We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Riad, central location, amazing staff”
Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We stayed in the riad with our two kids (age 8) for 4 nights. We stayed in the suite with two double rooms and it was perfect. It was warm in Fes but luckily the airco in the rooms was very very silent! We loved the breakfast, plenty of very nice food. And the especially made diner was amazing. We did end up with some stomach problems but you never know where you pick that up in a land as Morocco!
The staff was very helpful, the shower broke down and they fixed it the same day. The kids loved the swimmingpool and I loved the fact there was free Wifi!
We recommend this place to everyone going to Fes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loodje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Hello Sigrid,

Well done for the picture ! This one is really nice !
Many thanks
Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2011

2 min walk to the main souk

Nice clean and very homely

Can do with a little more comfortable matresses (personal choice)

But the extremely friendly service of the manager Osama and his younger brother Abdoul made the stay more than perfect

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamil-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hello Jamil,

Many thanks dear for your review.
Indeed, we made the choice of medium/hard matresses for back pain. Really sorry that you found it uncomfy. I will think of that to find the best solution.
Kind regards
Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Riad Layalina was our home away from home during our trip to Fez. The staff of this family run establishment are all very friendly and considerate. The riad itself is beautifully adorned with carved plasters, adorned wood ceilings, gorgeous mosaics, and a gorgeous rooftop terrace with a view of the medina. The room, public areas, and pool are all meticulously clean. The location is excellent, steps from the main street of the medina, but it is also far enough away to be a haven from the hustle and bustle of the old town.
The hospitality is truly amazing!! Upon our arrival we were served a delicious traditional Moroccan lunch, which was a totally unexpected treat. It consisted of a selection of salads, bread, cheese, a tagine a piece, amazing little Moroccan pastries, and Mint tea. We were then shown to our room which had been upgraded because the riad was not full and to ensure us more privacy. Breakfast was served every morning in the courtyard by the pool, when we woke up, not at a set time. This is a big plus for late risers!! We were served an abundant variety of Moroccan specialties, breads, jams, honey, cafe latte, fresh juice, and mint tea. On our last day in Fez, after we had already checked out of our room, and after a particularly hot day shopping in the medina, we were gicen access to a room to freshen up before our flight home.
Really the hospitality is above and beyond, and we do not have enough good things to say about the Riad Layalina. We will never consider staying anywhere else on our future trips to Fez.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandybrotini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hello dear,

whaoo ! Many thanks for your review !

Warm smiles
Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Our recent stay (for a total of 5 nights) at Riad Layalina was simply wonderful. The Riad was absolutely beautiful but perhaps more importantly, the staff at the Riad were fantastic and made us very welcome from the moment we arrived until we went. The location is excellent also as is the splendid breakfast. We were also treated to a tasty tagine and mint tea when we arrived at the Riad - around 8 pm in the evening, totally unexepected - but great. We would thorougly recommend the Riad.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moosap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

Hi dear,

A very special thank to you for your kindness and for the very heartwarming mail you sent me regarding the staff, as this is extremely important for them as everything is done with their heart.

And a very special thought for all our so friendly uk guests. Always kind of particular & positive atmosphere...

Warm smiles
Jerome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We spent 5 nights in this wonderful Riad. All rooms and suites are in excellent condition. The staff is very friendly and cooperative. All requests were immediately attended to. The Riad is very close to the Medina. From the roof top one has an extraordinary view of Fes. Jerome is the perfect host. We'll come again if time allows.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank gerhardhbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2011

Hello dears,
Many thanks and warm smiles from all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE Riad Layalina!!! We arrived at the Riad after a tiring 7 hour train ride and a 10 minute cab ride. We weren't sure what to expect...but boy were we blown away! The Riad is beautiful!!! My friend and I felt like royalty staying at a Morocan Palace...the detailing and decor is remarkable. The only thing that was better than the interior was the INCREDIBLE hospitality!!! We were greeted by one of the Riad Managers, Usama. He was a pure delight. He greeted us with smiles, a warm welcome, mint tea, and tomato and egg tangine!!! He told us we were home and he really meant it.
He showed us the communal spaces...the pool, the computer room, the kitchen, and the terrace. The terrace has a 360 degree view of Fes... I couldn't get enough of that view! At night stars and all of the medina...and in the morning....hills, the medina, and all of beautiful fes!
Our first night at the riad, we spent hours chatting with the staff. We shared our music and culture with them and they shared theirs with us. I felt like I knew them forever. They are all super friendly and personable...Ive been home for some time now and I still miss them all.
Every morning breakfast is served when you wake up...not on a set time like other riads do. When we asked when breakfast was the response was "whenever you wake up," how sweet is that!?! At my last riad that was definitely not the case! Breakfast is fresh traditional Moroccan flat bread, an egg omelet, jam, mint tea, coffee, fresh cold orange juice, and anything your heart desires. They were so accomodating!!!
They also gave advice about the medina and shopping, they didn't push overpriced tours on us and gave us honest price suggestions for souvenirs.
The rooms are adorbale and the bathrooms are VERY CLEAN! The pressure was great in the showers. The Riad is super safe and in a GREAT location. It's in the medina and steps from the main streets in the Medina. There's a relaxing and very affordable Hammam minutes from the Riad. You have to do it!!!
After 3 days at the riad, we had to catch our flights home. We were so sad to leave our family in Fes, but we have vowed to come back to Layalina very soon. I completely fell in love with Fes thanks to the amazing staff at Layalina. YOU WILL NOT REGRET STAYING HERE...THE BEST MOROCCO HAS TO OFFER!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMsJetsetterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear Guests,
Whaoo ! What can we say ? This is so heartwarming. Indeed, you are at home, and we mean it. From our experience, this is certainly one of the most difficult aspect to impart. Something to deal with one's positive energy I suppose. Anyway, we mean it with our heart. Many thanks and warm Morrocan smiles from the team to NYC !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We stayed at the riad for two nights in April. We found the staff and owner very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucy821179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#5 of 100 in Fes
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Sheherazade & Spa
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#6 of 100 in Fes
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Address: 10 Bis Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Price Range: £48 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is ideally located in the medina of Fes, 50 metres from the main street, nearby Bab Boujloud the famous “blue gate”. Access is very easy, with secure parking at the foot of the riad. Completely renovated in 2010, the ryad has very high quality traditional decorations. Quiet and peaceful, the hotel benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the traditional Moroccan courtyard, by the swimming pool, or on the four-level, with it’s stunning 360° view over all Fes medina. Layalina guest house is comprised of 5 bedrooms & 2 suites. All rooms are in tadelakt, have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi (high speed guaranteed in the entire riad). Hearty breakfast is included. When you are at the Riad, attentive staff will ensure your comfort and well-being. A restaurant and cook are at your disposal to simmer up for you the best local specialities or dishes of your choice. The true art of living in Moroccan style, and this haven of peace in the heart of the Fez Medina, will ensure you have an unforgettable stay in our guest house Riad Fes Layalina. Riad Layalina offers two accommodation options : B&B as a guest house or riad holiday rental as private, ideal for families, friends or group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing