We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful oasis in Fez”
Review of Riad Lalla Fatima

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Lalla Fatima
Ranked #51 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful oasis in Fez”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

An amazing restored old mansion in traditional Moroccan style. A beautiful sanctuary courtyard in the middle where you eat breakfast and meals and can just relax. Breakfasts were the best we had in Morocco with a good selection of different breads changing each day and olives. We booked a dinner on site (15 euros per person) and it was the best meal we had in Morocco. An AMAZING and DIFFERENT vegetarian tajine and an amazing selection of delicious side dishes! The mother is an fantastic cook. Definitely book a meal here!

Overall the premises are beautifully done although some of the rooms are a bit tacky. You really are staying in the family house, not a hotel, so there is a lack of privacy. You can't come and go as you please but have to get them to let you in every time.

The daughter, mother and father were incredibly welcoming and helpful and made you feel at home in their house. The daughter who is the manager speaks fluent English which was easier and helpful for us.

Unfortunately we got sick during our stay in Fez from a street side eatery. We had previously booked a meal for dinner at Riad Lalla Fatima but informed them early that day that we were now sick and wanted just some very simple and minimal food for dinner instead. They disregarded this and served us a 3 course meal and told us to eat it all (and pay the full price!) - even though we had been throwing up all day! This was very upsetting at the time. Eventually our point got across and the mother was sweet enough to make us some simple rice and we had to pay only half the price for not eating the meal and sadly seeing it go to waste. All in all this made for a very awkward experience which somewhat ruined the experience for us. It is hard for us foreigners to not get sick in Morocco so it would be nice for them to have a backup plan in place to support their guests.

Room Tip: Some rooms have more privacy than others. Have a look at a few if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    48
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
37
98
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The best accomodation you can find! You'll feel better than at home. Lalla Fatima and her family are very service oriented bringing your stay to the highest level. They will take care of you and will inform you about any question about Fes and even other cities in Morocco, giving you very honest information.
Great mix of traditional decoration, confort and familiar ambiance.
Riad Lalla Fatima is located in the best placed to visit Fes (you're close to the El Bali Wall, means great access to main streets to catch taxis), and you can reach Medina in 5 minutes by walk.
Don't miss Lalla Fatima cuisine. You'll find out that's one, if not 'the', best culinary experience you'll find out in Fes.

Room Tip: I'd recommend you any of the suites, but of course, normal rooms are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Medulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Loved the stay. The only potential issue is the riad is not in the medina and can be hard to get through if you come from the medina. It is however close to a city gate.

Very nice family and opt for the home-cooked meal. Fair price for the meal and number of courses. Excellent. The rooms were nice and spacious and the hospitality can not be beat.

Thank you!

Room Tip: there is no swimming pool or fitness center, just won't let me de-click. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay with Fatima. We had dinner at the riad and it was the most amazing Moroccan food we have had! The family was so friendly and helped us plan our trip throughout morocco. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberley B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Excellent Place. I will definitely stay next time I visit Fes. The rooms are big, pintoresque, clean, and excellent service. The location is also great. Many ammenities within a walking distance. Contrary to many other hotel

Room Tip: Suite warda , suite aicha , suite Lalla fatima
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ursel, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We visited for three days this Riad. Our clean room was not super of reason of lower budget (other rooms were nice and well accomodated) but ... the hospitality, the family atmosphere, the easy going in talking and the perfect Marocan diners (prepared for a fair price) are more then enough to say thank you and to come back! Jack and Anita (Belgium)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drongengoedlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I stayed here with a mate earlier this year whilst motorcycling around Morocco. It's clean, quiet (with the exception of the local Mosque but this is Morocco) , friendly and cheap very cheap also it's right on the edge of the Medina which is utter madness but great fun to. The family who run/own the Riad are very friendly and polite we had breakfast a few times with them and chatted, with Fatima, also mind the Tortoises around your feet they like cake and breads with honey. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable typical of the type of property in the area i cannot recommend this place enough whether you're backpacking or family it's perfect and very relaxing.

Room Tip: You'll get whatever is available but that really doesn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisd_600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Jamai
Riad Jamai
#52 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#36 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#49 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Chrifis
Riad Les Chrifis
#59 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Louna
Riad Louna
#62 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lalla Fatima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lalla Fatima

Property: Riad Lalla Fatima
Address: 19 Arset el hammoumi | Ziat, Fes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lalla Fatima 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location This riad is located in Fes (Fes El Bali), close to Der Batha Museum, Medersa Bou-Inania, and University of Al-Karaouine. Also nearby are Tombs of the Merenides and Blue Gate. Property Features In addition to a restaurant, Riad Lalla Fatima features a coffee shop/cafe. Other amenities include complimentary wireless Internet access and a rooftop terrace. Room Amenities All guestrooms feature beds with Select Comfort mattresses, complimentary wireless Internet access, and day beds. Other amenities include hair dryers and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Riad Lalla Fatima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing