We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to rest in the Medina”
Review of Riad Layali Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Layali Fes
Ranked #76 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Riad Layali with our friends while visiting Fes and its surroundings. This Riad is a real heaven, beautifully renovated, keeping the authenticity of the moroccan riads: the blue colours of Fes, the mosaics etc… It is sometimes shown by city guides as an example of a "traditional Riad". The roof top/terrace has a great view over the Medina, you can rest there in the shade or in the sun. There is a small pool in the patio for a quick dip at the end of the hot days and you can also use the hamman of the Riad if you want.
We stayed in the bigger suite of the Riad - it had a second bedroom with twin beds. It felt like staying in a flat really. The bed was very comfortable, we had two large moroccan sofas, one large table/chairs and all the equipments we needed. I had the possibility to visit some of the other suites and they all have a very generous size with a sofa/table corner and a very nice decoration.
The staff in the hotel is very friendly and Malika is a very good cook! We had amazing moroccan biscuits served with the traditional mint tea, great couscous and tajines, very generous breakfasts etc. We felt like home directly.
I highly recommend this Riad for a stay in Fes!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsaWahle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable réception at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hello
A big thank you for the review you've written.
It is always such a pleasure to know that you enjoyed every single moment in our Riad.
We do our best to keep the traditional history of the Medina through our decoration and we're very happy that you felt like in "heaven" with us.

Hope to see you soon
Wish you the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved Riad Layali Fes! The hotel AND the people who work there are just the BEST! I actually couldn't say enough great things about Riad Layali Fes. The place itself is beautiful, with a great roof deck as well. I stayed with a friend of mine there for 3 nights while enjoying Fes. We had dinner there one night - and would definitely recommend the tajine! The service is always friendly and they truly care.

We arrived on a day when it was absolutely pouring rain. Our clothes were soaked and covered in mud. The staff there offered to wash and dry it for us, free of charge. Additionally, on our last day, we had a train leaving Fes for Marrakech that departed at 2:30am. We didn't want to stay at the train station during those hours, so we asked if we could stay in the lobby/common area. The owner (who is Moroccan but lives in Paris) happened to be there during our stay. Instead of staying in the lounge area, she insisted on putting us up in one of the suites, free of charge, citing that she had children our age and would never want her kids at the train station that time of night! She arranged a chauffeur for us to pick us up at 2am and bring us to the train station (20 euros).

The warmth and hospitality there, as well as the facilities, are top notch - I'd only stay there the next time I go back to Fes! The location is great, about 10 minutes from Bab Boujloud and the start of the markets, and 20-25 from the tanneries.

The tea and cookies are also top notch there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable réception at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Wow !
Wha a pleasure and pride reading your comment.
It is always for us a real pleasure to read that our customer spent really a good time in our Riad.
Nice to notice that our service and hospitality wera appreciated by you; our guest comfort is our main goal.

Hoping to see you soon or later around some cup of tea.

Wish you the best to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a beautiful 2 storey room, but if the outside windows were open it could be quite noisy until well into the evening. They have a rooftop terrace with a good view. Wifi was free but very poor quality,

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadlayalifes, Responsable réception at Riad Layali Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Rodney,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de laisser un commentaire.
Nous somme heureux que vous ayez apprécié la qualité de la chambre et la vue magnifique depuis la terrasse.
Nous avons noté le souci de connexion Wifi dont vous faites part et nous vous remercions de votre retour afin de réaliser les travaux nécessaires en partenariat avec notre fournisseur d'accès.

A très bientot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pros:
Beautiful rooms, lobby, everything
Large rooms
Beautiful terrace
Not the best food of the trip, but not terrible

Cons:
One room had a staircase up to the bathroom
One thing to keep in mind about staying the the medina is that it is difficult to navigate around on your own.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Do not be deceived from the outside. This Riad is beautiful. Our room was very comfortable and large, much bigger than you would expect. Had my best undisturbed sleep in years. Staff are all friendly and food is good. Took many pictures of the architecture and decor. Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The room with the orange key tassel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wearnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed in Riad Layali for two nights while visiting Fez earlier this month. The Riad is fabulous, spacious and clean — the latest is probably the most important thing to me when it comes to choosing a hotel, so I was pleasantly surprised. The Riad also has a nice rooftop terrace that showcases a panoramic view of the city which is especially beautiful at night. Our room, located on the second floor, had actually two levels. The bedroom was on the first level and a large bathroom was on the second (we were just fine with that, but it might concern travelers with kids).

The location of the Riad was about a 10 minute stroll to "The Blue Gate” — the main entry to Fez Medina. We did manage to get lost several times before memorizing the road but as fas as I know it happens with almost every tourist in Fez.

Overall it was a wonderful experience. Big thanks to the staff at the Riad for their hospitality and responsiveness, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yhalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

After many days of traveling around Morocco, we were excited when we walked into this tradition immaculate Riad. Staff was welcoming with mint tea and cookies in a gorgeous sitting room. Then they lead us up to the rooftop suite and we were blown away with our room. We wanted to stay in this room forever. The bed was very comfortable, room was spacious and clean, and bathroom was large. We had a guide and a car which was most helpful in finding the Riad and getting around. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the rooftop terrace and it was extremely spacious, wonderfully comfortable bed, el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 409funtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ibis Fes
Ibis Fes
#58 of 100 in Fes
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layali Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layali Fes

Address: 16 bis Derb Bennis | Douh Batha, Fes 30200, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Layali is a guest house located in the heart of the historic Medina of Fez. Riad Layali offers a true haven of peace thanks to its thoughtful hospitality and its magical setting. Decorated in the most authentic Moroccan tradition, the Riad offers you six generous suites and two comfortable rooms. An Authentic, warm and personalized welcome awaits you at Riad Layali, where you will experience a feeling of well-being and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Layali Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing