We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book it”
Review of Riad Verus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Verus
Ranked #33 of 210 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
fez
1 review
“Book it”
Reviewed 12 March 2011

In a nutshell:
-amazing staff
-beautiful
-hospitable
-fabulous architecture
-central location
-top notch

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tropikella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    74
    50
    29
    40
See reviews for
32
108
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

As a girl travelling alone, I was a little apprehensive when I was looking for a riad to stay in Fes. Plus, my budget was very limited so I needed to find some place safe and not much expensive. Verus offers accomodations from 25 euros, so I found the winner. Fortunately, the feedback was beyond any expectation. The staff was unbelievably thoughtful and ready to help me in any circumstances. Besides, they're in a nice location in the Medina, the decoration is elegantly traditional and the breakfast's better than my mother's haha! I will certainly stay there in my next trip to Fes! Totally recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

myself and 3 other friends stayed at riad verus for two nights. we had the most amazing time::::nour and leonora are extremely hospitable and welcoming hosts and do their upmost to ensure you have a great stay. the showers are INCREDIBLE and the breakfasts are delicious. the riad is well located for fes medina and we were able to find it very quickly and easily:

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen7654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

This place offers incredible customer service in beautiful surroundings. Very close to the Medina. The Riad staff escourted our group to a local eatery late at night when we first arrived and prepared a very special meal for us on the terrace. Great breakfast included. Very clean rooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

i was so scared to travel alone around Fes, but i read the rewies on this website and decided to go to Ryad Verus: found it lovely, quiet and cleaned and just felt nice and safe like home.
There i met other travellers thanks to the warm and confortable atmosphere that breackfast creates and In particular i would like to thank Yousef for being so helpful and kind, whatever i asked for suggestings about things to do or taking me to the hammam or anywhere else and he found for me guides, taxi drivers and anythig i needed, or he came himself with me.
You can definetively trust him as fair and true; he will make u feel confident in Fez. I can't wait to go back there other wonderful experiences and to get to the desert.
Roberta

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank roberta_gioia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Riad Verus for 3 nights. We heard about it from other travelers on the street, and decided to take a look.
The location is privileged: less than 5 minute walk from the Blue Gate and all there is around it.
The owners (and staff) are great, friendly people. They are engaging and care about your stay, be it offering cooking classes, suggestions, or just going out with you for some juice and snacks.
The price was a little above what we had planned (considering we were looking for "hostel type accommodation"), but in the end, they offer a beautiful place for a good price, and we don't regret spending a little more to stay there - in fact, we're glad we did.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

There comes a time in everyone's life when you realise that you have to grow up, settle down, get a real job, etc.
Riad Verus really wants to be one of those 'proper' boutique riads, but can't help kicking off its shoes and having just one last party.

Everything is in place - an excellent location, fantastic building, well-equiped rooms, and a great city in Fes. The trouble is, as well as being a €90/night boutique riad, it's a €25/night backpackers hostel - you can't have both, and sadly, if you're paying more you lose out.

Things didn't go well when we couldn't contact anyone to guide us to the riad - the phone kept being taken off the hook. After finally getting there with the (inevitably expensive) help of a street kid, we were left on our own for 30 minutes in the courtyard (this also happened to others whilst we were there), before mint tea and then being shown to our room. Then, as every evening, we were 'treated' to the courtyard being turned into a chillout room with disco lights and loud music. Throughout, the staff were surly and unhelpful, especially when we decided that we were happy to venture into the Medina without a guide.

Verus was going to be the highlight of our Morocco trip - it turned out to be the nadir. At this price it's all about service, and that's all that really lacking at the Verus. I've noticed that this sentiment is echoed through the reviews. You can't be both a hostel and a riad, and Verus needs to decide which it wants to be. Having stayed in three great riads in Marrakech, the Verus is currently way below that standard.

If you're looking to stay at the Verus as a backpacker, don't hesitate, but if you're looking for a relaxing, calming, riad experience, look elsewhere or read the reviews on here VERY carefully first.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank DadaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADVERUSFES, Owner at Riad Verus, responded to this review, 8 May 2011
We were sad to read this review as i cant understand where the bitterness comes from. Riad Verus' main clientelle are young openminded travellers who want to meet others and have fun.

The review left here appears revengeful and cruel in telling us how to manage our hotel, the comments about the surliness of the staff is unfounded and never once were you judged for not taking a guide with you into the Medina. Personally the guide is a good way to see Fes without looking like a lost tourist and you mention that just trying to find the Riad you needed the help of a child and didnt like paying for his trouble.....

Yes the hostel does cater to single travellers who bunk up in a shared room and actually are proportionally paying the same price as a couple in a double room as opposed to a triple ensuite so noone is paying more and loosing out.

Your comments do however highlight that this place is an excellent choice if you do want to have a good time, perhaps our Riad is not the ideal choice for a silent retreat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Funky Fes Hostel
Funky Fes Hostel
#5 of 65 in Fes
156 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#52 of 210 in Fes
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar el Yasmine
Dar el Yasmine
#26 of 210 in Fes
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#16 of 210 in Fes
274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#29 of 210 in Fes
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Zohor
Dar Zohor
#71 of 210 in Fes
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Verus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Verus

Property: Riad Verus
Address: 1 Derb Arset Bennis, Batha | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Verus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAPPY STAY RIAD - Atmospheric restored palace in the heart of the Fes Medina. Beautiful ensuite and dorm rooms in traditional design and one of the best panoramic Medina views from the sun terrace. We cater both for the upper backpacking market, Semester at Sea groups, Foreign Groups and young couples who search for quality accommodation at low prices. No corners cut. So much fun to be had here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Riad Verus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Verus Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing