We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happiness”
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cathlamet, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Happiness”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were pampered and well taken care of in this, our home away from home, for eight nights during the Fez Sacred Music Festival in June. The charming Hassan and the entire staff filled our hearts with their happiness and I would recommend this Ryad to my closest family and friends. The rooms are very clean, the water is hot, the Masseuse was excellent, the food is perfectly prepared, and breakfast on the rooftop is a delight. We were always greeted with mint tea and cookies after long walks through the Medina. Amazing Dinners are available
upon request. We always felt comfortable, safe, and relaxed during our time spent here.
Ryad Alya is located very close to a turnaround where a taxi can let you off after visiting the outlying countryside. I would love to return to Fez and be a guest at Ryad Alya again.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    57
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
284
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

One of the most beautiful places I've stayed in. Rooms are unique and really beautifully decorated, the whole place is like a little peaceful oasis in the heart of the city! There's also a really nice roof terrace and absolutely amazing staff. Can't imagine a better place to stay in Fes!

Read more about Ryad Alya from my blog (in Finnish): http://secretwardrobe.bellablogit.fi/2013/07/22/pieni-paratiisi/

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretWardrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Welcome to the ancient times. A beautiful mixture of modern amenities, luxury and history. The hotel is a serene oasis, filled with beautiful ornaments and brilliant service. Unfortunately both my partner and I fell ill during our stay, but the staff did anything they could to make us feel better, from bringing our meals to the room, offering medication and assistance and otherwise taking care of us. The hotel is right by the old town of Fes in a quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We liked the style of the riad, the authenticity and attention to details. A wonderful restoration. The atmosfere was charming and relaxing. The roof terrace had a great view of Fes and the position of the ryad was excellent, close to the museums and markets but off the chaos. We would unhesitatingly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Brilliant ryad, great staff, ideal location.
We reached fes, after a night in Casablanca, where we stayed in a regular 4 star hotel. This place was so much better at less than half the cost!
If you want to experience traditional morocco, go to fes.
Think no more about this ryad.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thetravellingfonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hammam is a Moroccan institution- a public steam bath. Hammams used to be the only place people could come to bathe and scrub, since a private bathroom in a house or apartment was a luxury few could afford. There are fewer hammams now since modern plumbing means people can bathe in their own homes. But taking a public bath is still very much part of the culture in Tunisia and Morocco.
But for westerners the best and most hygienic place to experience a traditional hammam is in one of the traditional Ryads of Fes - and here I can highly recommend Ryad Alya, which provides both hammam and traditional massage. This is a beautiful Ryad with a flower-petal strewn fountain as a feature of their beautifully decorated courtyard.
The hammam is downstairs and is in a very clean traditionally tiled steam room. The hamman scrub lasts 45 minutes and be prepared to be seriously exfoliated at least twice! The massage is 45 minutes- it’s optional but I recommend it after the scrubbing you get in the hammam. I guarantee you will feel the cleanest you have ever felt in your life. Cleaner than a steam bath in Japan, and that’s saying something!
By the way the the hammam staff are both women and speak some French so try to dig up your best High School French. Hammam staff You wear underpants in the hammam and remember to take an extra pair with you to change into afterwards.
The person to contact is Hassan who speaks excellent English. He will explain the hamman / massage process when you book. Please be aware that is more efficient for the Ryad to have two persons attending the hammam; if you are an individual you may have to pair up with another person but you won’t see them but you will hear their groans of pleasure from the massage room.
How much for all this sybaritic bliss? I‘m Australian so you will have to do your own conversions. For the hamman it was around A$35 and the same for the massage. Yes, you can get cheaper but you won’t have the experience of being in this gorgeous Ryad or sitting in the traditional courtyard afterwards and sipping on mint (or if you are really lucky spearmint) tea. By the way an appropriate tip for the hammam person and masseuse (if you use one) should be in the order of 40 - 50 Dirhams (approx A$5 - $6).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 648JAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The ryad was beautiful!!! Hassan greeted us and tended to everything for us and went out of his way to make us comfortable. Sitting on the rooftop and eating a home cooked meal was a wonderful first night and I suggest after a day of travel to get there, it is a great way to start stress free. Don't be afraid to venture out other nights into the medina, and try the local cuisine! Shopping is incredible. We haggled for rugs, perfume, shoes and leather. Whatever the shop owner starts for price, Hassan says don't pay more than half of original offer. One word to the prudish southern girls like me, if you book hammam at this Ryad, be sure you aren't shy. It involves no clothing and a woman applying mud just about everywhere, so for me a bit awkward.... But the massage was wonderful. Hassan set up a driver for us to travel to Marrakech and see the sites through the mountains- I hugged wild little monkeys in the cedar forest- lifetime moment! - Jared and Pat

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
919 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing