We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredibly disappointing with a somewhat unexpected twist” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Verus
Ranked #33 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredibly disappointing with a somewhat unexpected twist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Riad Verus was the only place we had booked on mine and my friends ten day trip through Morocco. We booked it because it came up on a website and looked great value for money in light of the free Berber massage and free tour amongst other things they offered.

We arrived and true to description it really was a beautiful Riad however, it was difficult to find - we had some girls from the local high school show us.

To point out the positives, Riad Verus was an attractive Riad with a great roof terrace and also the Moroccan staff were lovely. This unfortunately was where it ended.

Firstly, after waiting a while before being shown to our room we were told that the key had been broken and so we did not have a key to our room for the duration of our stay.
There was a toilet on our floor but the sink was on another. Not ideal.

Secondly, we were directed to the owner's office in order to pay and were suprised at the way in which the Moroccan owner related to us. After enquiring about the free offers advertised we were asked if we were expecting everything for free and made to feel rude for asking for that which was advertised when booking the Riad.

We later enquired about the best way to experience the desert and an English lady in management outlined an excursion for us. She quoted 5,000d each for a 2/3 day trip to the desert- we later payed 500d each for an INCREDIBLE 2 day trip with everything she offered so she evidently greatly overprices the trip. This was after again making us feel bad as she 'kindly' was dropping her own commission from the total sum. She also told us things like we had to pay for a 4x4 to get from where the bus drops you off to the auberge as there is no other way in- this in fact, we later learnt from some wonderful Berber men was a trick used to get money- they take you in a circle through the dunes making you think you have travelled a great distance- we in fact got straight to our auberge wihout having to use such a method.

After an incredibly noisy night - the small window in our room provided no shelter from the noise outside in addition to the loud TV in the room next ours- we were going to make use of their free offered luggage holding service for a couple of hours as we waited for our transport to our next destination. After leaving the Riad my friend heard someone shouting her name. The English manager was shouting for us and proceeded to deal and talk with us in a manner which was totally unacceptable as paying customers. Speaking to us as if we were school children she told us that we were supposed to go to her office and said that she was going out and did not want to have to wait for us to get our bags so we must take them then. This was not a problem for us as we did not want to have to go back there in light of her treatment of us. The traveller we had recently met and who had just arrived at the Riad was at his point now anxious about the rest of her stay in light of observing the manager's behaviour.

THE TWIST IS YET TO COME: Upon returning home we went to write a review on hostelbookers- where we had booked Riad Verus. We were shocked to find that a review had already been written in our name, using our email address. The review written rated the Riad in all areas as 100%. We had NOT written this and the only conclusion to come to is that the Riad owners, having our details placed a review under our name. This ia not only unacceptable but it is FRAUDULENT and ILLEGAL.

In short, (sorry for the detailed account but I felt it neccessary to share it), I would not reccomend Riad Verus. The location, building and local staff are great but the place is severely let down by the management.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
19 Thank Rlees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 17 May 2011
Thank you girls for your review posted and I am delighted that you found the hostel great value for money, you were staying in the bunkbed room which is only 15 euros a night per person including tax and breakfast. However as you are staying in the cheapest room of the house in accordance with your booking you are not in an ensuite and have to make do with the toilet outside the bedroom and the shower room aswell, but when you made your booking this was made aware to you and also the potential noise factor if other guests are having a good time or watching tv in their room, unfortunately the previous clients had broken the key in the door and as your stay was over a weekend it was impossible to get a locksmith in for a sliding door lock but there is a latch in the inside when you are asleep. Any valuables can be stored in the safe and I remember you saying that this was not necessary as you were poor students and had nothing of value. In light of this the hostel is extremely safe, we have security cameras and the staff are all trustworthy and nothing was misplaced during your stay and I acknowledge you credit the staff as being lovely and in a positive light.

Thank you for also mentioning the beauty and attractiveness of the Riad and our great roof terrace. With regards to being hard to find we do have sign posts in the streets and also it is strongly advised on the booking site to print off directions on how to find us or call us up so that we can send the Guardian to come and find you safely.

Included in your 15 euro a night stay was a free 20 min berber massage and a free tour which you took advantage of, a saving to you both of 200 dirhams. Despite these offers many people do not use them so hence my surprise at requesting them after 5 minutes of arrival. Check in is after 1pm once the rooms are vacated and apologies if you had to wait for the room to arrive but it must be borne in mind that arrivals at 11 in the morning you were in luck that the previous guests had checked out at 10.30, otherwise your wait could have been longer and we expressly cleaned your room and made it ready to accommodate your early arrival.

As for the desert the price i quoted to you was for a top quality tour at 5000 dhm for the 2 of you for 3 nights including the taxi to Fes and onto Marrakesh, I am appauled that i have been misquoted. You would have been staying at a great auberge in Merzouga with ensuite, safe, locks on your door!! and with hot water, in the desert you would have been just the 2 of you camping one night by an Oasis for swimming and enjoying fresh food daily, I do not offer 20 man camel treks which can be had for as little as 50 dhm with good negociation. You are free to reject my offer as i am free to offer you a price, in the end you didnt like my price and this is your call but there is no need to sabbotage my trips on line out of spite, the 4x4 would have picked you up from Risani, it appears you got transport as far as Merzouga hence no need for a 4x4.

The day you left the Riad I had to go to the doctors and as i saw you leaving without saying goodbye or doing checkout I had to run out and call for you, as you were by now 100 metres away yes i did call out to you and explained that i had to leave and would you mind taking your luggage as noone would be at the Riad on their return and didnt want them to loose the bus.

You go onto mention a submission of a review, unless I am some amazing email hacker.... impossible.

In short your message doesnt surprise me as this is the normal attitude we experience from 19 year olds.......

Upset and feel let down by 2 people who had shown kind personalities on the outside and whom we had given kindness and generous hospitablity to during their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    73
    50
    29
    39
See reviews for
31
107
115
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

The management of Riad Versus needs an overhaul. I reserved a private room with bath in advance, and upon arrival after 36 hours of travel was shown to a small 2nd floor closet with two bunk beds and and not even a toilet. Even worse, the toilet was on the third floor and my sink on the first. (Management apologized but said they were fully booked, therefore no other rooms available). Breakfast isn't officially served until 9:30, but it actually arrives closer to 10. This is late for me to start my day, so instead I asked politely for some hot water at 9:15am and was met with a glare of contempt. No water was forthcoming. That night when we returned to the room at 7:30pm the room wasn't made up yet. This is the worst hotel experience I have ever had.

Room Tip: Loud music allowed inside all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank PHurdlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
This review has been fraudulently posted for 5 reasons>

1) All reservations bookings are honored so if a booking had been made with a bathroom ensuite this is what would be offered, always.
2) The bunkbed room only has 1 bunkbed
3) The toilet is on the 2nd floor
4) Rooms are always ready between 12 and 3pm when the maids shifts change and in order to monitor this an inspection is carried out at 3pm.
5) During the month of April we only had single people staying in the bunkbed room and you refer to We...

I really am perplexed why this person has submitted a false review and find it damaging to my business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

Pros:
- Aesthetically beautiful
- Large breakfast each morning
- Attentive but unobtrusive maids/cleaners
Cons:
- Overpriced for what it is
- Slimey, sleazy owner with a penchant for Western girls, who kept lying about himself and his credentials, even telling us he wasn't married, when his Western wife and newborn were there !!
- Cheap finishing on rooms - large gaps in doorways so people can see into rooms and noise travels very easily
- Pushing guests into tours and add-ons
- Ridiculously priced add-ons. Yoga taught by wife is $$, pizza you can get for 20DH they charge 75DH for

Overall experience was severely dampened by shady character that owns the place and the day to day running of riad. You must be overly assertive in this place, which you also must do out in the Medina or the New City. This is exhausting, as after dealing with hagglers and people calling out lewd things to you (though we were completely covered) you want to come back to a relaxing riad, not be overwhelmed and left feeling ripped-off and untrusting. Being on-guard all the time is not relaxing and I left feeling uncomfortable. They are not a professional business, but that's not unusual for a weird and wonderful place like Fes.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank parkscommunity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 16 May 2011
Thank you for your review rating highly the beauty of the Riad and the fullness of breakfast and how the maids are attentive and the hotel is kept clean, as for the cons we are in a Riad and sound does carry as it is an open courtyard space and the mosharabi is for decoration in the room so sorry if you are not comfortable with the Islamic arquitecture and wood furnishings but i can assure you that this is nor a cheap finish to a room. I can only apologise on behalf of myself if you feel 10 euros for a one hour yoga class expensive and charging 6 euros for a large pizza a rip off???? Im sorry for your experiences in Fes as women and that this has made you sceptical about Morocco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Stylish yet homely, attentive yet chilled, Riad Verus is the perfect base from which to explore old Fes. The Riad's gorgeous surroundings and fab rooftop terrace are only exceeded by the amazing service. A guesthouse where you really are a 'guest'. Highly recommended. 

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Nigels group were so much fun to have in the Riad and we are sorry that you had to leave after a fantastic 4 night stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

We had read so many wonderful reviews of the riad so we decided to splurge and book one of the suites. We paid 80 EUR a night and stayed for 4 nights.

Pros:
- Comfortable beds
- Great central location
- Owners always trying to help/ decent service

Cons:
- Noise (and cigarette smoke) travels up into the rooms and loud music was played at night but never past 11pm.
- Claims for great view over Medina but was not the case. Partial view of an area of the Medina.
- Strange (musty) smell in the rooms due to the damp, and sewage smell in the bathroom due to plumbing so you should always have bathroom door closed.
- Owners suggests that you to do everything through them (tours, food, etc.) but you really don't have to because their prices are at least 2x the norm. Food at the hotel was average but very expensive for what you get.

One last comment is that the suites have these crazy huge bath tubs. I thought about taking a bath and started to fill the tub. After 15 minutes, only about 2 inches of the surface was filled which makes it nearly impossible to actually fill and take a bath there. When asked the owner, she said it could just empty the boiler if someone decides to take a bath. I was more afraid the ceiling would collapse due to the weight of the thing when filled. So take away message is the bath tub is for decoration.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boohwaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
Thanks for the pros about Riad Verus how you found the beds to be comfortable and the location was central and we provided a good service.

Was surprised by the comments about smoke wafting into your rooms from the courtyard, I guess this is inevitable if windows are left open. We do offer non smoking rooms at the rear of the Riad.

Food is freshly prepared at the Riad and the price osilates between 10 to 15 euros which I do not consider expensive. Fes is an ancient city so in Winter dampness is a problem experience by 90 % of the population and since your departure the bathroom you were staying in has been remodelled and renovated. Baths are enormous but very sturdy, although we do have 2 200 litre tanks if everyone is showering at the same time to fill a 100 litre bath with hot water is best done during the afternoon, but trust me it wouldnt have broken.

All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

We only stayed at Riad Verus for 2 nights but they were fantastic! The hotel itself is stunning with amazing decor and in an excellent location! The whole place including the rooms and bathrooms are extremely clean- you wont need your flip flops in these showers! But none of this compares to the amazing service! From the minute you walk in the door until you leave, the staff will go above and beyond to serve your every need! This included escorts to dinner, personal tour guides and so much more! For an extremely reasonable price, we experienced absolute luxury. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting Fes.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nato_024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

Flew into Fes from London, and our stay at Riad Varus was amazing! Everything was well organised via email before we arrived, and they had a cab driver pick us up from the airport. The staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly. The Riad Varus is in a great location in the Medina, and it is very beautiful, clean and peaceful. The rooms are amazing, and the outdoor areas are the perfect place to relax and unwind. Nor, Leonora and Josef are very helpful and arranged various tours for us, as well as recommended and arranged dinners and activities! The brekky is delicious and the endless orange juice and mint tea is lovely.

We had a lovely time at Riad Varus, and would definitely recommend it as a great place to stay in Fez!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucydigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#61 of 100 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 59 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#24 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Al Ouali
Riad Dar Al Ouali
#84 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#28 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 59 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Property: Riad Verus
Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing