We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the Medina”
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A jewel in the Medina”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Riad Alya was a great find - a real jewel in the Medina! When our taxi driver let us off at the end of a dreary sort of street I had no idea what was in store for us. We were welcomed at the door by Hassan the manager, and from that moment on, felt cared for in the sweetest Moroccan fashion. Besides the absolutely gorgeous interior the staff was attentive, helpful, kind and considerate. And did I mention their restaurant's pastilla? Fabulous! We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    56
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
279
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ryad Alya.

THE friendliest. kindest. nicest and above all, most civilised place i ever stayed !

When i arrived in the Ryad; i was welcomed by Hassan, a receptionist and manager, and what a proper welcoming.

They came with fresh tea, and cookies, afterwards they treated me to the Hammam, which is a spa where u get a proper scrubbing from the woman working there, afterwards i got a full body massage.

So a welcome fit for kings.

But that is just the beginning...

The Ryad is like a small palace, really, it is, if they said it belonged to King Mohammed, i would have believed them.

The service is the best i ever got, u are treated like a guest of the Ryad, and not like a client of a hotel.

They arranged different excursions, sorted me out with a rental car, and even made me a fifteen day travel plan, complete with everything.

The food of the Ryad is equally exquisit.

The Breakfast is HUGE, but everything is fresh, and very well prepared.
Likewise is the dinner, u get soup, different assorted veggie dishes, main course and dessert.

The chef, Zouhir, is extremely attentive, manored, professinal, the dining experience could not have been any better, best food i had in Morocco.

The Ryad in it self is the best of both worlds, it is traditional moroccan, but is still very much up to date, it was fully renovated in 09.

The std rooms are HUGE, it is basically a suite.

So to conclude my review, 1001 stars out of 10, could not have been better!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just returned from an amazing stay at the Ryad Alya. From the moment we stepped into the beautiful courtyard and was greeted by Laila the manager a most charming young lady you could ever wish to meet we knew we were going to have a wonderful stay and we did. Laila and her team were so professional and efficient and took care of our every need. The breakfasts were a fabulous way to start everyday particularly combined with the view of the roof tearrace. We also had a wonderful meal at the Ryad which was served on the roof terrace too it was so relaxing. The Ryad also has we think the best location in Fez so near to everything and literally next door to the Medina. So a big thank you to Laila and her excellent team and a special thank you to Zouhir who served our breakfast and our black tea with a big smile and interesting conversation throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanandandrew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Riad alya is one of the best hitels i have never seen . I felt likea home family .lyla ,yonis and rest of staf are very very friendly , amazing comfotable room . Perfect location . The best dinneri have got in morocco was there. Simply.... you are the best ... zakaria and ahmed

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zico_kg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perugia, Umbria, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Ryad Alya is near perfect with its superb location, gorgeous and stylish ambience and accommodation, superb food and its wonderful Hammam. Each member of staff is professional, attentive and very friendly and an excellent diplomat Morocco's people and culture. The Riad offers great value for money. "Near perfect" can be "perfect" by simply giving guests (those who need it) some breathing space when they arrive, before launching into the tour of the Riad and its services. We will highly recommend you to our friends.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SophievR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Absolutely PERFECT in terms of: 1) authenticity, 2) staff who pride themselves of 100% customer satisfaction, 3) palatial ambiance of lobby, 4) security (surrounded by 20 foot walls, 5) location near the medina, 6) exquisite food prepared by a 20 year local chef Fouzia (who also gives cooking lessons)--DON'T bother eating outside the Riad, 7) trully local and home made prepared breakfast, 8) trully authentic Moroccan bed chamber.

There is only one address in Fez for me. Would I stay here again? YES!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pick the Marrakech suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at this very beautifully restored Ryad . It is on the edge of the medina and easy to access by car.just 100 meters or so walk from the street. The suites are all very spacious and beautiful.Meals are delicious and the staff is very attentive, professionell and helpful. Thank you Laila for looking after us so well. We truly can recommend this Ryad, it won't disappoint.
One thing I think I should mention.We originally had booked Room Tanger as it is described being 24 squ.mtrs. In actual fact it is very small,only about 12 squ.mtrs with a 12 squ.mtr bath room.
Also the room has no window as such and we felt very claustrophobic.We switched to Room Marakech which was just stunning.

Room Tip: Room descriptions given are for the Ryad, not the individual rooms.They don't have balconies,pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing