We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place”
Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #6 of 207 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This Riad is very close to one of the Medina's 14 gates. We were welcomed with tea and excellent cookies. The room was comfortable and large enough. The staff, Eman.and Mohammed we're very friendly, welcoming and spoke excellent English. Our thoughts about this Riad is that we would certainly return here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bqg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    79
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
222
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I absolutely LOVED our stay at Dar Fes Medina! After our delayed train ride from Casablance (following our overnight flight into Morocco), walking in to the beautiful, peaceful riad and being greeted with warm smiles, sweet tea, and delicious cookies as just what we needed. Mohammed, the kind and attentive owner, sat down and joined us for some tea and conversation. He immediately made us feel welcome and encouraged us to feel at home. I did feel comfotable and welcomed, but not quite at home since I don't have the friendly staff bringing me tea and making delicious breakfasts for me at home! I'd gladly bring them home with me!

Speaking of breakfast, the ones I had at Dar Fes Medina were the best of the whole trip! Even on the day we left, we had a complete breakfast ready early in the morning. This was greatly appreciated as many places have more rigid breakfast times, once again showing the wonderful hospitality of this riad. We also had a dinner there one night, which comprised of a variety of Moroccan salads (the eggplant and potatoes were my favorite) and a seasonal tagine of tender beef with cinnamon-sprinkled apples. Delicious!

The decor was beautiful classic Moroccan with tiles, a fountain, plaster-work etc. My only complaint was that I couldn't find a trash bin in the room. This is beacause a pretty pottery bowl under the sink was meant to be used for trash, although I found it too pretty to do so!

One thing worth mentioning is that there is a mosque in close proximity (can be easily seen from the rooftop terrace - a lovely place for afternoon tea, btw), and the call to prayer is audible from the rooms. I knew this beforehand, and it didn't particularly bother me, but I thought it worth to share with future travelers to prepare them for the sunrise call.

Un GRAND merci a Mohammed et al. pour une tres belle visite! J'espere que la petite va bien!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My daughters and I enjoyed a wonderful three night stay at this beautiful and traditional Riad in Fes. Upon our arrival we enjoyed a welcoming tea with Eman (best tea maker in Morooco) who kindly organised someone from a local restaurant to walk to the Riad on our first night and accompany us through unfamiliar streets and walk us home again after our dinner. The cook at the Riad made a wonderful breakfast for us each morning and we also enjoyed a dinner one night with a huge spread of food and flavours. The location in the old part of town added to the charm and mystique of being in Morocco. We enjoyed playing chase and soccer with the local children in the narrow streets nearby. The owner, Mohammed was very personable and friendly and made our stay a very memorable one. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Mohammed and staff our wonderful. They welcomed us with Moroccan tea and treats and then said, "This house is your house." Our experience was like staying with treasured family. The rooms are lovely and the entire place is very beautiful and clean. You feel like you're in a historic guest house. And a few of the staff understand English, which was very helpful! The staff will also prepare breakfast upon request which was wonderful for the early risers and the late sleepers. And they had a pack-n-play crib for our youngest traveler.

Thank you for hosting us as family, and for the lovely breakfast and restful accommodations. We look forward to coming again someday!
Doug and Debbie Jaeger
Becky Turner
Brandon, Chrissy and little Raelyn Duke

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I would say that I was impressed by the quality of the infrastructure of what we can call a guest house. Mohamed, the owner, helped us a lot with our trip and treated us like close friends. The rooms are very comfortable and the classic "tea and sweet crackers" is always served with a smile. I recommend this place 100%!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarceloMadueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed stay here - a peaceful haven within medina Beautifully decorated - mosaic work, carved marble, sympathetic furnishings. Hosts very welcoming. Be sure to book yourself a meal here - outstanding!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delcar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Shokran Dar Fes Medina, Mohammed, Imane, Sumeer and the lovely kitchen ladies!
We spent 4 nights at this lovely Dar and enjoyed the friendliness and hospitality expressed.
The room is authentically decorated, the mint tea+biscuits were a treat! We were welcomed genuinely and treated as true guests. Definitely a great place to stay when in Fes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#14 of 207 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Property: Dar Fes Medina
Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 207 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing