We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moroccan Hospitality at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #6 of 204 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
“Moroccan Hospitality at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

What makes a perfect place to stay are the people behind working hard to make it possible - that's what I got the minute I was welcomed at Dar Fes Medina.
When they told me "this is your home and you are family" -I knew that It was meant sincerely -And I, being always skeptical when I travel.

The People of Dar Fes Medina:
(hope I got the names & the spelling correctly)

Mohammed - The owner. When he said I am now family, I didn't expect that I will be introduced to the rest - his father, brother & uncle! haha ... I even got the chance to have a personal tour of the antique shop the family owns in the medina (this shop was featured @ NY times).
When I requested for a guide to show me the culture & history of Fez & the medina (and not to bring me from one shop to the next tourist trap),I was given a guide who did just that - Jaweed(?),highly recommended guide.
When a group of 12 Americans, without confirming their reservation called him that they are on their way and will be having dinner - I saw first hand how Mohammed & the staff handled the situation professionally, and we all just had a good laugh once everything was settled.

The staff: Imane - very intelligent & gracious, made sure that I always had my daily dose of unlimited tea & unlimited homemade cookies. =) Had good conversations with her.
Sameer - accompanied & showed me how to navigate the dizzying streets of Fez.
Rizzy - that's what I called her =), prepared my hearty breakfast, and had the best Tangine ever!
Oh, and I forgot to mention that since I am treated like "family", I had free dinner on my last night! =)

It is hard to get to know the people of Morocco if you are out in the tourist sites haggling the whole day with the locals ,which can get pretty tiring, It is just so nice that I get to experience 3 days of real Moroccan hospitality

Shukran! Dar Fes Medina

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishbone_richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    78
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
93
218
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

My group arranged a meeting stay at the Dar Fes Medina and everything greatly exceeded expectations. The staff, led by Mohammed and Imane, took care of all our needs, from arranging our meeting room, to touring side trips. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. Breakfast was a feast. We also chose to cater our lunch and that was magnificent. The location in the medina is convenient (and the staff arranges guides to/from restaurants or sites). The rooftop terrace was a wonderful spot to relax on at the end of the day with a cup of mint tea.

Room Tip: Room 304, a corner double, has a great view of the local mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTINKalfatovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meknes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Came all the way from South Africa for a meeting and spent the most wonderful three days with Mohammed and his wonderful staff in Fez. Good food, delicious mint tea and almond biscuits. Staff organized a wonderful guide Hakkim to take us around the Medina and had a splendid shopping trip with his guidance. Would love to bring my family back here

Room Tip: stay in rooms facing into house if you are looking for quiet time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

I travelled to Fez for a meeting with colleagues from all over the world. We had the Dar to ourselves and it was terrific. The rooms were all comfortable, and it was easy to hold a small meeting for nine people. We had breakfast and lunch provided each day, which was delicious every time. But I think that, best of all, are the wonderful staff who were always on hand and for whom nothing was too much trouble. They organized a driver, and guides to take us to restaurants in the medina. They also organized a guide to take us on a tour of the medina, which was a fantastic afternoon. And, of course, mint tea and delicious almond biscuits at any time. Very highly recommended and I would definitely return.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have heavy luggage perhaps a ground floor or first floor room would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elyw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful Riad.
Very friendly staff, helpfull when needed. Tries to let you feel at home, with free minttea and cookies.
Nice roof terrace.
Nice, clean, big rooms.
Breakfast is perfect.
Not a lot of restaurants/shops nearby, but all highlights are within walking distance.
If we ever go back to fes, we most certainly will stay at this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The dar is a stunning example of Moroccan architecture. Our room was small (by our standards), but very comfortable and charming.

The staff were welcoming and very helpful ...it very much felt like a home away from home. The breakfast was very good, and we were told by a fellow traveller dinner was the best he had in Morocco.

The Fes medina is a maze. Arrange for transport and a 1/2 day guide through the Dar; you'll be glad you did.

Two features of Dar Fes Medina you should know about. Their proximity to a mosque means that they don't sell alcohol and you will hear the 4:30 am call to prayer ...all part of the experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

I highly recommend Dar Fes Medina if you are looking for a place to stay in Fes. It is perfect. It is available at a decent price and is at a decent location (15 minute walk from the blue gate). The hotel and rooms are very clean and very tastefully designed. The free wifi is great and available throughout the dar.

However, its greatest strength is its people. The owner (Mohamed) and his staff could not be nicer. They motto is 'this is your home'. They go out of the way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. They organised a tour guide for the Fes medina and a car (to take us to Chefchaouen) at great prices. They even give free water, tea and biscuits.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the ground floor. It is next to the area where breakfast is served so will be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionLarger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#16 of 204 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Property: Dar Fes Medina
Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing