We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fine Place in Fes”
Review of Dar Fes Medina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Fes Medina
Ranked #5 of 216 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a very comfortable Riad not far from the Ziat gate. The hotel will send a car and driver to pick you up at the rail station or airport, but taking one of the red taxis to the gate and getting instructions from there is another option.

Mohammed welcomed us with mint tea and cookies. He can arrange tours for guests. We purchased a map of the Medina from one of the tobacco shops down the hill from the Museum Batha and found our way around the souks and old city. This works well if you have enough time and prefer to be independent.

Dinner prepared by the hotel staff was delicious and reasonably priced at 18 EUR for several salads, tagine of chicken, onions, and raisins, plus fruit for dessert.

Our room was cozy with a comfortable bed, bath, and air conditioning. A hair dryer was not in the room but you can get one from the front desk if needed.

We booked our stay through Booking.com--it's not clear on the booking.com site that the hotel does not accept cards. We are fine with paying cash but suggest that the policy be clearly posted and on the hotel website and Booking.com to avoid misunderstanding.

Mohammed and his staff are very helpful and work diligently to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Dar Fes Medina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Καλαίσθητος, καθαρός και προσεγμενος ξενωνας σε αρκετά κεντρικό σημείο της παλαιάς πόλης.Το προσωπικό ευγενέστατο, πρόθυμο και πάντα εξυπηρετικό. Με ειδική συνενόηση παρέχετε η δυνατότητα πλούσιου γευματος σπιτικά μαγειρεμένου. Στο σύνολο πολύ καλή σχέση ποιότητας τιμής.

Charming, clean and tidy guest house in a quite central point of the old polis.The staff, always willing and helpful. Upon special request rich and traditional home cooked meals can be provided.
In all very good value for money.

Room Tip: Contact the owner Mohammed or the lady at the front desk Iman for any request, both are very friendl...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannis934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Dar Fes Medina is a beautifully decorated guesthouse with exquisite furnishings and delicately fine architectural details. The owner comes from a prominent family of carpet merchants so the entire house displays tasteful examples of fabrics and textiles as well as mesmerizing tile work. It was an esthetic delight to spend three nights there. Our room was quite comfortable and we slept well. The owner/manager, Mohammed is an intriguing combination of humble and gracious host and authoritative leader of an excellent staff. The breakfasts were very nicely done and slightly varied each morning (wonderful fresh baked goodies were featured) . The optional dinners featured an excellent and exotic array of cooked salads that were delectable as a first of three courses. We sampled the Chicken Cous Cous and the Beef Tagine. Both were very good.The Dar Fes staff were very helpful and flexible, being particularly attentive to kindly attend to me with a tummy bug I arrived with from a trip to the desert. We had a wonderful stay and really did feel quite at home in this familial style bed and breakfast. It is an excellent value. The English spoken here is also excellent.

Room Tip: While the second floor is a climb, the advantage is that you are then closer to the very pleasant ro...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulb19027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this delightful Dar for the fourth time in four years at this delightful Guest House in Fes Medina earlier this month. In fact we were the first people ever to stay here in May 2010, to see our names first in the visitors book is a great honour. Each time it just gets better. A new addition is an evening meal option. We had the best tajine we have ever had, lamb and prunes. Staff could not be more helpful and the rooms are spotless. We hope to make our fifth visit before too long. We are always treated as one of the family.

Room Tip: The accommodation is on three floors, therefore if you are not so good at climbing stairs ask for a...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hausa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Discovering something new in ancient Fes is always a thrill. Our latest happy surprise was staying at classy Dar Fes Medina, a tastefully decorated, neatly furnished and altogether enjoyable riad offering the best of Moroccan hospitality. Mohammed and Imane greet you with hot mint tea and pastries and invite you to scrumptious breakfasts and mouthwatering suppers. I have visited Fes with students for many years and this dar was one of the most enjoyable ever.
Imane will connect you with articulate and attentive guides and arrange excursions with drivers that are eager to show off the Maghreb's geological and cultural treasures. Imane can also direct you to music-dinner-dance-and magic shows and, if you ask, will show and teach you profound Moroccan proverbs that will make you think and bring smiles to maghrebis when you try to pronounce their darija versions. These two fabulous hosts are energetic, helpful and humorous folks who radiate friendly hospitality. We will be back for sure ! Ario Preuss /SSFS, Md. USA

Room Tip: Our group used all rooms and were totally content
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I've traveled to many places in Europe, and have never been treated as well as at Dar Fes Medina. We were treated like we were royalty. Breakfast came with several courses, and the dinner at the hotel was superb - by far the best meal we had in Fes during our one-week stay. It's too bad that excellent is the best rating, because the Dar Fes Medina deserves a higher rating. Beautiful tile work, unique furnishings, comfortable rooms, and the best staff!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

When entering this wonderful Riad, we were welcomed by Imane, and later by here wonderfull boss. Both let us know immediately; we shouldn't feel as guests, but as family, and should consider the Riad as our home. We were welcomed by nice cups of menthe tea and wonderful home-baked coockies. Not only did our "brothers and sisters" try to make our stay as comfy as possible, but also did they try to answer all of our questions about Morrocan culture and Islamic faith.

This place is most wonderfull because it is located inside the Medina (but really close to an outside gate), but it is as quit as a place can get. Have travelled a lot, but would really reccomend this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 100 in Fes
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Fes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Fes Medina

Address: Mokri | Fes Medina, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 216 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Fes Medina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Fez Medina is jewel at the heart of the ancient Medina of Fez is situated in Ziat, a traditional Moroccan house offers ten beautifully appointed rooms which blend the old and the new in a tasteful manner. Incorporated into the traditional architecture, with its carved plaster, cedar woodwork and zellij tiles, are quiet air conditioning, television and satellite programs, as well as free wifi to keep you connected during your stay. Each of the ten rooms has the latest in medically designed beds and private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dar Fes Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Fes Medina Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing