We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best accomodations I had in Morocco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Piemonte
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best accomodations I had in Morocco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I got to Ryad Alya by chance as I learnt about it by a travel mate I met on my way to Fès. The riad is for sure one of the best I visited during my journey in Morocco and I couldn't get a better suggestion. I do recommend spending some time here, in the Medina of Fès though easily findable. At my arrival, the guys at the reception were more than kind and attentive and I felt immediately pampered. The riad is in a marvellous historical building, it looks like a castle or a fine mansion, with wood engravings and precious stuccos. The rooms are quite comfortable, very clean and original. Last but not least, the breakfast served by Fatah includes typical bread and loaves and delicious jams that are absolutely unforgettable! I haven’t tried other riad in Fès, but this is highly recommendable: the taxi driver will take you to very close to the riad, then you’ll reach it on foot after a short distance. The place is pretty much quiet, both in the rooms and in the inner patio, where you’ll be offered a freshly brewed mint tea and cookies. The riad has got a hammam, too, but I haven’t tried it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiemontePiemonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    56
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
274
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

We chose Alya as a splurge hotel for 2 nights during our 3 week stay in Morocco, since very nice, but more basic hotels can be found for a fraction of the price of Alya. This is the perfect hotel to experience traditional Moroccan luxury. The majority of high end riads and hotels in Fes are more modern and westernized aesthetically, but Riad Alya feels like a traditional Moroccan palace. The riad is beautiful, and our room (the Fes suite) was spectacular, as well as quiet and comfortable.
The staff was very helpful and accommodating, and breakfast was the best we had in any hotel we stayed in during our trip (and we had great breakfasts almost everywhere we stayed). Our stay at Alya was really enjoyable, and we'd highly recommend it. It's also worth mentioning that we had no problems as a gay couple here or at any hotel we stayed in in Morocco, since that was a bit of a concern of ours before going on our trip.

Room Tip: The Fes suite was unbelievably beautiful, and perfectly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

This is a superb guest house in Fes. This is not a conventional hotel as such. It is a riad, a traditional courtyard house (or mini-palace in this case) that has been adapted for guests. The interior is breathtakingly beautiful, with stunning traditional intricate tile work and plaster carvings. It's worth staying here just to admire the courtyard! The rooms are very comfortable and also quite beautiful. Breakfast is served on the roof terrace, which has a wonderful view over the medina of Fes. It's a good breakfast too, but we chose to try other local restaurants for other meals. The staff members are very helpful and efficient, and we heard them chatting to guests in at least four languages. Location is excellent, down a quiet alley in one of the best parts of the medina, and close to the main tourist sites. The medina is a warren of alley ways going off in different directions and if you don't have a guide for your first exploration you will be sure to get lost. A note of caution about Fes -- several people suggested it was not safe to walk about at night. This is the only town in Morocco where we got such advice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Well I stumbled across this fantastic hotel purely by a chance meeting with 2 like minded holiday makers whilst visiting Essaouira. They suggested that if I was visiting Fes then the Ryad Ayla is THE place to stay.

I took the train from Marrakech to Fes which took 7 hours aDh (first Class). On my arrival at Fes Railway station I was greeted by a number of taxi agents, and you very much take your chance. It cost 20Dh. I found my way to the Ryad Ayla down a short passage way and was greeted by Helima who was very helpful.

Apparently it is cheaper to rent a room if you just turn up rather than book in advance. However you obviously take the risk of there being a room available. Fortunately although the Ryad was busy there was a room available.

I found the whole experience of staying at the Ryad Ayla fantastic. It was very very clean, the staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

The Ryad is situated on the edge of the Medina and the staff will organise a guide should you want one. I took up their offer and was introduced to my Guide called Ali. He spoke English and took me round all the sights I wanted to see. He cost (350Dh).

Unlike other reviewers I found the 2 staff I dealt with very polite, that's Halima and Hassan.

The Room rate included Breakfast which was magnificent and taken on the roof terrace which overlooked the roofs of the Medina. Something for everyone, and a great way to start the day.

I can recommend the hamman a great way to unwind after a day of sight seeing. This is within the Ryad and can be arranged at short notice. Very good value.

I had a lovely stay and can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ploddy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This was amazing place to stay, with excellent service and wonderfully preserved architecture.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were all extremely friendly.
Our suite was a very good size. He only things missing there was more comfortable area to seat in my room. There was some seating area, but it was more then bench with hard cushions on it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiPietruszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We had a wonderful stay in raid alya all the staff was very kind led by Halima very nice and polite women . Even though we stayed for too little time, she all the time trying to be sure that everything is correct!!! .
The location is fantastic and the breakfast is to die for !thank you very much We look forward to returning for a longer stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iren p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
636 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Ryad Alya is a beautiful old house hotel in the Medina in Fez. It is restored and has about five suites. Beautiful plaster and tile work. Rooms are nice and breakfast is good. One staff member Amine is excellent but he is unfortunately leaving. Shortly after arrival the manager Halima was unaccountably rude to me. Later I asked another staff if I could speak to the owner and was told no and then told Halima was the owner which is not true. The staff told her and things improved but left a kind of residual tension. Another guest according to the reviews had a similar problem in April 2012 with Halima and while the owner commented he did not apologize to those people which he should have done. Also there is fair bit of street noise at night.

Room Tip: One room does not have TV. I guess I would try to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing