We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven of tranquility amidst the medina!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Verus
Ranked #34 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A little haven of tranquility amidst the medina!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

As soon as you come through the door of Riad Verus into the central courtyard you can feel yourself relaxing! Compared to the busy, dirty, loud medina this Riad is wonderful, quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Leanora has restored it beautifully and is a great hostess. We stayed in the Caecilius room which was lovely - having a fridge in the room makes a huge difference and the iPod dock is a fab little luxury!

Breakfasts were good, as were the dinners we had in the Riad. The staff are also really attentive and helpful.

I have to say though that I would also agree with the reviewer below about the tours of the medina - we were also left to find our own way back one day (no mean feat), coincidentally after we had said we weren't interested in buying anything from our guides' friends' leather shop! This may well happen with lots of tours in Fez - it does seem to be the way, but just be aware of it. I imagine if you book an official tour guide it wouldn't be the case.

All in all though, a lovely start to our honeymoon and a lovely Riad to relax in and escape the hustle and bustle of the medina.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgardiner2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    74
    50
    29
    40
See reviews for
31
108
118
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at the Riad Verus for 3 nights. Its a beautiful building, well restored, conveniently located, and the staff was incredibly friendly. For sleeping purposes I would recommend this Riad, but please read on.

My one suggestion to fellow travelers is to avoid tours offered through the Riad. Our first day in town we signed up for a Medina tour which lead us into an array of "hard sale" situations. Leather shops, carpet shops, spice and herbal shops. In the end our tour guide abandoned us without notice at a leather tannery and left us to find our way back home through the confusing medina on our own at dusk.

In addition we signed up for a camel tour of the Sahara desert which turned out to be quite overpriced and did not live up to it's description. We were told we would make multiple stops along the way to see beautiful waterfalls, the valley of the monkeys etc. Nothing of the sort ever materialized and in the end we found ourselves in yet another carpet shop receiving a hard sales pitch before embarking on a less than impressive excursion into the desert.

Keep this in mind - sort things our for yourself and you'll be alright. My recommendation comes with an (*) next to it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 900sherbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

This is just a great place. It's clean, tidy, the staff are friendly and helpful! The building itself is so beautiful on the inside, it's unbelievable. If it seems a little pricey, it's worth every penny! You will NOT regret staying here!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

I was so excited to stay at Riad Verus-the pictures, the price and the location made
it ideal for my minibreak in Fes. The riad is stunning and the rooms are comfortable and clean. I stayed for two nights in the 'dorm' room-a lovely room with three beds. Lennora, one half of the husband wife couple that run it, was incredibly helpful and welcoming-she gave me loads of good tips and was fun to talk to! The location is great and you soon figure out the winding route to get there and the mint tea they serve is delicious!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Riad Verus is gorgeous, with incredible staff and beautiful, clean, air-conditioned rooms. We felt warmly welcomed immediately, with mint tea and cookies, and had the most wonderful stay here. It was only for one night, but I wish we could have stayed for longer! Nour, the owner, went out of his way to show us a good time, and we are so grateful to him for the wonderful dinner in the Medina he arranged for us, as well as the kind hospitality shown to us in the evening with drinks at his other hotel! The upstairs terrace is a fantastic place to meet people, and breakfast was absolutely delicious. If anything, my only complaint was that we did not receive a key to the Riad and so had to wake up the staff when we returned to the Riad late at night, which we felt really bad about. But they were so nice about it! I cannot recommend the Riad Verus enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Riad Verus is a beautiful place, perfect base for exploring Fes and all it's glories. The staff and especially the owners were so lovely and accomodating. I felt so welcome and looked after. This would be my top recommendation in Fes. Loveliest place I've stayed in a long while.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

Very nice people, very confy place, and the stuff is great....The style of the Riad is very nice. It s been resctructured and the courtyard is lovely. Defenetly a perfect option and a very safe choice.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pipem19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Riad Jardin Chrifa
#50 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#4 of 60 in Fes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#29 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Rabha
Dar Rabha
#3 of 60 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#50 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Al Ouali
Riad Dar Al Ouali
#90 of 204 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Property: Riad Verus
Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing