We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant in private home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant dar hatim

Restaurant dar hatim
Ranked #13 of 205 Restaurants in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$22
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Our kitchen is based on fresh 100% natural products , come to test the real morocan kitche . You are welcom to " Dar Hatim "
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in private home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

The proprietor will come pick you up and take you to his beautiful home in the old Jewish quarter of the Medina. His charming wife and mother handle the traditional Moroccan cooking. The food was as good as that at the top local hotels. A great experience, not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mguerreiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    98
    39
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan Meal / One of the Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I were taken to this restaurant by our personal tour guide/driver Namir for dinner during one of our nights in Fes on June 20, 2014. We elected not to eat in our Riad for the evening. My wife and I do not eat meat and Namir promised that we would have an excellent fresh fish dinner. This is a family run operation and the owner/operator is extremely friendly! We had a typical Moroccan dinner and each entree was very tasty and well prepared and the fresh fish was out of this world! We traveled throughout Morocco on an eleven day tour staying in 5 star riads and kasbahs and this was without a doubt the best meal taken.
The restaurant is almost indistinguishable in the maze of the Fes Medina, but once inside is an exquisite home converted into this small cozy restaurant.
Good choice Namir!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wkmNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great moroccan experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This was a place we might never have seen if we'd tried to find it on our own. Our guide for the day contacted them, the proprietor picked us up, told us about the restaurant, drove us, then guided us through the streets to this amazing place. The whole family is involved with this restaurant. We each (four of us) chose different dishes and shared. There wasn't a single dish that I wouldn't order again. We started with wonderful Moroccan cooked salads and worked our way through our main dishes. I really liked the way it felt "homey" and the way our hostess provided bits of information about the family and the business. At the end of the meal she said "Are you waiting for my husband to take you back to your Riad?" It was more than a meal, it was an experience. I truly enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

I am not a fan of Moroccan food and throughout our 10 days trip we only had Moroccan food once. however the restaurant was good, esp, the chicken pie we really enjoyed. This is a family owned restaurant where the whole family works and you eat in their living room. the service was excellent and were were allowed to see their house as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sonja_1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional food in the Medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited this restaurant with our adult children, six persons altogether. The restaurant can be a bit difficult to find but the owner himself came to pick us up at a designated time and we walked briefly through old streets (the old 14th century Jewish quarter) to the restaurant. It is situated in a converted house, also an old historical building, with exceptionally sculpted and painted cedar carvings on the ceilings. The work of the owner's brother. Appetizers were various delicious small dishes of Moroccan specialties, salads and olives. Although the menu was varied and included the usual tagines (lamb, chicken, beef), we all opted for the Pastilla menu (200 dh/ 20 €/ 26$/ person), also the most expensive. We had two vegetarians with us and the cook gracefully prepared two vegetarian pastillas. These are Fes signature dishes with meat/vegetables and sweet almonds and onions. We all agreed that these tasted just great. Incidentally, the vegetarian dishes were some of the best we had in our three-week stay in Morocco. There is no alcohol served in the Medina, but this restaurant accepts to uncork any wine or beer that you bring with you. In addition to a great food experience, the welcome was a truly warm one and the attention was perfect. Needless to say, some of us could not finish our pastilla and we left with doggy bags. In summary, this is a really nice place to enjoy an evening with friends, experience traditional Moroccan dishes and also visit a historical part of an old city.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank blueharicot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant dar hatim also viewed

Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
Fes, Fes-Boulemane Region
 

Been to Restaurant dar hatim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing