We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place with easy parking close by”
Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #4 of 223 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The Team is really friendly and helpful, the rooms tidy, the shower the best I had in Morocco. The breakfast is manifold. The place is quite and in good walking distance to the medina. The location is accesible by car/motorbike and there is guarded parking garage close by (2 min walking, charges about EUR2/night for motorbike)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaktubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

We are a grp of Singaporeans (12 of us) touring morocco. Fes was our 2nd last stop
we stay in Dar Fes for 2nites after so many good reviews on this Riads. We are totally impressed w the service, hospitality of this beautiful riad
We hv stayed in other Riads during our 2 wks holiday in morocco n I hv to say that Dar Fes is the best ! Best staff, best b.fast (lots of selection n variety, n in very generous portion too )

most importantly, I love the bed! Very good quality mattress n pillow ( this is hard to come by) - best quality sleep during our 2nites stay

Our only regret was that we are not able to enjoy the dinner in the Riad due to our tight schedule

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hansl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

They say that travel broadens the mind. That's why we feel very fortunate we had the opportunity to experience a true welcome in this wonderful riad Dar Fez Medina. We wanted to experience Fez with a local touch and because of great advice from Australian and New Zealander authors Suzanna Clarke and Sandy McCutcheon (blog ‘The View from Fez’) we met Mohammed and his family.
Dar fez medina is a traditional grand Moroccan house with a beautiful central courtyard and roof top garden. It's beautifully decorated with antiques from the owner's collection.
Breakfasts and dinners are plentiful and delicious. We loved the freshly squeezed mandarin juice every morning.
Mohammed (the owner) did not tell us his family also has an antique and carpet shop, but we are lucky Sandy did. We bought a couple of extraordinarily beautiful antique rugs and really feel we paid a fair price and very much enjoyed the rituals of buying them.
We had an unpleasant encounter trying to buy a lamp in the medina and we requested Mohammed's family step in to help out, which they graciously did explaining how important it is to treat foreigners visiting Morocco well.
Mohamed also organised day trips and Sameer his porter kindly showed us each evening the way to the restaurants and into the souks.
We felt really safe. The riad is a ten minute walk to the Blue Gate and centre of the souks and all the main historical centre sights but ideally out of the hectic souk atmosphere.
Service was always gentle and with a genuine smile. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean.
We feel so privileged to have encountered this connection which enabled us to experience authentic and genuine Moroccan hospitality.
Thank you Mohamed and family and thank you Suzanna and Sandy.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We traveled Morocco for 2 weeks, and this was by far our favorite place we stayed. Mohammed and the staff here along make this the #1 choice of accommodation. After arriving at night in Fes, they came to pick us up, even though our train was 1 hour later than it was supposed to be. They had tea and cookies prepared for us, and Mohammed stay with us during tea time and chatted, answered all our questions. The dinner at the Riad was romantic and lovely. The Dar was in a good location - staying in the medina was an experience! Though it was difficult to navigate at time a staff member was always available to give us directions in a map that handed out to us. Our room was nicely decorated and had all the modern amenities you could hope for (hot water, good water pressure, air conditioning, television). Breakfast was also delicious, and included not only bread, jam, coffee/tea, but yogurt, pancakes and eggs. Thank you Dar Fes Medina for your warm welcome and comfy stay!

Room Tip: Room on main floor is next to lobby and may be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camacho_kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although this riad is only 4 years old it looks and feels like it has always been here. A major difference is that the bathroom is modern with a glass shower door and a light . The room was quiet and nicely furnished. It is about a 20 minute walk to the main restaurant area at the edge of the medina but the Gate "Bab Ziat" is very close and taxis are available for small money to go anywhere in the new or old city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srscmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This Riad is very close to one of the Medina's 14 gates. We were welcomed with tea and excellent cookies. The room was comfortable and large enough. The staff, Eman.and Mohammed we're very friendly, welcoming and spoke excellent English. Our thoughts about this Riad is that we would certainly return here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bqg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I absolutely LOVED our stay at Dar Fes Medina! After our delayed train ride from Casablance (following our overnight flight into Morocco), walking in to the beautiful, peaceful riad and being greeted with warm smiles, sweet tea, and delicious cookies as just what we needed. Mohammed, the kind and attentive owner, sat down and joined us for some tea and conversation. He immediately made us feel welcome and encouraged us to feel at home. I did feel comfotable and welcomed, but not quite at home since I don't have the friendly staff bringing me tea and making delicious breakfasts for me at home! I'd gladly bring them home with me!

Speaking of breakfast, the ones I had at Dar Fes Medina were the best of the whole trip! Even on the day we left, we had a complete breakfast ready early in the morning. This was greatly appreciated as many places have more rigid breakfast times, once again showing the wonderful hospitality of this riad. We also had a dinner there one night, which comprised of a variety of Moroccan salads (the eggplant and potatoes were my favorite) and a seasonal tagine of tender beef with cinnamon-sprinkled apples. Delicious!

The decor was beautiful classic Moroccan with tiles, a fountain, plaster-work etc. My only complaint was that I couldn't find a trash bin in the room. This is beacause a pretty pottery bowl under the sink was meant to be used for trash, although I found it too pretty to do so!

One thing worth mentioning is that there is a mosque in close proximity (can be easily seen from the rooftop terrace - a lovely place for afternoon tea, btw), and the call to prayer is audible from the rooms. I knew this beforehand, and it didn't particularly bother me, but I thought it worth to share with future travelers to prepare them for the sunrise call.

Un GRAND merci a Mohammed et al. pour une tres belle visite! J'espere que la petite va bien!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#11 of 223 in Fes
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#1 of 223 in Fes
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Faracha Fes
Dar Faracha Fes
#3 of 223 in Fes
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Finn
Dar Finn
#9 of 223 in Fes
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £40 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing