We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“second stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar el Yasmine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar el Yasmine
Ranked #24 of 209 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“second stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This riad is well located close to all the main attraction of Fes. Not far from the Blue Gates, local shops and restaurants are always nearby with locals always happy help. What really appeals to me about the riad is the staff and lengths they would go to to make your stay a pleasant and memorable experience. Everything we asked for they accommodated and this was the main reason why I stayed here for the second time on my visit to Fes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo2u2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    64
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
33
92
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay in Fes at Dar el Yasmine. The two Mohammed's are welcoming, helpful and hilarious. The breakfast here is delicious and there is plenty of it. The roof terrace is lovely and the perfect place to hear the call to prayer. The hostel provided other services such as washing, which was free! They also were great to book our Sahara Desert experience through. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleighjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The two Mohammeds are by far the best part of this hostel. They were very welcoming and we had mint teas and chat with them before going to our room. We got the deluxe ensuite room, the only one left on short notice, and it was alright. The room was huge, the beds were pretty hard (which seems normal for Morocco to be fair) and the bathroom was spacious but smelly and not that clean (seems common in Fez though). Compared to our other stays in Morocco it wasn't cheap, so we were mildly disappointed by the not-so-clean surroundings. Roof terrace was alright, nothing special, and was located right above our room. This meant every time someone was up there you could hear them pretty loudly, especially walking up and down the stairs. Overall, not terrible, especially not for younger travellers who don't expect a high level of cleanliness, but there are definitely better places to stay in Fez.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mettemj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Decent place to stay. The breakfast was good, the owners were helpful. Only a couple of issues(as stated in other reviews). First being that the bathroom was very damp (no shower curtain either).

My bigger issue is that we felt pressured to take a "historical tour" of Fez from their friend/guide. This tour was ok, but we were taken all over the city to different stores and pressured to buy things. The pressure was very odd as an American, with people saying "Don't you want to help these poor artists?" and things of that nature. I bought something just to be left alone. When we wanted to end the tour early because it was pouring rain, the guide was not happy (probably because he wanted us to buy more crap).

Other than the tour, it was a pretty good experience.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Appealing place in the medina a few minutes walk from Bab El Jeloud. We arranged a well organised pick-up from the airport at a fair price and were greeted by friendly faces. Our room was quite big, on the 2nd floor with air-conditioning, the bathroom was just a little damp. Breakfast was good, served in the beautiful lobby. Overall extremely good value. Dar El Yasmine was a nice introduction to Moroccan hospitality.

PS to Katiu123, of course I don’t agree with the aggression you claim you experienced, but it’s quite unfair to book 2 riads knowing you’ll drop one at the last minute. They kept a room (their livelihood!) free for you. When we booked we were informed of their 24h cancellation policy so you should really have paid the first night in full. If lots of people thought it OK to act like you do, no-one would take reservations!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stinaandjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My friend and I were traveling through fes, and made reservations in two separate hostels. We decided we didn't want to stay at Yasmine because it was empty. We paid a deposit, but the owner (Muhammed) said he had to pay for the room even though we weren't staying there. He threatened to call the touristic police, which we agreed to, but he called his business partner instead. Who came up to us screaming, and started shoving my friend saying "the only way you'll get past me is if you kill me!", and "I'll break your face".
We were so appauled and pretty freaked out. I strongly recommend you do NOT stay here, it is DANGEROUS!
They held us there for two hours because we didn't agree to pay for a stay we weren't going to be there for. This type of situation is not common in morocco, but it is very scary. I can't say enough, do NOT stay here!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katiu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darelyasmine, Manager at Dar el Yasmine, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi
as we Always Say in Dar el yasmine ,No is Perfect ,But sometimes when you try to help some people,they do the Oposit for you ,
The Guest she wrote this Comment ,she Doesn't have Reservation in Dar el yasmine ,In That Day we had a Reservation for 3 people ,they Came from chefchaouen (other city in Morocco) by taxi they call me to pick up them from the Parking near the Main Gate ,when i reach there i meet the Guest and she was with them in the same car ,and she Asked me if a Have Room Available ,a said ,No But the room they have it's big and Can fit all of you ,if they want ,when we reach they had a Tea ,i Give them the room ,they stay for few time ,she used the wifi and she contact her Hotel and shes said that she want to leave,Because sha already have a reservation in other place , ,and she will lose My deposit ,I said No Problem ,since she doesn't have a Booking in our place ,one of the 3 Guest He Said i want to Go with her ,i Told him you have Reservation ,and you Alread check you Need to pa,He Said i Don't Make the reservation it's Not by My name,My friends do it ,i Told him That he should be responsable ,
after a long Conversation ,i Let him go and i Didn't Charge Him anything(he Asked to Give me some money ,But i didn't Axcept ) ,I Told him that the problem not of Money ,But i want him to Be RESPONSABLE ,Because we as all the Accommodation we safer from the Reservation they Don't Show ,
Notice :
as I Already Said the Guest she wrote this Comment Doesn't Have Booking ,and when I was Talking with the Guest who have Reservation ,she Tried to Be Part in The conversation ,and I Asked her if i Can Talk Private with the Guest who have Reservation ,Since i Didn't Ask Her to pay anything ,and Of Course That's Make her Angry May be ,
Notice also that's the 2 Friends of the guest who left they stay in Dar el yasmine .
Anyway we Just try to Explain what's Happen Cause we don't want People to have a Wrong Idea About Us ,
You are all Welcome,in Dar el yasmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is an excellent value for money riad. The riad is located in the centre of Fes – within the old Medina. The riad is beautiful with good sized, air conditioned bedrooms which have an ensuite.

The staff are very friendly and as we arrived very early in the morning before we could check into our room we were given a different bedroom to use for a few hours where we could shower and sleep for a few hours.

We slept on the second floor which was completely quiet. I would definitely recommend staying here in Fes.

Room Tip: Stay on the first or second floor for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAdventurer89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Verus
Riad Verus
#35 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison Adam
Maison Adam
#31 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Rocco
Riad Rocco
#13 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#27 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#3 of 209 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#51 of 209 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar el Yasmine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar el Yasmine

Property: Dar el Yasmine
Address: talla sghira derb ahl tadla No34, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar el Yasmine 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
dar el yasmine is a charming traditional building from the 17th centry located in the heart of the old medina of fes,in the main street talaa sghira near the main entrace Bab boujloud ,dar el yasmine is a small guest house with 6 rooms air conditioner and private bathroom ,in addition to beautiful roof terrasse with tent and view of the medina .dar el yasmine can help you to organize many activitiess. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar el Yasmine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing