We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Travellers Heaven”
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Palais Amani
Ranked #17 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
st michel de llotes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Time Travellers Heaven”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The first time traveller flying over the geometric patterns of olive groves and brilliant green wheat fields of central Morocco before landing can never be prepared for the swift arrival into the middle ages that awaits him/her in Fez Medina.
A discreet door in the narrow alley bustling with shrouded figures, overladen donkeys and running laughing school children opens into a haven of peace and beauty. Mosaic pillars soar through tall lemon trees, a fountain is playing, you are offered mint tea and a warm hand towel. You have arrived in the fairy tale world of Palais Amani...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    48
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
233
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Avoncliff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

brilliantly placed for sorties into the medina conducted -if you are very lucky- by the boss himself who knows and is known by everybody. the building is more than beautiful; the renovation is faultless, with additions guilefully in perfect tone, and all the necessary modern elements in perfect taste.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinancliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was our second stay at Palais Amani. Once again we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in this elegantly stylish boutique hotel, whose every architectural detail of the original riyadh has been meticulously and exquisitely restored. The result is a luxurious hotel combining old world elegance with modern facilities. The staff are without exception charming and helpful and the the standards of service they provide are exceptional. It is an oasis of tranquility in the bustling activity of the Medina

Room Tip: All rooms are very well appointed but if you want to pamper yourself opt for one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Vendres
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Visiting Fès medina is like being in a film. The sights and the sounds which surround you are quite unbelievable. You really have to see it with your own eyes and even then it is dificult to take it all in. This was our second visit to the really beautifully restored Palais Amani. You walk through the door and into the courtyard and there before you are beautiful orange trees and plants, fountains and birds singing. The Accommodation is really of the highest quality with amazing attention to detail. This hotel has been lovingly created by very charming people, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms are extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiePortVendres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

As others have noted, this place is simply fabulous. The mosaic tile decor is spectacular throughout the rooms; the staff is extraordinarily competent and helpful, but it is the food that will keep bringing you back to the hotel every meal--the chef is so inventive and clever with dishes that bring innovative ideas and ingredients to traditional Moroccan cuisine. A wonderful time, overall

Room Tip: The larger suites are well worth it--lots of room, antiques, and places to spread out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine_susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Palais Amani is where you stay if you are looking for a luxurious boutique hotel experience in the heart of the medina. Not as intimate as traditional tourist riads' but better for turbo-boosted pampering.

We stayed in two rooms over the New Year 2011 into 2011. Our first room was small-ish and very comfortable – adjacent to the breakfast terrace. We then moved to the completely over-the-top Grande Suite which was...well, what can you say about a room that could be used a tennis court and still feel intimate and comfortable? We walked in and spent 10 minuted running around trying to discover the various en-suite dressing rooms, bathrooms and wardrobes. This suite is seriously grand.

The food is great, the roof-top bar fantastic for sipping a cocktail whilst gazing out over the city and all the staff are amazing. Kriselda and Sonia will probably be your main contacts – they work extremely hard to make sure you feel part of a very pampered family.

Go on, treat yourself!

Room Tip: Grande Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveMusicBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Our family of four adults stayed at the grand suite of Palais Amani for four nights in December 2011. We loved all aspects of the hotel - the building is authentically renovated and beautifully decorated to give guests the unique Fes experience without compromising the comfort; the grand suite where we stayed was luxurious and comfortable; the staff were friendly, informative and helpful. They arranged transportation, customised guided tours and special meals with efficiency and to our satisfaction; the roof top breakfasts, the cozy candlelit dinners in the restaurant and the Moroccan tea in between were all served with a smile, and spoilt us thoroughly; the hammam was relaxing and we appreciated the privacy; and above all, the location within the medina was perfect for the ultimate Fes experience. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel/riad to others. We would love to stay in Fes and Palais Amani again.

Room Tip: The grand suite, which is beautifully decorated with local arts and crafts, generously accomodated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#15 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le Calife
Riad Le Calife
#2 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Property: Palais Amani
Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Fes
#11 Family Hotel in Fes
#13 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing