We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We all loved the Dar Bensouda!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We all loved the Dar Bensouda!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

From the moment we were met at the entrance to the Fes medina and guided to the Dar Bensouda, our party of three adults and two children, six and five years old, was made to feel truly welcome. We stepped through the great wooden door into an atmosphere of spaciousness and timelessness, with a wonderful subtle scent of orange blossom in the air and a dignified welcome from the very professional manager. Our rooms were on either side of a splendid courtyard open to the sky and, while they had every modern comfort, had been renovated in such a way that the sense of history was very present. In fact, our six year old liked staying at the Dar Bensouda best of everything on our ten day trip through Morocco! Altogether we all loved the Dar and appreciated the great care with which this historic building has been restored.

Room Tip: The children and their grandmother loved their room with a little staircase up to the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joydunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    73
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
91
306
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

we had booked and paid in advance for 3 nights at Dar Bensouda. However, once we reached Fez, we were told that the riad dar Bensouda was fully booked and and that we had been "upgraded" into another riad. later on, the "upgrade" proved to be a terrible downgrade. at the new place (which wasn't even a riad but a dar), rooms were small, dark and stinky (a problem with sewage system). beds and pillows awful... all we got as recompensation, was a free dinner, although value-wise we had paid around 100 eur per room and night, and the new place was not worth 30 eur. Dar Bensouda itself looks nice, but the way we were treated was definitely not fair and honest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback in trip advisor, I understand your feeling but I need also to clarify some points:
First of all your booking was one day before your checking date and we were already full that’s why I talk to you by phone and I came to meet at BATHA square to take you to the other place(RIAD ALGILA FES(they are RIAD and we are a DAR),when I explain to you the problem you understand it and you told me that you have other friends who are staying in RIAD IDRISSI (RIAD ALGILA FES was closer to RIAD IDRISSI than DAR BENSOUDA), after that I invite for a free dinner in DAR BENSOUDA for 4person(you have a booking of 2double rooms it means 4person) and you were 6person for diner but also I didn’t say nothing because I want you to feel good with us. I came to visit you the day after and you told me that everything’s is ok and you book a 4night directly with them for 90euros/room/night that means that you are satisfied of the place where you are staying.
RIAD ALGILA FES is very well recommended in trip advisor they are number 6 of 84 Riads in FES that why I told you that it was an upgrade and not a downgrade at all.
Your review is the only horrible review that we had in 4years of working hard to satisfy our guest take time and think about this review .the only things that I could say according to all things that I try to do to let you feel welcome and satisfied (that’s not fair). Said
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent three wonderful nights at Riad Dar Bensouda and certainly would give it high recommendations. When you arrive you receive tea and cookies by the wonderful plunge pool in the courtyard that also serves as the place where you eat breakfast and dinner. It is a beautiful area in which to relax after spending time in the medina. Said was very helpful in making arrangements for guides, for dinner, or taking care of any other request. Our room was on the first floor (bathroom up s set of steps) and was amazing. Ceilings were probably 30 feet high and it was designed with local products. The courtyard outside our room was another great place to sit and relax. And then their is the rooftop terrace.... while not "fancy", it had chairs and chaise lounges where you could watch the sunset and talk with other guests -- or simply relax in seclusion.

Breakfasts were very good and the dinner we had there was excellent. The tagines they serve are very tender and well-prepared.

The only drawback is its location. it is in a "residential" area so there are no landmarks to use for navigational purposes, making it imposible to go to the medina without the aid of a guide. If this was located in or closer to the souks, it would have been too good to be true. Having said that, the positives far outweigh this one negative. just be prepared to pay for and tip a guide to go to dinner, etc.

Room Tip: If mobility is an issue, check whether the bedroom and bathroom are on the same floor. Our bath was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlStoltzfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We chose this riad based on many reviews found here. We had booked 5 rooms for our extended family with kids and they were amazing! We had each of the four rooms in the center courtyard and it was such a serene experience. The food was some of the best we had in Morocco. There are so many private and nice spaces that make it feel like you are the only ones there. Absolutely beautiful!

I hesitate to post any pictures because they don't do it justice. The riad has a special feel I cannot describe. It was the most incredible accommodation of our entire trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FishyFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
What a lovely reviews, so gratifying to read it . fantastic, thank for your stay in our riad. You describe Dar bensouda as a magic place, we are moved.
Your review encourages us to do our best to maintain our service quality and even improved
Hope to welcome you in the futur with your family. The best from said and hamid.
Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Riad deserves its very high rating and the staff really were fantastic. We only had breakfast so can't comment on the dining.
BUT BEWARE: Travellers need to be aware of two major negatives. If you book online (at least through lastminute.com) it doesn't include local taxes and services, so you will get a bill for this at the end of your stay. AND
The Riad is located in the heart of the Madina where no cars go....... so you will walk approx 1km from your taxi drop through winding streets/alleys................. you need a guide (which in most cases the hotel will provide ) and it is hilly and hot, so not for the infirm.
Oh, and if it doesn't say so on the blurb...... both our rooms had aircon; a must in August!

Room Tip: We had a junior suite which was excellent but got upgraded to a full suite on last day, which was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear sir, we are glad to received you in Dar Bensouda, and we thank you for choosing our riad.
We have noted the two points "negative" even if we don't agree to the word "negative" For taxes, last minute normally informed that taxes are paid on the spot. for the situation, it's the specificity of the medina and it must be part of the discovery (no car in the old town), but we are available to our guests, to accompany them, or find out if they are lost .. We still hoped that the two points were not negatively affected your impression of our services and have the chance to welcome you again.
Best regards. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

This was by far the best riad we stayed in on our 2 and a half week moroccan adventure. Such a peaceful place to escape to after a day in the Fez medina! The pool area was so lovely and the rooftop terrace had one of the best views of the Fez medina. The staff were so friendly, our room was absolutely amazing, comfortable bed and modern bathroom fixtures (the only accommodation we had in morocco with good water pressure). Although a little out of the main area it was still easy enough to find and the riad staff organised someone to meet us to and from taxis and also said if we ever got lost to call and they would find us. The breakfast was a delicious assortment of crumpets and breads with jams and fruit. We also had a lunch and dinner here which were very good!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heathermcm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear, thank you for your stay in Dar Bensouda, thank you also for having classify our riad, the best during your stay. We hope to receive you soon to descover other’s rooms and bathrooms which are different than your’s.
The best from Dar Bensouda’s team. Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My friend and I really enjoyed staying here. The staff was very accommodating (had someone lead us from Hotel Bartha to the riad, which there is no way we would have found on our own), and the pool area, courtyard, and rooftop were all amazing. Our room looked out into the intricate courtyard, had a beautiful bathroom (I want to model my bathroom after this one!), had air conditioning (very important in Fes in July!), was clean and relaxing. We ate some of our meals here and they were very authentic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nkorpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
We were happy to welcome you and thank you for your stay in our Riad.
We are pleased to know you satisfied with the quality of our service and our staff, we recognize the importance of ensuring our guests a nice atmosphere and it is through quality service and helpful staff, friendly and professional as we manage this task.
To redo your bathroom on the model of our own, we remain at your disposal if you need some information.
We sincerely hoping to see you . greetings from the whole team. Nadia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Address: 14, Zkak El Bgha | Elquettanine, Fes 30202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#7 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing