We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogar dulce hogar”
Review of Dar Aliane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Aliane
Ranked #152 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Es el mejor hotel que he estado en todo Marruecos, Grandes detallistas, excelente trato y habitación confortable. La directora es un encanto en todos los sentidos

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marron_ibz_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

This is the place the touts take unsuspecting tourists. The tout befriends you, then they take a massive kickback from the owner/operator. I would avoid this place at all costs. The staff was rude, the area was unsafe, and the location was nowhere any tourist wants to be. Prepare to be accosted by local drunks and beggars when you walk around the neighborhood.

Don't fall for the internet service trap. They offer the service, then hit you up for a ridiculous fee when you want to leave. $6/hour.

I paid about $60/night, and later overheard negotiations as low as $35/night for a better room.

And the bedbugs were very happy feeding on me during my stay!!

Room Tip: Negotiate hard with these guys. They will generally settle for half of their first offer. If you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Really nice hotel, feeling like a real home
I like this hotel but the only thing bad is little far from the fes train station and down town which need to walk around 30min.
The staff somehow friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalid973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

When visiting Fes I had the experience of being approached by a faux guide and as we really didn't know where we were going and only had a little amount of time to take a look at Fes we took this guide up on his offer (with open eyes as I had read about these guys). we were given a very brief overview of Fes by the guide and then taken from one shop to the next, clearly people this guide had 'arrangements' with. When we did not buy their goods the shop keepers and the guide made us feel extremely uncomfortable and almost threatening. The reason for putting this review under this Hotel is because the first thing they tried to do was sell us rooms for this Hotel so I can only assume they are part of it or at least taking a commission. I hope the hotel is better than the guids they have. Dont use there guides. If you have the courage I would do Fes without a guide or speak to someone from the tourist office to get a guide that is not interested in your wallet. Fes could do so much better without these guides.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JVT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

This pretty riad is best suited to the warmer weather when you can take advantage of the gardens and terrace. We were very warm and cosy in our room but the public areas eg breakfast room were unheated and very cold. Our room was decorated in a traditional Moroccan style but the lamps made for a very poor level of lighting - reading was out of the question.
Everyone was friendly and helpful.
On the first morning a young man appeared at breakfast and offered his services as a guide to various sites which we agreed to but we also said that we had no intention of buying anything and he"absolutely understood".We had a good time BUT even so, the whole trip was obviously geared to getting us to buy carpets, ceramics, leather goods etc. He would melt into the background leaving the various owners to do the high pressure sales bit ( and it is high pressure!!) but we resisted them all. Back at the riad he dropped us like a hot potato and we never saw him again! So be prepared.
We highly recommend the Isla Blanca restaurant a short walk into the main town. It is more expensive than some other Moroccan places ( wine is always expensive anyway ) but the menu was varied, the service excellent and they have live music from 9 o'clock onwards. Great atmoshere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2010

it's was a very nice experience in Dar Aliane. everything is well prepared, the staff, the service, really it was a heaven.the food was very tasty and great, Fatima the manager is very helpfull and a kind person , you fell like you are in home. Thanks for eveything

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerfullLisbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Fatima, the manager/owner is the biggest cheater we have come across on all our travels. Do not stay at this hotel and please have her put into writing all the charges for the sevices and make sure you have enough Moroccan Dirhams cash to pay the bill. Otherwise she will rip you off on the exchange, for using the credit card and all the other possible ways she can think off.
The bath had a very nasty smell all the time she came in with the room freshner when we complained and did not have the courtesy to leave the freshner there.
Breakfast was cold, no fresh fruit juice or fruit like all the other Raids( compared to our stay in Casablanca and Marrakech.
She was rude, no customer service, unwilling to provide info on local attractions/shopping.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank annieqamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
2.1 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
577 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis budget Fes
Ibis budget Fes
#64 of 100 in Fes
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#46 of 100 in Fes
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
580 reviews
2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Aliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Aliane

Address: 14 Rue Mustapha Maani, Fes 33000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £37 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Aliane 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Aliane is hosts' house of eleven rooms fitted out in the style Moroccan, Each is carefully decorated and has her own personality in reference to the style of certain regions Moroccan (Atlas, the Mediterranean Sea, Ourika).Rooms wind around a well of light which uncorks in a pleasant flowery patio and marble water fountains and zellige. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Dar Aliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing