We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Jamai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Jamai
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level Contributor
279 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed three nights in the 'coriander' room. Very peaceful with the chirping birds in the top of the Riad's courtyard to greet us in the morning. Comfortable room with mezzanine sitting area on top of bathroom. Do not expect an early breakfast but expect a nice full meal witrhg multiple dishes of breads and toasts etc with jams and some sort of egg. Don't miss out on the roof terrace with wonderful views and comfortable reading spots. The Riad is not in the middle of things but this was OK for us - I'd rather not be in the middle of tourist spots.

Room Tip: Check your room before agreeing - some rooms were more like cupboards and others like palaces. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    37
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
57
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We are from Athens - Greece and we stayed in RIAD JAMAI-FEZ for 4 days in March 2012
The riad was lovely, beautiful decorated, the rooms was very nice and clean and the beds comfortable.
We enjoyed the breakfast a lot can't forget the delicious marmalade, the eggs the natural orange juice we miss it.
But the most important was the hospitality we felt since our arrival.
Adnan the manager was very helpful, gentle,smiling whenever we asked for his assistance.
In riad Jamai we felt like home, and when we go again to FEZ we'll stay in the same riad.
We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MINA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We took a group of American students on a State Department scholarship to study Arabic to this hotel. Although at first sight the hotel itself is beautiful (although very inconveniently located), we quickly found several things wrong. When the air-conditioner didn't work, the staff took no responsibility and tried to blame the cleaning woman for not having signaled the problem. They served us a completely tasteless dinner for an exorbitant price. When we complained, they actually started shouting at us! They didn't even have a printer to print an invoice and wrote it out by hand.
I have never had such poor quality service anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BridgesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Staying at the Riad Jamaï was quite possibly the best experience I've had with accommodation. The Riad is beautiful, and in a great location with the Old Medina just a few minute walk, and the view from the rooftop terrace was spectacular. The food was delicious and they served the cheapest beers we came across in the city. However, by far the best part was the amazingly friendly and helpful staff, they went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. If I'm ever in the country I will certainly go back to Riad Jamaï.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzachowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The staff at the riad is dishonest, they try to suggest you to dinner places with commission only. We booked a tour guide for Fes (from an outside source) and when the guide called the Riad and looked for us, at first they said there is no such guest. On the second call, they told our guide we have booked another guide from the Riad, which is not true.

We stayed in the small room (EUR50) but the bathroom smells terrible and there is only a tiny window in the room.

Furthermore, the location of the riad is terrible, you have to walk for 15 minutes in very dogy and dirty areas in order to get a taxi.

Very disappointed at this riad. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank calfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

The rooms are very nice and clean and the beds are very confortable. I received a very kind welcome and excellent services like advices, planning tours, guide, taxi drivers, beauty center and so on.
The breakfast is plentiful.
I suggest to ask to riad reception for a taxi from the airport to the riad (at the arrival) because finding the riad is very difficult and some taxi drivers don't know where is its little street in the medina.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barfrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Like other reviewers our trip did not start well as the taxi we picked up at the airport, who turned out to be unofficial, took us to the well known Palais Jamai and not the riad. Half an hour later after asking several people the way, all of whom knew neither the hotel nor apparently the street, we rang the hotel. The manager gave instructions and came to meet us. He said the hotel provides a taxi service at the same price as the flat rate they charge so I think it would be really worth it as they would meet you off your flight.
That blip aside the stay was mostly wonderful. The building is gorgeous, an oasis of calm and cool which the pictures on their website do not do justice to. That was apart from in the evenings - it does seem to be next to a wedding venue, so lots of music, which could get grating if you were intending to be in every evening.
We had checked in advance that wireless would be available. We were therefore disappointed to discover that the network did not actually stretch to our rooms. Adnan the manager immediately offered a better suite at the same price we had booked the room for.
The suite was quite stunning, really nicely done up and furnished with a huge bath and v comfy bed. Unfortunately there was a problem with the plumbing on the second night - again they were very quick to move us to an even nicer suite, which we were very happy with.
Food there was great - the included breakfast was plentiful and tasty. They also offer dinner at 20€ a head - pricy but well cooked and v relaxing to have it right next to the room.
The area is very interesting - a bit of a walk from the main tourist areas, which has its pros and cons. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#29 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Tara Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#42 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 100 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Cle de Fes
Riad La Cle de Fes
#20 of 100 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jamai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jamai

Property: Riad Jamai
Address: 31 Oued Lahriki | Sidi Boujida, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Jamai 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Jamaï is situated in the centre of the medina of Fez in Morocco, in the Andalusia district, it will take you to a bewitching atmosphere of flavors.Cumin, coriander, saffron…. Come to taste the charms of the Moroccan life, and discover the rooms and suites of Riad Jamaï all decorated with their most beautiful assets: traditional materials, voluptuous cloths, wall lamps made of bronze... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Jamai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing