We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Riad deep in the Fez Medina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Ranked #10 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Traditional Riad deep in the Fez Medina”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2010

Ticks all the boxes in terms of a Moroccan riad. Beautiful building, sensitively restored.
Rooms are simple, but well furnished and finished. The bathrooms are an absolute treat. Breakfast is also delightful and dinner, if you choose to take it, is very Moroccan.
The location is tricky and despite staying nearly a week, and being veterans of the Marrakesh medina, we didn't manage to find our way back to the riad unescourted the entire time - even during daylight. It isn't a problem as the hotel is happy to send someone to find you or you can avail yourself of one of the many helpful young boys who will guide you for a small sum.
My one complaint is that the website claims the riad has a pool and a garden, which would lift them above the standard riad and why we chose to stay there, but these are still in the process of being built and are scheduled to be finished for another three or so months. Check with this with them, if they are important to your trip.
What they don't mention on the website is that wifi is available in the courtyard, but you do need to bring your own laptop/ipad/ipod to access.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicaw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    74
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
92
310
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BCN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

Amazing place to stay.
Really well restored, it offers all comfort of a modern hotel with the personality of a historic building.
Our room was lovely, hardly no decoration, just a few exquisite details here and there to enlarge its beautifulness. White and very clean sheets in a big and comfortable bed. The bathroom is also really clean, big and beautiful, it reminded me of the grain-ksars I saw in Tunisia.
Regarding the food we only had breakfast: warm pancakes, fresh orange juice (delicious), bread, orange marmalade, butter, coffee and milk and fresh fruit (water-melon). You can choose to have it in the inner patio or upstairs in the roof terrace with the magnificent 360º view of the city.
The staff is very helpful, especially Sayid, he is a great manager and very efficient!! He was more than helpful and he made us feel very comfortable at all times, always smiling. Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSALOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Newly restored Riad in the heart of the Medina. Beautifully redone by the folks who own Marrakech Riads, this place will only get better when the pool and new restaurant is completed. Wonderful service from Said, Maria and Ibrahim; excellent booking assistance from Imane. Beautiful suite with adjoining room open to the skies. Only noise is from the birds overhead and the people of Fes going to work, along with the calls to prayer.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WantitGenuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

We were one of the first couples to stay in this riad. The location is fantastic, the interiors are excellent. and the hospitality is beyond awesome!. We love this place and im sure we wil be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaiLakshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

So many riads have been completely restored, losing some of the authenticity. Dar Bensouda is a wonderful mix with an old-world atrium , and updated rooms. Our room was on two-levels with the bathroom on the bottom and the bedroom above.

When we were there, work was still being done on a ground-floor pool and patio. Despite those being incomplete, the existing rooftop deck was nice and it has a great view (it could use a few more lounges). One of the neighbors was evidently a dye workshop and had beautiful skeins of red yarn hung out to dry.

We only ate one meal at the riad, but it was delicious.

It was surprising how helpless we felt in Fes, staying in the heart of the maze-like medina. Although we were fine getting around Marrakech, this was a whole different game. Be sure you're met by someone from the riad or the tourist office – or you're unlikely to find the place. We did cave-in and get a guide for the first day. I'd recommend that.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

It is a gorgeous riad and the manager was lovely. We had originally booked one night in a standard room, which was lovely, but when we wanted to stay a second night it was not free. The prestige room was available but instead he upgraded us to the suite deluxe which was amazing. A beautifully decorated suite, spacious and a nice view of the town from the bedroom window. On the morning we left we had to leave early and they didn't hesitate to make us breakfast very early in the morning. A great place and no doubt you will love it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zmanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

wonderful and friendly place to relax in a hectic city (will probably be even better once the hammam and pool will be open).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_roos_tasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Address: 14, Zkak El Bgha | Elquettanine, Fes 30202, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fes
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Bensouda is an authentic old palace in Fez, transformed into a charming guesthouse. Here you'll find exquisite traditional architecture harmoniously combined with all the comforts of modern accommodation. Dar Bensouda has two beautiful courtyards: the fountain courtyard around which eleven luxurious rooms and suites are arranged and the swimming pool patio with a leafy garden. Each room is individually decorated, air-conditioned, and has an en-suite bathroom with shower. The suites have a bathtub and a relaxing sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Bensouda Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing