We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ryad Alya is gorgeous, the moment I walked through the door, it was beautiful.”
Review of Ryad Alya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ryad Alya
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
1 review
“Ryad Alya is gorgeous, the moment I walked through the door, it was beautiful.”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

In my vview nobody could ask for more. The interior of the building is really beautiful, the courtyard with the fountain and two tortoises . We stayed in the fez suite with it's large four poster bed and the ceiling detail is gorgeous. The hamman and massage treatments were bliss. The dinner we ate on the evening we arrived was the best food we ate whilst in Fez for 4 days, the breakfasts were also very good. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Basically I cannot find a single fault with this beautiful Ryad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    57
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
283
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

We just stayed one night but would have loved to stay longer! The Ryad is beautifully decorated, looked after and you get excellent service! We had the Meknes Suite which is real luxury with even a painted ceiling, lots of space, a lovely bathroom, a huge comfortable king sized bed, a modern TV etc. Besides there's WiFi, a beautiful courtyard with a fountain and trees inside and the best is the hamam where you get a wonderful relaxing scrub and massage! It's worth it! :0)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodenseegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed in Fez for 3 nights and when I booked this Riad it was ranked #7 in trip advisor. We only stayed in this Riad for one night because I had booked 2 nights in Riad Le Calife which was ranked #1 in trip advisor when I booked. I have to say, Riad Alya was far superior to Riad Le Calife - everything was better: the service, the breakfast, the dinner, the location, the beauty of the Riad, the value, the helpfulness of the staff, the vibe in the Riad - everything. We stayed in the Fez suite which was fantastic. There was one review I read that complained of noise. Of all the Riads we stayed in during our stay in Morocco, we had the best sleep in Riad Alya - absolutely no noise. Thank you to Amine and the rest of the staff. When we return to Fez, we will definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisman_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Ryad Alya is a wonderful riad located within a safe and short walk to the medina. The riad is a beautiful house with a nice roof terrace (overlooking Fes), where we had our breakfast each morning. Our suite, which was called the Rabat Suite was large with all of the amenities that we needed. The flat screen TV had several English channels (could have used more) and the air conditioning worked well and quietly when needed.

But it is the staff that truly make this house a home. They simply cannot do enough for you. Amine at the front desk with whom I did all of the e-mail corresponding and Hatif who served us breakfast and seemed to be there all of the time, were just wonderful. The owner Mr. Filali Khalid, was a very gracious host and obviously took great pride in his riad.

We highly recommend Ryad Alya.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ab0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We recently stayed at Ryad Alya for five nights in the Casablanca Suite. Unlike the earlier review on the Marrakesh Suite, we found the Casablanca suite to be extremely comfortable and quite however we do agree with the noise within the building i.e. when dining on the roof etc. The Cassablanca Suite is fortunate not to back onto the Medina or any external walls so it is lovely and quite. The bathroom is huge with the jacuzzi. Note though that we had an issue with hot water. Once we complained it seemed to be fixed!

We ate at the Ryad on the first night and the chicken tagine was fantastic....so was the soup, but it is expensive at 25 euros per head. We found the breakfast to get very boring after having the same thing for five mornings. The only variety that you get is a different type of greasey bread, but this is the norm for Morocco. The fresh orange juice and the english black tea was good.

The one complaint we do have of the Ryad is of one of the staff members....the Ryad Host. We found him to be ïn your face and over the top". In the end we tried to avoid him just so that we didn't have to put up with his jiberish. We never found that he was able to provide us with useful information. At the time we were in Fes the Jazz Festival was on. We enquired about it with the staff but they didn't know anything.....we found it and it was fantastic. The next day they were asking us about it for other guests. You would think that they would make an effort to know what events are on in town that guests may be interested in seeing.

We ate at the Riad Fes one night and the food was fantastic. It is worth paying the extra money and having a nice meal that you can order what you want rather than a set menu. The Riad Fes is within walking distance to the Ryad Alya.

We did have the Ryad arrange for a guide on our first day in Fes.....we still had him on the last day! We found him to be very good but at times it would have been nice not to always have someone with us! We had our own car which we were able to park nearby at 20DHs per night, in undercover secure parking.

We would recommend this Ryad but we're sure there are better around for the price. It is in a good location on the edge of the Medina with easy access to the New City.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_&_Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

great place to stay, beautifully restored, extremely friendly and helpful staff, this is where you should go when you go to fes!
our room (suite downstairs, fes I think) was very quiet, no noise at all.
the dinner is great! very good kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayshott, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

It is with great sadness that we find ourselves having to write a negative review about our stressful stay at Ryad Alya. We would have much rather reported upon the few positive aspects of the Ryad and chosen not to mention the bulk of the negatives we experienced; however, there are just too many negatives aspects to ignore.

First impressions..........wow! On entering the Ryad from the lane outside one is immediately impressed. From the warm greetings by the staff to the authentic decor and apparent calm of the open courtyard interior, complete with fountain and orange trees the visitor cannot fail to be hopeful of a memorable stay at the Ryad Alya. Well now, our time was memorable but sadly for all the wrong reasons!!

We had planned to stay for seven nights and took particular care when choosing our accommodation. All of the available reviews to us on the Alya were positive. The Marrakech Suite appeared to meet our needs, it is of reasonable proportions and boasts a Madina view. However, along with the Madina view one has the means to experience the unpleasant aspects which accompany such a feature. The 'Hound of the Baskerville' lurks below the window just across the lane from Ryad. During the heat of the day it hides in it's lear conserving energy in silence. Come the cool of the night then it lets the whole area know that it is awake and yes, it continues to do so all night long! Disturbed sleep in the Marrakech Suite is a fact even with ear plugs! Once the darkness descends upon the Madina, the locals like the hound come to life. Children are allowed to enjoy the cool of the night (and I do mean the night not just the evening!) by screaming well into the early hours. The nearby families can chatter, play loud music and enjoy themselves oblivious of those around them. The window also admits the sound of every passing pedestrian, motorcycle, handcart and even the dawn calls of the local cockerels!

While on the subject of windows (and there are a total of four in the Marrakech Suite) the two which overlook the open courtyard allow every sound from the terrace above or open court area below to be funnelled into the suit. While the window in the bathroom not only allows the conversations of those sitting on the roof to intrude, but also the intimate sounds from another suite! If this were not bad enough, this window also allows for the passage of light down into the basement kitchen; however, all of the kitchen sounds and smells invade the suite too! All very unfortunate for those trying to sleep in the Marrakech Suite.

Dinner is served on the terrace directly above the Marrakech Suite. The disturbance to the suite residents in addition to the aforementioned disadvantages are two fold: - 1) The movement of iron tables and chairs upon the tiles of the terrace above echo down throughout the suite constantly between about 1930 - 2230 'ish. 2) As access to the terrace from the basement kitchen is via a staircase which is adjacent to the head of the bed, then the pitter-patter of feet are a regular intrusion and when cutlery was dropped it clattered down the ceramic tile covered stair treads. An early nights sleep was not possible without resorting to ear plugs!

Yet another unpleasant aspect to the bathroom of the Marrakech Suite is the problem of smelly drains. The Ryad might well have only recently been renovated but the artisans who carried out that work omitted one vital aspect when designing the plumbing - 'P' traps! The 'P' trap fills with water from the hand basin and shower and thus prevents the foul smells of the sewer from entering the room. The only way to prevent this overpowering occurrence in the bathroom was to ensure that the plugs were sealing the drains and that water was present to seal the plug!

Another negative observation was that of the laundry service offered by the Ryad Alya. Not only was it found to be expensive by UK standards, but an expensive pair of trousers have been ruined by the use of an over hot iron. The hole left by the burned fabric has now developed into a large tare just above the knee, the trousers have been rendered totally useless as a result! Sadly the damage was not noticed until after we had checked out of the Ryad two days early!

Our original stay through Booking.com was for seven nights but after only five nights of misery we had to forfeit the cost of two unused nights in this Ryad. The three hundred pounds from the original booking plus the cost of two nights at another hotel it a lot to pay for the satisfaction of a good nights sleep! The Ryad staff could not or would not give us any compensation for the lost nights - blaming Booking.com for this fact.

To finish on a positive note: all of the staff who we came into contact with at the Ryad Alya could not have been kinder to us. They were all very gracious, always helpful, never condescending and constantly available with sound advice. It was only thanks to them that we stayed at Ryad Alya as long as we did.

I trust that the reader of this review will draw something helpful from these words even if it is simply to note the shortcomings of the Marrakech Suite. In another room/suite we might well have been able to overlook so many of the negative aspects of Ryad Alya and this review might not have been so explicit in some of those areas. However, we will never return to find out if any of the shortcomings experienced in the Marrakech Suite apply to the other rooms too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aerob13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#8 of 99 in Fes
523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#3 of 99 in Fes
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 99 in Fes
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Alya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Alya

Property: Ryad Alya
Address: 8 Bis Derb El Guebbas, Medina | Medina of Fez, Fes 30030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Alya 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ryad Alya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing