We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back in time”
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A trip back in time”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Welcome to the ancient times. A beautiful mixture of modern amenities, luxury and history. The hotel is a serene oasis, filled with beautiful ornaments and brilliant service. Unfortunately both my partner and I fell ill during our stay, but the staff did anything they could to make us feel better, from bringing our meals to the room, offering medication and assistance and otherwise taking care of us. The hotel is right by the old town of Fes in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    57
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
284
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
daniela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We liked the style of the riad, the authenticity and attention to details. A wonderful restoration. The atmosfere was charming and relaxing. The roof terrace had a great view of Fes and the position of the ryad was excellent, close to the museums and markets but off the chaos. We would unhesitatingly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant ryad, great staff, ideal location.
We reached fes, after a night in Casablanca, where we stayed in a regular 4 star hotel. This place was so much better at less than half the cost!
If you want to experience traditional morocco, go to fes.
Think no more about this ryad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thetravellingfonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hammam is a Moroccan institution- a public steam bath. Hammams used to be the only place people could come to bathe and scrub, since a private bathroom in a house or apartment was a luxury few could afford. There are fewer hammams now since modern plumbing means people can bathe in their own homes. But taking a public bath is still very much part of the culture in Tunisia and Morocco.
But for westerners the best and most hygienic place to experience a traditional hammam is in one of the traditional Ryads of Fes - and here I can highly recommend Ryad Alya, which provides both hammam and traditional massage. This is a beautiful Ryad with a flower-petal strewn fountain as a feature of their beautifully decorated courtyard.
The hammam is downstairs and is in a very clean traditionally tiled steam room. The hamman scrub lasts 45 minutes and be prepared to be seriously exfoliated at least twice! The massage is 45 minutes- it’s optional but I recommend it after the scrubbing you get in the hammam. I guarantee you will feel the cleanest you have ever felt in your life. Cleaner than a steam bath in Japan, and that’s saying something!
By the way the the hammam staff are both women and speak some French so try to dig up your best High School French. Hammam staff You wear underpants in the hammam and remember to take an extra pair with you to change into afterwards.
The person to contact is Hassan who speaks excellent English. He will explain the hamman / massage process when you book. Please be aware that is more efficient for the Ryad to have two persons attending the hammam; if you are an individual you may have to pair up with another person but you won’t see them but you will hear their groans of pleasure from the massage room.
How much for all this sybaritic bliss? I‘m Australian so you will have to do your own conversions. For the hamman it was around A$35 and the same for the massage. Yes, you can get cheaper but you won’t have the experience of being in this gorgeous Ryad or sitting in the traditional courtyard afterwards and sipping on mint (or if you are really lucky spearmint) tea. By the way an appropriate tip for the hammam person and masseuse (if you use one) should be in the order of 40 - 50 Dirhams (approx A$5 - $6).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 648JAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The ryad was beautiful!!! Hassan greeted us and tended to everything for us and went out of his way to make us comfortable. Sitting on the rooftop and eating a home cooked meal was a wonderful first night and I suggest after a day of travel to get there, it is a great way to start stress free. Don't be afraid to venture out other nights into the medina, and try the local cuisine! Shopping is incredible. We haggled for rugs, perfume, shoes and leather. Whatever the shop owner starts for price, Hassan says don't pay more than half of original offer. One word to the prudish southern girls like me, if you book hammam at this Ryad, be sure you aren't shy. It involves no clothing and a woman applying mud just about everywhere, so for me a bit awkward.... But the massage was wonderful. Hassan set up a driver for us to travel to Marrakech and see the sites through the mountains- I hugged wild little monkeys in the cedar forest- lifetime moment! - Jared and Pat

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a find! Myself and a friend booked this Riad through Booking.com and are still patting ourselves on the back for our luck. One word for this Riad 'beautiful!'. As you walk in the door your senses are bombarded with the detailed and ornate architecture and amazing colours of the central courtyard. To put it simply however, any building can be beautiful but it is the staff that make or break your holiday experience and Hassan (the Riad manager) and his staff were second to none. Hassan appeared to be working day and night to make sure that all his guests had the best holiday experience of their lives and boy did he deliver. As we were arriving so late by train, Hassan had a meal ready for us to eat and the food was the best we had the whole 2 weeks we were in Morocco. We had a delicious breakfast every morning on the terrace which had views to die for. One of the evenings we felt like having a bottle of wine on the terrace, Hassan sent one of the staff out to get us one. So thank you Hassan and staff for making Fes so special for us and I hope in the future we get a chance to stay with you again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

After travelling out to the desert, it was good to settle a few nights into Ryad Alya. The staff is super attentive and helpful. Especially the manager Hassan and also want to call out Zouhir. We had a dinner at the riad and the harira and pastilla were really delicious. Our room was 2 floors high with 2 twin beds; the bathroom took up the entire top floor. It was fairly comfortable and there was only one night we were disturbed by a lot of commotion from the street rather late - turns out it was a wedding party going late into the night with lots of drumming. The rooftop view is gorgeous and lovely to have breakfast up there. Breakfasts are delicious and definitely give you the energy you need to explore the city for the day. Hassan also set up a tour for us out to Volubilis which was lovely. I had a great stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 99 in Fes
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing