We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Layali Fes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riad Layali Fes
Ranked #66 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I stayed in Layali riad for 2 nights and had a wonderful time. The rooms were ultra-spacious over 2 floors and were lavishly decorated. The hosts were welcoming and took care of us very well. Breakfast was sufficient and our vegetarian dinner was quite good too. The entire atmosphere / ambience was like a closely knit family. In all, if we were to return to Fes, we would definitely stay here once more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venkat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    35
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Staff are just great, they are very friendly, hrlpful and welcoming, perfect location close to madina and at the same time away from it's noise, good breakfast, great dinner if you wanted to try typical moroccon food.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

People very friendly. The place is nice, but I have to admit, the pictures are actually better than the real thing. Located at a short walking distance from a little square/round-about, you need not worry about getting mugged or losing your way once you get off a "petit taxi."

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

While the room was lovely and comfortable it was on the roof reached by over 60 steep twisting steps so you need to be fit. couldn't pop down to the pool area etc. without serious thought or if something was wrong with the room. Breakfast was poor and could only be classed as continental.

Asked for pick up service and was met by a driver AND guide who was not best pleased when we explained we did not require a guide. An uncomfortable start to our visit to Fes

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable relations clients at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Google Translation
cher hôte, nous sommes désolés que vous ayez peiné pour accéder à votre chambre en terrasse. Notre riad est traditionnel et ne donne accès aux étages que par des escaliers. Tout le descriptif est donné sur notre site internet avec des photos de la situation. Pour les hôtes qui le souhaitent nous avons deux suites au rez de chaussée qui donnent sur le patio collectif.
Notre petit déjeuner est traditionnel avec jus d'orange pressé le jour même, crêpes et pains marocains divers, confitures, miel, fromage, boissons diverses sur commande:thé, café, lait . Vous pouvez aussi demander fruits, oeufs et laitages.
Nous ne sommes pas responsables des rencontres que vous pouvez faire en dehors du riad et nous vous recommandons toujours des guides et chauffeurs officiels qui suivent notre policy envers les clients. n'hésitez pas à dialoguer avec nos équipes pour bien exprimer votre besoin.
Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires trés utiles. Le Riad Layali Fes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the Riad Layali on our recent trip to Fes in March, we picked this Riad as it had some great reviews on tripadvisor and we were not disappointed the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The Riad is very traditional and beautifully finished inside with superb views from the rooftop terrace of the medina and the surrounding area. the rooms are very spacious, we had the suite alcazar as there were three of us which comprised of a four poster bed with a large lounge area, and a seperate single bedroom on a upper floor. The riad offer a pick up service from the airport which although is a little more expensive that a taxi it takes you straight to the door. Breakfast was good, a simple Moroccan affair of local breads, jams, honey and pancakes. If you are visiting Fes I would throughly recommend staying at the Riad Layali

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Riad is nice, with beautiful tiles downstairs, some spacious suites and good double room on the roof. We had a pleasant stay, which was unfortunately spoilt on the last day. We'd asked for a taxi at 7.00 and they's offered us breakfast, But unfortunately we got neither. And we could not leave to get another taxi as the front door was locked (we'd paid everything the day before).
So, I recommend this place but do make sure you can leave in the early morning.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable relations clients at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Google Translation
Cher hôte, pour vous informer que nous avons bien pris en compte vos remarques et qu'avec les départs, de plus en plus fréquents, tôt le matin, des compagnies aériennes nous nous sommes mieux organisés pour les "early departure". Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires qui nous permettent de nous améliorer. Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un agréable séjour dans notre maison. Le Riad Layali Fes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

Fes was our last stop in Morocco, and we stayed in hotels in Marrakech and Casablanca. I was concerned we would be roughing it at a Riad, but au contraire! The Riad Layali is not only modern and beautiful, but a memoriable Morocco experience .

The taxi driver called the Riad to get directions, and we were dropped off at parking area near a school. A young man met us and led us through a narrow medina street to a large wooden door. Once inside, we were astonished by the beautifully restored residence.

Our room was on the main floor in the Suite Al Bassatine. The room was HUGE, with all the modern conveniences including satelite TV with a couple of english-speaking news channels - France 24 and Al-Jezeera; a working refrigerator (the ones at the hotels didn't work); hair dryer, etc.

The continental breakfast was served in the courtyard and included beghrirs (honeycomb pancakes), breads, jams, cheese and fresh orange juice. The coffee and hot milk were delicious. The courtyard roof opens and closes, depending upon the temperature. We traveled in late November, and it was 70 degrees during the day and chilly at night, so the roof was usually opened in the late morning.

The staff is very gracious, friendly and helpful. All you need to do is ask, and they will try to accommocate your needs.

We paid 90 euros per night, and it was well worth it. We highly recommend the Riad Layali.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freedomtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Layla
Riad Layla
#26 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Salam Fes
Riad Salam Fes
#25 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#28 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Fes Baraka
Riad Fes Baraka
#27 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layali Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layali Fes

Property: Riad Layali Fes
Address: 16 bis Derb Bennis | Douh Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layali is a guest house located in the heart of the historic Medina of Fez. Riad Layali offers a true haven of peace thanks to its thoughtful hospitality and its magical setting. Decorated in the most authentic Moroccan tradition, the Riad offers you six generous suites and two comfortable rooms. An Authentic, warm and personalized welcome awaits you at Riad Layali, where you will experience a feeling of well-being and tranquillity. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing