We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic”
Review of Palais Amani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palais Amani
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a sophisticated hotel with a great staff. The only reason I didn't give it an Excellent rating is because of its location. It's in the medina, but away from the centrally located cafés and restaurants of the Bab Bou Jeloud ( Blue Gate) area. We took cabs there, however, as it's only about 5 minutes away by car.
The rooms are elegant, with special touches like complimentary babouches (colorful leather slippers.) When I told the front desk there was an odor in our room, we were immediately upgraded to a beautiful suite. The staff is extremely accommodating - everything was about making us happy.
Breakfast is big and delicious and is served in a restaurant overlooking a gorgeous courtyard. It's a great way to start a day in Fes! There's a tiny roof top bar with a cool decor, where we loved having a night cap after a long day of touring.
Palais Amani is a chic boutique hotel that understands what great service is all about.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulunolu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014
Google Translation

Nous sommes toujours à l'écoute de notre clients
quelle que soit de la langue ou le service.
Merci pour votre intérêt portez à notre Palais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Palais Amani when we were visiting Fes in late February. We enjoyed our time at the riad. They spoke English and were able to help us with any questions. The location is only down side but then again most Riads are difficult to find in Fes. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoFan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014
Google Translation

bonjour,
Absolument, en raison de l’antique architecture des rues
de la médina, ce n'est pas facile de trouver le chemin.
Cependant, fez médina où le Palais Amani est situé
c'est un endroit extraordinaire plein de choses intéressant
à découvrir. également notre hôtel aimerait de vous accueillir
une autre fois. Merci et à la prochaine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had 6 nights at Palais Amani.

Staff wonderful, great location in heart of medina very close to top sights. But the main thing is it is so tranquil and peaceful.

We can relate to comments regarding noise, but once we commented staff turned off music which we didn't hear again for length of our stay. Also there are great big timber doors which you can close over at night in front of glass doors and we heard nothing through them, even sleeping in late a few mornings.

We did great cooking class with chef Hassan and my wife loved the hamman and massage.

Staff arranged different restaurants for us for 4 of the nights (we ate in the Palais the other nights). Great variety and first class In each case. If hard to find in medina, some one guided us each way every time.

Loved it.

Room Tip: If you really want quiet ask for room on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi,
It was a great pleasure to had a guest like you
for a such long period. thank you
and have a good time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel with a superb staff, a great owner but with certain flaws that you need to be away of:

- The hotel is rather loud. The glass doors to the patio do not block any sound, so you can listen to staff' and guests' conversation as well as to noise of the hotel's air conditioning system which seemed to be installed in our wall (room 3). Fortunately, although it was after midnight, the staff found a solution for us and we were able to switch rooms.

- The wifi is horrible. I can understand a bad internet connection since the hotel can only get what the telecom companies offer, but the wifi itself is the hotel's responsibility and as such I can only recommend getting a big, big upgrade on the current system (two routers for the entire hotel. only decent connection in the lobby). For me a big no-no

- If you promise a TV and a safe in your rooms, I expect to have them in my room. Two of the rooms our group stayed at did not have a TV, one did not have a safe

Room Tip: Dont get room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTravel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Propriétaire at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent palais amani experience.
I completely agree with you on your appreciation of our staff : they are what makes palais Amani so special. Yet again they have proved it by making your time with us as enjoyable as possible with an after midnight room change and a complimentary upgrade you to a suite as you were unhappy with your room.
We do our utmost to make sure our clients' time is positive.
I only partially agree with you on your appreciation of our internet connection. We are completely dependent on the national internet provider. That combined with being installed in a medieval labyrinth makes the power less efficient than one may be used to in Europe and the States.
I differ in your appreciation of our router system. (Many more than two routers...) We have the most powerful router system already in place in the hotel, and I agree, the access can be sporadic, affected by the weather etc.
But the beauty of the palais amani is that it is a tranquil place to unwind and, dare I say it, disconnect momentarily at least from the hyper connectivity of our contemporary lifestyle...
I like to think that despite the criticism, you and your friends were able to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This review is long overdue. The Palais Amani was a wonderful experience. Stayed here for three weeks on business in Oct 2013. First and foremost, the staff are wonderful-- very attentive, warm smiles and helpful. The accommodations can't be beat; it is a true oasis in the heart of the Medina.

I hope to return someday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogue_Gent_612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Responsable relations clients at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you it's a pleasure
the Plaias Amani's staff also missing you
it will be great to meet you and welcoming you
once again. we don't know we may meet someday
if you are here in a vacation or business
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Palais Amani is a lovely peaceful sanctuary in the middle of the craziness of Fes. It is well maintained, spacious and very comfortable. Our room (#7) on the 2nd floor (one above the garden) was very large and we felt like royalty. The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable. For western standards, the bed is quite hard but the staff quickly made it up with extra padding which was very nice. The breakfast and dinner was also very tasty (Dar Roumana is allegedly the best restaurant in town but we thought Amani was better). You will likely need a guide to help you around Fes - a word to the wise, however, our guide, recommended by the hotel, while knowledgeable, seemed to have his hand in all the merchants' pockets. We actually understood enough French to hear him discussing a kickback with a shop owner. Tell your guide to not leave your side in any of the stores or else you'll be given a very uncomfortable sale push.

Room Tip: Room 7 was lovely and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Palais Amani over Valentine's weekend and we could not have asked for a more magical time. I usually don't write reviews because I'm used to receiving the expected good/great service from most hotels but this time it was above and beyond exceptional. So many small nuances made the trip extra special, from the complimentary mint teas to reoccurring roses/ rose petals, tokens in forms of sugary sweets and small notes with charming messages magnified the already incredible attentiveness from the staff. The hotel itself is gorgeous with plenty charisma and style, the breakfasts are vast and delicious and no detail is left unnoticed. We enjoyed a fantastic hammam and the hotel booked us a trip with an incredibly knowledgable tour guide who made the maze of the medina along with souvenir transactions effortless. A+ for the whole trip, rarely do vacations go flawlessly but this one went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louminousflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palaisfes, Guest Relations Manager at Palais Amani, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Extra special trip.. Awesome. so if you
have a chance to come here for another
time you will find some new services and
new surprises. all Palais Amani staff
wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.7 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Sahrai
Hotel Sahrai
#17 of 100 in Fes
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.5 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#4 of 100 in Fes
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palais Amani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Amani

Address: 12 derb El Miter | Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Fes
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fes
#11 Family Hotel in Fes
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £125 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais Amani 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An opulent Riad, conveniently situated net to the major cultural and historical attractions in the ancient medina of Fez. The largest working riad in the ancient city, Palais amani has fourteen bedrooms, nine of which are suites that allow the guests to each have a unique Riad experience and the personal attention that they deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, MrandMrsSmith, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palais Amani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Amani Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing