We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too bad we don't speak French...”
Review of Riad Jardin Chrifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Jardin Chrifa
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at this riad just as the Fes Music Festival was beginning. Overall, we had a pleasant experience at this riad, but only 1 person there speaks any English, so that made it a bit difficult at times. People speaking French will fare much better. We arrived in a rental car. There is parking right next to the riad, but we could not get any precise directions ahead of time as to exactly how to arrive at either the riad or the parking area. As a result, our GPS led us to an incorrect location and we were quickly set upon by faux guides wanting to lead us (for a fee, of course!) to the riad. That made for a rather scary experience (and I don't scare easily!).

The riad is in a good location for exploring the medina area. Our room was very pretty, and the breakfast which is not served until 8:30 was fine. The central courtyard is filled with chirping birds. I love birds, but there were perhaps too many here. Plan to be awakened early by all the chirping. There are also 2 pet turtles living in the courtyard. They are amusing to watch, but I felt sorry that they didn't have a more natural environment to explore.

Room Tip: Each room has a name. I forget the name of ours, but it started with an N and seemed to be the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location within walking distance of Medina. Charming Riad. Good breakfast. Slightly noisy aircon, otherwise nothing to criticise at all. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

the Riad is really beautiful and clean, but our mattresses were hard like stone and the pillows also uncomfortable. Breakfast room was so cold that being there was a pain, even with warm clothes on. Staff is not very motivated either, mostly concentrating on selling an expensive tour guide. The worst is the people on the street around - we really felt harrassed and even threatened. Also, the first meal we took in a restaurant nearby caused me severe belly pain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Jardin Chrifa for 3 nights and found it to be a great riad providing us with an amazing Morrocan experience. The hosts were extremely helpful with tour and transport information to the desert and Marrakesh. Very well located in the centre of Fes medina. Would highly recommend if heading to Fes.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Jardin Chrifa is an outstanding place in the middle of Fes medina. The maze of medina is just a few steps away.
Stylish and tasteful interior in Moroccan style, absolutely clean, very professional staff, always helpful, speaking very high level of English. An oasis amidst the Fes hustle!
The breakfast was delicious served in a nice garden, great beginning of a day !
The room was cleaned before we returned from our sightseeing trip, very comfortable - both the room and also the Riad´s foyer.
I definitely recommend this place to add to your pleasant experience from Morocco!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had an outstanding experience staying 3 nights at this riad in Fes. It is located in a prime spot only a 5-minute walk from the main gate in Fes with all the popular restaurants and shops.

When we first checked in, we were given the option to choose from several different rooms as the riad wasn't full. We were also able to access WiFi from our room on the first day, which was convenient (subsequent days, the signal was not as strong, so we had to be downstairs to use it). The room was huge. The bathroom was a bit small, but functional. The beds are a bit hard, but we slept better here than in all the other riads we stayed at on our trip.

The courtyard is the highlight here. The staff is outstanding and super friendly as well. We didn't have any issues at all. There is a TV downstairs and the staff will let you watch whatever you want. The breakfast was good - standard for Morocco's riads. We even bought our own eggs one day and they didn't have a problem boiling them for us.

I would not hesitate to recommend this riad. The only negative I could think of was the fact that they don't really reply to emails. I sent about 4 and only received an answer once. This made it a bit more difficult to find it once we got into town. It's not too hard to find and kids on the street will lead you to it for a few dirhams, but directions over email would have helped a lot. Ask the taxi driver to drop you off by the fountain near Hotel Batha. It's a couple minutes walk from there.

p.s. If you're booking via a third party website, you'll have to pay an additional $6 USD/night or so in taxes.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the interior, others the courtyard and others the street/alley. Some are bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartcooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Really pleased to have stayed at this lovely riad. The welcome cookies and tea were a nice touch, as was upgrading our room because a better one happened to be empty.
It was clean, decorated in sumptuous moroccan style, and felt very private. The staff were kind and helpful.
They have tortoises in the courtyard where you're served traditional moroccan breakfast.
The roof terrace isnt great, but the courtyard makes up for that. The bathroom was small but very functional and nicely decorated. GREAT VALUE, LOVELY PEACEFUL VIBE.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Guennoun
Riad Dar Guennoun
#43 of 100 in Fes
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#19 of 100 in Fes
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 100 in Fes
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dar Anebar
Dar Anebar
#38 of 100 in Fes
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Attarine
Riad Attarine
#52 of 100 in Fes
204 reviews
11.6 mi away
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
Riad Le Ksar de Fes
#54 of 100 in Fes
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jardin Chrifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jardin Chrifa

Address: 16 Derb Bennis, Douh/ziat | Fes Medina, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £31 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Jardin Chrifa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse "Jardin Chrifa" opens its doors in one of the oldest districts of the Medina in Fez, just minutes walk from the famous "bab boujloud" and some steps from the Batha Museum. You will arrive to our riad accessible by car, the guesthouse restored and designed with the relevance and expertise of our craftsmen to offer you a journey in a thousand and one nights place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Jardin Chrifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing