We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a pleasure...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Salam Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Salam Fes
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a pleasure...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

When we arrived and walked through the front door into the main reception area we were amazed at the beauty of the Riad. The attention to all the detail in the building is magnificent.Our suite was so spacious and the ensuite bathroom very large with excellent bathroom products.. Karim and his staff looked after us with charm and graciousness..our breakfasts taken on the roof restaurant were delicious and the dinners at night just lovely. Our stay at Riad Salam was certainly one of our highlights of Morocco.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    111
    30
    14
    16
See reviews for
69
152
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Marrakech’s Palais Bahia is listed in Lonely Planet as one of the most beautiful palaces in Morocco.It’s zellig tiles, coloured glass,fine woodwork and painted ceilings are in fact quite attractive.

However ,compared to Riad Salam in Fes,the Palais Bahia is a poor second best! Really ! No kidding! Our whole group of twelve share that unexpected opinion.

Add to that a very friendly welcome by manager Karim and his staff and some of the finest Moroccan cuisine we’ve ever had the pleasure to enjoy ( BBQ chicken and mutton kebabs, kofta, tagines of chicken or lamb with prunes and almonds or with dates and onions, couscous in various forms, lamb and olive tagines ,harira (bean soup) ,chorba (vegetable soup) cooked salads, beetroot salads, eggplant “caviar”, chicken pastillas ( a marvelous phylo - style pastry stuffed with chicken and almonds) etc. etc.

The bill was no higher than any outside restaurant.

For accommodation, it’s true that Riad Salam is one of the most expensive Riads in Fes – but it’s worth every centime. If you want to splurge and spend a few nights in a genuine palace, this is the place to choose

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had a wonderful suite with views - but our favorite place for eating and relaxing was on the patio with sweeping views of the Medina and surrounding area. The staff was attentive and very helpful. The service and food was excellent. The Riad is near the Bab Bou and we easily found our way into the Medina for shopping and eating. I recommend staying at Riad Salam Fes for a true Moroccan Medina experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room on the top floor for the best views if you don't mind the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deadenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Everything about our stay was excellent. We had a wonderful suite that opened onto the courtyard and also had two outside facing windows - excellent for the cross breeze. The staff at the riad are very warm and attentive but not at all intrusive. Upon arrival, someone was there to meet us at the entrance to the medina and lead us to the riad. They also arranged a petit taxi and carried our bags out for us on the morning we left. The breakfasts were very good and the fresh squeezed orange juice is a MUST! We arranged for dinner at the riad one night and though it's a bit pricy, it was more food than we could eat and it was delicious! The room and the bathroom were very spacious and very clean, and the entire place is beautifully decorated.

Take your breakfasts and afternoon mint tea on the terrace. It is shady and cool and a wonderful place to sit and relax and take in the Fez Medina.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

This is without a doubt the best Raid\Guest house I have ever stayed in. The attention to detail can not be surpassed. From the very moment you walk throught the Raid you are made to feel as a VIP.

The breakfast was both very varied, quality the best I have had in Morocco and the quantity will keep you going for a few hours..no expense spared.

Your every need is catered for, the resturant is a bit on the expensive side, but none the less still very enjoyable.

Undergoing an extension but they take the guest request into consideration. i.e start work late and quietly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olu O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Everything about this Moroccan managed riad is very nice but it lacks the attention to details that you find in European managed riads - eg ambient music and lighting.  Also I believe I slept in either the kids' room or a dressing room converted into a twin bedroom because of a locked secondary door leading to what seemed to be a much larger room next door.  My small room felt claustrophobic with its one little window.  My room was crammed with so much useless furniture - no safe in the room but it had a flat screen tv with satellite dish box.  My bathroom was larger than the room.  They use liquid soap instead of bar soap but no wash towel or floor mat - cold tile floors.  I could hear people in other room using toilet!  Very good Moroccan breakfast in their beautiful rooftop restaurant. And the staff was extra nice and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Long time listener, first time caller. I have never actually felt the need to review any place I have stayed, either positively or negatively. Until now. Our flight from Casablanca to Fes was delayed several hours and we eventually arrived at Riad Salam Fes at 1:30 am. Notwithstanding this, Karim and his outstanding staff arranged airport transfers, fed us dinner (try the lemon chicken!), gave us sweet mint tea and helped us decompress after our journey.
The riad is like a small boutique hotel with a close family feeling - everyone there is is extremely kind. The building was renovated over a 5 year period with attention to traditional detail: beautiful mosaic, stucco, work cedar and bronze fittings. It is quite magnificent. The restaurant on-site is outstanding, serving traditional Moroccan fare. The hammam and massages are also to be recommended. Karim set us up with a guide to the medina and surrounds. If ever you require a guide to the Fes Medina (or indeed anywhere in Morocco) insist on Nabil Kharroubi. He is very knowledgeable and speaks English, French, Spanish, Portuguese and Italian.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phenoform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.2 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 98 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#8 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Palais Amani
Palais Amani
#19 of 98 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Salam Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Salam Fes

Property: Riad Salam Fes
Address: 18 Berb Bennis, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 98 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Salam Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True inspiration Moorish temple located in the heart of one of the four imperial cities of Morocco which is the Medina of Fez (classified as a historic monument by UNESCO).Baudelaire seems to have been inspired by this haven of peace ("Salam" in Arabic), with its crystal atmosphere fountains, mosaics, marble and stucco seem to have fixed the size of the Moroccan ancient arts.Beauty, quiet, luxury and pleasure are awaiting you as an invitation to a journey through time that will take you to the splendors of the Moroccan richest heritage.Hammam, Culinary Arts, Massage ... Let yourself be won by this festival of senses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Salam Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing