We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryad Alya
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$362
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Jamai(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Hafsa(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Dar Guennoun(Fes)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$116
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$243
US$226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$50
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
518
62
17
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
62
17
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasablanca suiteexpensive roominterior gardenprivate hammamcooking classthe ownerroof terracepastillasecond homemint teahammam experienceorange treesevery morningstayed longerthe entire staffbeautiful propertytrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Ryad Alya is visually stunning. Those travellers that want their accommodation to be authentic and individual will relish this property. If you want the plain vanilla box of a corporate hotel then stay away. This is a triumph . The owner (who was present when we visited) has employed the best craftsmen to ensure the restoration is of the very highest quality.

The name Ryad Alya is appropriate as the property boasts a high roof terrace that overlooks the Medina of the city. It is a large size and is suitable for passing time looking at the view. Unfortunately for us it rained the whole time we were in Fez so the roof terrace was less than useful. But this didn't matter as the inner courtyard is roofed and comfortable and our room was equally comfortable.

There are also two notable members of staff that deserve a mention Laila and Zouhir were extremely helpful and welcoming and had a genuine interest in us and our experience of Fez. They are a real asset to the Ryad.

We also opted for a meal in the Ryad (the rain dampened our enthusiasm for exploring). This was an excellent choice. It was the Moroccan home cooking but beautifully cooked.

Well done to the team at Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This is a spectacular but compact building. It has been beautifully restored. We loved being there so much that we hardly left it. This was our return for a final three nights in Fez before going home and it acted like a rest cure.
So many good things have been written and they are all true. Our room was beautiful and the central heating kept it very warm in December. But no hotel becomes successful without good staff and here Hassan leads a terrific team. Everyone was kind and nothing ever too much trouble.
The food was the best we had in the country and once discovering that we stayed in for dinner each night. That was served as well as is possible with tidbits of interesting conversation from the most professional and kind waiter. He was even up at 5am to give us coffee and send us off to the airport with a packed breakfast and some cookies. It was a terrific stay.
Our only difficulty was with the firmness of the mattress, which the staff overlaid with blankets. Some memory foam topper mattress covers would be good. However, I have not noticed others mentioning this, so it may really be my issue! Other than that, everything was perfect.
A highlight is the terrace from which you get epic views of the city and the mountains. I should think it would be a wonderful place to eat in the warmer weather.
Very highly recommended.
Mike B

Room Tip: I think all the rooms looked to be great. It really depends on which most appeal when you look through the options. The nice thing is being able to book a specific room or suite. You get what you want!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a great Ryad in Fes, which has preserved much of the authentic decor of the area matched with modern amenities. The room for two twin beds was perfect- the beds were very separate, there was a small sitting area and a large bathroom. The hammam experience in the hotel was a great experience and we had only to go upstairs to the central courtyard for dinner with live musician. The location was good for the sites and safe-close enough but not in the very thick of it. They arranged great guide for us. The service staff was lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherryRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Riad Alya was a great find - a real jewel in the Medina! When our taxi driver let us off at the end of a dreary sort of street I had no idea what was in store for us. We were welcomed at the door by Hassan the manager, and from that moment on, felt cared for in the sweetest Moroccan fashion. Besides the absolutely gorgeous interior the staff was attentive, helpful, kind and considerate. And did I mention their restaurant's pastilla? Fabulous! We are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Ryad Alya.

THE friendliest. kindest. nicest and above all, most civilised place i ever stayed !

When i arrived in the Ryad; i was welcomed by Hassan, a receptionist and manager, and what a proper welcoming.

They came with fresh tea, and cookies, afterwards they treated me to the Hammam, which is a spa where u get a proper scrubbing from the woman working there, afterwards i got a full body massage.

So a welcome fit for kings.

But that is just the beginning...

The Ryad is like a small palace, really, it is, if they said it belonged to King Mohammed, i would have believed them.

The service is the best i ever got, u are treated like a guest of the Ryad, and not like a client of a hotel.

They arranged different excursions, sorted me out with a rental car, and even made me a fifteen day travel plan, complete with everything.

The food of the Ryad is equally exquisit.

The Breakfast is HUGE, but everything is fresh, and very well prepared.
Likewise is the dinner, u get soup, different assorted veggie dishes, main course and dessert.

The chef, Zouhir, is extremely attentive, manored, professinal, the dining experience could not have been any better, best food i had in Morocco.

The Ryad in it self is the best of both worlds, it is traditional moroccan, but is still very much up to date, it was fully renovated in 09.

The std rooms are HUGE, it is basically a suite.

So to conclude my review, 1001 stars out of 10, could not have been better!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews