We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo”
Review of Riad Salam Fes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Salam Fes
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Amazing tile mosaics all over. So beautiful, great, genuine attention to detail in the architecture. Simply beautiful. Extremely relaxing atmosphere. Staff always helpful, fair. Food excellent, generous. Rooms ( we stayed in Suites Marrakech and Tanger at the second floor) big, clean, gracefully decorated. Hammam and massage the cherry on the cake.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank simonar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Very nice lobby and magnificent tile work greets you but that's were it ends. The rooms are dated and in need of some serious cleaning. Bathroom floor/shower walls need washing, carpets need vacuuming and the whole room needs dusting. They could use better quality/newer sheets, towels and furniture. Our fist room had a sewer problem. The smell from the sewer came through all connected drains and engulfed the room with a horrible stench. Our second room, had old carpets, was small and probably never had been deep cleaned. The staff was helpful but they were very short handed - with one person administering and the other taking care of everything else it's a miracle that they were able to handle as many guest as they had. A change in management and a little investment could make this a great riad in Fes - until then find somewhere else to stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank mytravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riadsalamf1, Gérant at Riad Salam Fes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

hello,
thank you so much for your comment that we already respect .but Riad Salam's team are also surprised for all these remarks!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013. It was a beautiful example of Moroccan decoration, and a very comfortable Riad.

The wifi access was good, the room spacious and the courtyards and terrace all very well appointed.

The staff were very helpful, even arranging some washing for us. We ate two breakfasts and two dinners in the Riad, all of which was tasty and fresh.

Our major concern was that the Riad, while beautiful, showed some poor attention to detail, including a leaking sink, dirty cutlery, dirty tablecloths and such.

Nevertheless, it was a comfortable and relaxing stay in what is a hectic and exciting city.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We spent two nights in this stunning riad. This really felt like a large Moroccan home. The tile and dark woods lent a touch of cultural mystery. Our room was comfortable with a large carved wooden headboard. The tile and copper fittings in the bathroom were over the top. We had a small balcony overlooking the indoor pool which was rich with ambiance in the night.
The service was excellent with a delicious breakfast in the mornings.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivypoison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This was our only bad experience during what was otherwise an amazing holiday experience in Morocco. The decor of this old building is truly stunning but that is about it I'm sorry to say. We had 4 people in one large room staying for 2 nights but beds were very hard and uncomfortable, the fridge so noisy that it had to be turned off at night and the air conditioning was either freezing cold or had to be turned off. Worst of all, we had no hot water the whole stay and the water pressure was so poor that there was barely a dribble coming out of the shower head. I requested hotel staff to fix the cold water/pressure problem the first afternoon, asked again twice the following day and was told each time it would be fixed. By the time we checked out early on day 3 it still hadn't been fixed. When I asked for a €50 discount on our €300+ room bill I was told by 'Fadwa' at reception that a discount was not possible. When I refused to pay the full amount and we rang our tour guide, he was told in Arabic that we must have broken the shower on purpose to get a discount!!! Some other guests we met also had problems when they tried to pay by credit card and were told that only cash was acceptable. This was even though I was able to pay my €300 bill by credit card without any issues... Not good!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ingo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed in this Riad April15 & 16, 2013. The decor was beautiful and the rooms were spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The room and the bathroom were very clean. It is in a nice location. We had dinner there our last evening in Fes. It was very overpriced although the food was very good. We offered to pay at the time of service but were told we could pay at checkout. After we returned to our room and were in bed we received a phone that we needed to pay for our meal now. Someone had to change back into clothes and go down (and back up) a very long flight of stairs. While paying this outrageous price for dinner, she was told that we would not get breakfast as it would not be starting until after we checked out. This was not true-we did get a breakfast before leaving the next morning. Some of the staff were OK but some were not. We had much better service in other Riads in Morcocco which is too bad as this was such a beautiful place. It left a bad impression on all three of us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The place is like a Moroc home, which of course it was. You can walk all over the medina, and if you don't get lost, you will enjoy all of Fes from here. All the basics, bed, shower, location, privacy are excellent. The meals are truly good! Go and enjoy!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ForrestWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Braya
Riad Braya
#29 of 100 in Fes
116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.1 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Ryad Mabrouka
Ryad Mabrouka
#22 of 100 in Fes
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Faraj Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Salam Fes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Salam Fes

Address: 18 Berb Bennis, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £93 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Salam Fes 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A True inspiration Moorish temple located in the heart of one of the four imperial cities of Morocco which is the Medina of Fez (classified as a historic monument by UNESCO).Baudelaire seems to have been inspired by this haven of peace ("Salam" in Arabic), with its crystal atmosphere fountains, mosaics, marble and stucco seem to have fixed the size of the Moroccan ancient arts.Beauty, quiet, luxury and pleasure are awaiting you as an invitation to a journey through time that will take you to the splendors of the Moroccan richest heritage.Hammam, Culinary Arts, Massage ... Let yourself be won by this festival of senses! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Salam Fes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing