay downstairs surrounded by so many beautiful objects :) 

At the end I must say that I had a beautiful birthday in this special place and I thank Bernard and Laurence for everything they did for us, they are so special. 

If you want a truly unique experience of Fes and meet such great people than Dar Melody is the place for you :) 

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We found Dar Melody both in our Rough Guide to Morocco and on Tripadvisor. It had excellent reviews and we were not disappointed! It is a beautifully and lovingly restored dar (home) in an excellent location of the medina (in the quieter El Andalous neighborhood but close to the busier sections of the medina. The owners and hosts - Laurence and Bernard - are super helpful, energetic, knowledgeable about Fez. We got in late after a challenging journey from the High Atlas and Bernard drove out to pick us up at the train station and then because we had missed dinner, they fed us a light meal (no charge, of course!). They introduced us to an excellent carpet dealer from whom we bought three excellent rugs. The breakfasts are amazing - fresh OJ, fruit, fruit smoothies, crepes, pastisseries, Moroccan-style pancakes, eggs, coffee or tea. The place itself is remarkable. The owners retained the original zellij tiles, and the cedar ceilings with original intricate painting. The courtyard is 3 stories tall with a skylight. The rooms are beautifully appointed, large and comfortable. We stayed in Menzeh room on top floor with access to terrace. The roof-top terrace is a relaxing spot with good views. We totally endorse Denise D's recent review which provides more details. Thank you, Laurence and Bernard!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlejim01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano Marittima, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stay 2night at dar melody Fes moroc, 1week june 2013. Really a good surprise! A little difficolt to find but it worth the pain! Laurence is operative and efficient as Bernard is hospitable and kind with you. The structure is wonderfull, clean and the room are wide, breakfast incredibile rich and well proposed in a beatifull manner that change every day. I really suggest anyone going to Fes to book at dar melody

Lorenzo and nariman

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 69Lorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Dar Melody was the best part of our trip to Fez. Lawrence and Bernard made us feel much at home. The breakfast in the morning was to look forward to. The rooms are cozy. Every night we were there, all the guests and host and hostess would sit around the dining table having wine and chatting. I actually started looking forward to the evening get togethers after a couple days. Bernard was even kind enough to drive us to the new city one day as the taxi was charging us too much. And the last day, when we offered a tip, he said his tip would be a good review on trip advisor! So there you go Bernard!
HIghly recommended. The location bothered us the first day, but this is what Fez is all about and it definitely adds to the your experience of the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Wow! Dar Melody was an amazing riad with the most gracious of hosts. Laurence and Bernard treat you like family and made our stay in Fes extra special. You have to see this beautiful home to appreciate the grandeur and history of this almost 1000 year old property. With modern bathrooms and gorgeous furnishings, I wanted to stay forever! The breakfast was fabulous and the price was incredible. You will love your stay at Dar Melody.

PROPERTY: Dar Melody is a multi-level riad in the heart of the Fes Medina. Bernard and Laurence are friendly and warm french hosts who exhibit a wonderful level of care for their guests. Upon arrival, Bernard met us outside the medina and made arrangements for a porter to bring our bags. He led us into the winding alleys and passages of the medina (no cars in the medina). We arrived later in the evening and settled in after the restaurants closed. Bernard arranged for a neighbor girl to lead us to a deli to grab sandwiches for dinner. At night, the medina was quite confusing for unfamiliar touring so we were very grateful for a guide. The entrance to the riad is a giant ornately carved door. Once inside, the interior opens up into a grand room that stretches three stories high. At the top, an open ceiling reveals the night sky. On the rooftop, you can sip wine at the full length table or read a book in the shade of the canopied cushioned lounges. What a view! The riad only has 3 rooms so you truly have an intimate guest house experience. I can't do the riad justice with words.

ROOM: We stayed in La Chambre Menzeh on the rooftop level. What an amazing room! A gorgeous 4-poster bed was covered in gorgeous linens and beautiful sequined and beaded pillows. the giant windows had ornately carved wood shutters that opened to the sprawling rooftops of Fes. This is a HUGE room with lovely Moroccan and eclectic furnishings. The bathroom was fantastic with modern fixtures and detailed tile work. Little trinkets and baubles are placed throughout the room giving Menzeh a stylized personal touch. There is something beautiful everywhere you look. The roof boasted ornate wooden carvings and colorful Moroccan lamps. Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous. I loved this room and having traveled many places and stayed in many hotels, far and away, this was my absolute favorite. The room was very quiet at night and Menzeh's door is right across from the entrance to the rooftop. I felt like I had my own personal paradise inside and outside the room.

LINENS: The towels were soft and lovely. The bed linens were fine.

SERVICE: Melody is a small operation but very professionally run. Our room was cleaned daily and everything was thought of and provided for. Bernard and Laurence were there when you needed them, and often out of sight when you did not. If we needed anything, they had an answer or advice. Their English is a little limited though it is most definitely good enough for communication. As I was traveling with a native french speaker, he was able to chat with Bernard and Laurence quite often.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is served downstairs in the open central area. As I mentioned, the roof is open to the sky so you feel like royalty eating at a grand dining table in the middle of the main room. We ate with other guests and chatted about our travels. The food was great with fresh orange juice and tea or coffee. Bernard and Laurence provide a large selection of breakfast foods from local delights to eggs as you like them. It was a great start to Fes adventures.

PRICE: Depending on your exchange rate, it was roughly $100US a night. They prefer payment in euros but will take dirhams. No credit cards - cash only. They do not require a deposit - just your good word and confirmation. Communication was very easy via email. They will help you arrange transportation if you are arriving from an airport.

LOCATION: Dar Melody is inside the ancient and giant medina of Fes. You do not have to walk far to visit the famous tanneries (yuck) or peruse the artisan shops. The medina is very confusing at first but you will get used to it and will find your way around. Bernard pointed out landmarks to help guide us. Within the medina, there are many steps and steep inclines and declines throughout. Make sure to wear good walking shoes when venturing out. The Fes medina is enormous and absolutely fascinating. Artisan craftsman from tanners, metalworkers, embroiderers, bakers, tailors, woodcarvers, lace makers and on and on and on have been living and working inside the medina for generations. There is so much to see it is overwhelming and fantastic! Inside the medina, it is safe and Dar Melody is in a safe location. Bernard and Laurence will point out the unsafe areas outside the medina and will steer you clear of them (pickpockets). ***When you approach Dar Melody, at first, you may be daunted by the spray paint on the walls, low ceilings of the medina and less than immaculate alleys. This is just part of a medina that has over 500,000 residents and is nothing to be concerned about. The Medina of Fes is both the largest and the oldest medina in the world!

You will be ecstatic with your stay at Dar Melody. Cheers and happy traveling!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duren, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Absolutely amazing 900 year old, beautifully decorated and refurbished dar in the middle of the medina of ancient Fés. Beautiful rooms and very hospitable owners. Thank Laurence and Bernard for accommodating us and organizing pick up and all for us. Breakfast was amazing and we truely enjoyed staying with you!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#12 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Boujloud
Riad Boujloud
#22 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Fes Medina
Dar Fes Medina
#6 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Seffarine
Dar Seffarine
#1 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Idrissy
Riad Idrissy
#9 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Melody? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Melody

Property: Dar Melody
Address: 18 Rue Laalouj Lakbira, Fes 99999, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Melody 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional house morrocan, in the médina 3 rooms of hotes with independant bathroom air conditioning internet. breakfast included transfer included for the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dar Melody reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Melody Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing