We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Salam Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Salam Fes
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“gorgeous environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent two nights in this stunning riad. This really felt like a large Moroccan home. The tile and dark woods lent a touch of cultural mystery. Our room was comfortable with a large carved wooden headboard. The tile and copper fittings in the bathroom were over the top. We had a small balcony overlooking the indoor pool which was rich with ambiance in the night.
The service was excellent with a delicious breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    117
    31
    14
    17
See reviews for
78
157
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This was our only bad experience during what was otherwise an amazing holiday experience in Morocco. The decor of this old building is truly stunning but that is about it I'm sorry to say. We had 4 people in one large room staying for 2 nights but beds were very hard and uncomfortable, the fridge so noisy that it had to be turned off at night and the air conditioning was either freezing cold or had to be turned off. Worst of all, we had no hot water the whole stay and the water pressure was so poor that there was barely a dribble coming out of the shower head. I requested hotel staff to fix the cold water/pressure problem the first afternoon, asked again twice the following day and was told each time it would be fixed. By the time we checked out early on day 3 it still hadn't been fixed. When I asked for a €50 discount on our €300+ room bill I was told by 'Fadwa' at reception that a discount was not possible. When I refused to pay the full amount and we rang our tour guide, he was told in Arabic that we must have broken the shower on purpose to get a discount!!! Some other guests we met also had problems when they tried to pay by credit card and were told that only cash was acceptable. This was even though I was able to pay my €300 bill by credit card without any issues... Not good!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heltonville, IN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in this Riad April15 & 16, 2013. The decor was beautiful and the rooms were spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were very clean. It is in a nice location. We had dinner there our last evening in Fes. It was very overpriced although the food was very good. We offered to pay at the time of service but were told we could pay at checkout. After we returned to our room and were in bed we received a phone that we needed to pay for our meal now. Someone had to change back into clothes and go down (and back up) a very long flight of stairs. While paying this outrageous price for dinner, she was told that we would not get breakfast as it would not be starting until after we checked out. This was not true-we did get a breakfast before leaving the next morning. Some of the staff were OK but some were not. We had much better service in other Riads in Morcocco which is too bad as this was such a beautiful place. It left a bad impression on all three of us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The place is like a Moroc home, which of course it was. You can walk all over the medina, and if you don't get lost, you will enjoy all of Fes from here. All the basics, bed, shower, location, privacy are excellent. The meals are truly good! Go and enjoy!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a group of 11 and stayed 2 nights. The location was central and not far from the medina. The suites were traditional Moroccan, tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had breakfast by the courtyard pool and the food was excellent. I can recommend this riad highly to anyone holidaying in Fes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakey3363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central District, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed here with 14 other friends for a reunion and tour of Morocco. The hotel was charming and a real oasis amongst the narrow streets of Fes. When you walk in off the street, to come into this magnificently decorated hotel is fantastic. The rooms were all clean and none of my entourage had any problems or cause for complaint. I would very much recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLS9966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

The staff appeared at times a little overworked and our room was accessable up a narrow flight of stairs, but otherwise this was an excellent and impressive riad. The architecture and decore of the interior courtyard and pool was stunning. The food was excellent albeit a little slow in coming. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again and recommend it to others. Our stay was enjoyable and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynot00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Algila Fes
Algila Fes
#13 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#26 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Salam Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Salam Fes

Property: Riad Salam Fes
Address: 18 Berb Bennis, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Salam Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True inspiration Moorish temple located in the heart of one of the four imperial cities of Morocco which is the Medina of Fez (classified as a historic monument by UNESCO).Baudelaire seems to have been inspired by this haven of peace ("Salam" in Arabic), with its crystal atmosphere fountains, mosaics, marble and stucco seem to have fixed the size of the Moroccan ancient arts.Beauty, quiet, luxury and pleasure are awaiting you as an invitation to a journey through time that will take you to the splendors of the Moroccan richest heritage.Hammam, Culinary Arts, Massage ... Let yourself be won by this festival of senses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Salam Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing