We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautifull”
Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautifull”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautifully restored riad. Very helpful and nice owner. Professional and kind staff. Very clean and well located - worth to recommend! It has convinient parking which is not usual for acommodation in medina.

Room Tip: it is better to ask about room with bathrom inside the room. Our had bathroom at the corridor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAja1012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    76
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
258
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent one night here in March. It was wonderful. Greeted with a traditional meal on arrival. Property was a calm break from Fez and was picturesque and peaceful. Everyone was extremely attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place really has it all -
Location:
Perfect, it really was. It is on the edge of the medina so taxis can drive you pretty much to the front door (that said, you'll need to have your eyes peeled to find the door itself as the signs are difficult to find). There is an entrance to the medina just across the car park which puts you on to one of the main streets of this crazy twisting maze. The final contributing factor to this riad's perfect location isits proximity to the tombs on the northern hills of the medina, which aside from being fascinating in themselves, offer superb panoramic views of all of Fes El Bali. This looks like more of a hike than it actually is. You'll be up there in 15 mins and its well worth it.
Staff :
The owner, Jerome, is great. Friendly, knowledgeable, and with excellent English, he will be a massive help in all your trips endeavours. The other staff are also great, but have more limited English.
Venue:
The riad itself is stunning. The courtyard screams of class and is a place I just wanted to hang out all the time. It's quiet too and a lovely place to wind down after the bustle of the medina. The rooms were traditionally furnished to a very high standard. There is also a rooftop terrace with great views which offers a good place to catch some rays.
Food:
Upon arrival you'll be treated to a simple hearty egg, cheese and tomato tagine accompanied by some infamous mint tea. Breakfast will consist of a generous helping of Moroccan breads, omelette, jams and honey, and a croissant or two. Jerome has the best recommendations on where to eat out.
Little niggles:
Two problems we encountered on our stay were not because of the hotel itself so have not contributed to the rating.
1. On our final night we were moved to the riad next door because layalina had some kind of double booking. Jerome was out of the country at this point and the Moroccan staff didn't have enough English to explain to us why we'd been moved. It didn't really bother us though as the riad next door (Riad Jean Paul) was nice enough.
2. The taxi driver driving us to the airport, who had been recommended by Jerome for his honesty and reliability, overcharged us by 50 Durhams. He said he had no change so took my last 200D - yea a taxi driver without change, we've all heard that one before.
If you're still reading at this point - wow you must be even more thorough than me - but rest assured, your thorough self will thoroughly enjoy your stay at Riad Layalina

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure meeting you. Many thanks for your very kind review.
Regarding the fact that you had to change riad for the last night, please kindly control your voucher as you had booked until Fri, Mar 14, checking out on saturday. You obviously thought that you had booked one more night at the riad :-( As we had an arrival on saturday we had to arrange this issue for you. Sorry not to have been able to explain that to you as I had to leave the same day. Sorry either that the explanations were not so clear.

Regarding the airport transfer, I do deeply apologize as this is absolutely unacceptable. I will solve this issue so this never ever happens again. I will ask you by separate mail your bank details to send you a settlement of 200 DH in order to refund the totality of the fare.

I do wish you all the best to you both and will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Warm smiles
Jérôme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am Moroccan and I had the difficult task of recommending a Riad to a friend of mine from the USA. I came a cross Riad Layalina by coincidence, and what a great experience it was. The owner was extremely helpful and professional. My friend had a fabulous time and was mesmerized by her stay at Riad Layalina. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to go to in Fes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Riad is conveniently located - close to a road for taxis and close to the medina in Fes. It's pretty easy to find (the name is in stone above the door). It was beautiful and clam inside. The service was very friendly and of high quality, and the rooms were well furnished and very comfortable. If you're looking for a nice base to explore Fes - then this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tacoma, washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

All previous reviews were right- this place is a gem! The courtyard and rooms were beautifully decorated. Such a calm sanctum. Great location- on the edge of the medina (you can walk the hills nearby- it's safe). Ain Azliten gate is right there. The taxi driver will take you and porters will take your luggage to the riad. Take note of how you get there- the alleys and corridors are not marked, Layalina is not easy to find the first time. Also, take note of the short cut to get into the heart of the medina instead of actually going out of the gate by the car park and then back in. Remember which store you enter at! Bab Boujloud gate is also only a few minutes walk. In a nutshell, this place is a great location.

Was served tajine when I arrived first night. Breakfasts a mixture of good breads, jams, honey, etc. The proprietor is French but speaks English; his staff is very friendly and attentive.

For daily stuff, you can't have enough 5 and 10 dirham coins. Everything, it seems, is done at that level. This is the one place you won't bring loose coins home with you. On the flip side, please save a lot of large Dh, euros, or USD to pay your riad bill, as that is preferable to credit cards. When booking, price quoted is per person. The arrow on one of the pictures shows where my room/window was.

You will get lost in Fes. I guarantee it. When you finally stumble back home to Layalina, what a great place to unwind the evening.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the room against the outer (city) wall has an upstairs bedroom above the master.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revreggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

we stayed at riad layalina for 4 nights in late feb on a two week trip around Morocco. It was the the most luxurious place we stayed at, peaceful (a real oasis of calm in hectic, chaotic fes!) beautifully decorated, our room was very cosy and clean, the adjoining bathroom was also clean (and huge!), we had a tv in the room with hundreds of channels (not that i usually watch tv on holiday, but after 10 days on the road and thanks to some rainy weather, it was nice to finally have that option at least), and a hearty hot breakfast every day (with the most delicious honey - i could have drunk a gallon of it). the staff are friendly and welcoming, going out of their way to help us (even with some rather random requests!). the location is excellent, very close to the main street and major sights in the medina, and at the same time only a five minute walk to the bus station. extra points for the unexpected and tasty lunch upon arrival.

we didnt stay anywhere else in fes, so i cant compare it to other riads there, but it was the best riad experience we had while in the country and objectively even, very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Property: Riad Layalina Fez
Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is ideally located in the medina of Fes, 50 metres from the main street, nearby Bab Boujloud the famous “blue gate”. Access is very easy, with secure parking at the foot of the riad. Completely renovated in 2010, the ryad has very high quality traditional decorations. Quiet and peaceful, the hotel benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the traditional Moroccan courtyard, by the swimming pool, or on the four-level, with it’s stunning 360° view over all Fes medina. Layalina guest house is comprised of 5 bedrooms & 2 suites. All rooms are in tadelakt, have air conditioning, heating, satellite TV and free Wi-Fi (high speed guaranteed in the entire riad). Hearty breakfast is included. When you are at the Riad, attentive staff will ensure your comfort and well-being. A restaurant and cook are at your disposal to simmer up for you the best local specialities or dishes of your choice. The true art of living in Moroccan style, and this haven of peace in the heart of the Fez Medina, will ensure you have an unforgettable stay in our guest house Riad Fes Layalina. Riad Layalina offers two accommodation options : B&B as a guest house or riad holiday rental as private, ideal for families, friends or group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing