We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little treat in Fes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little treat in Fes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great choice whether you are just stopping by for one night or thinking about staying few days in Fes.
Jérôme, the owner, is a great host and surrounded by a great team. He divides his life between is actual job in France and the passionate management of his riad in Fes. We've been lucky to meet him and share some good talks about Morocco in front of a fresh orange juice. He also suggested us where to go eating and drinking in Fes.
The cook at the riad is Moroccan and will prepare you great and abundant breakfast with crepes, jam, bread, cakes, orange juice, coffee, tea etc. And also fabulous dinner freshly cooked everyday.
We stayed in the twin room at the ground floor. Very clean and nice decorated. The bathroom also very clean and the shower a dream..huge and hot water 24 hours.

To point out that we arrived from Merzouga with the night bus which was supposed to get to Fes at 6am. We initially booked for one night and the plan was to go for a breakfast in the Medina and drop our backpacks at the riad afterwards. For some reasons we arrived at Fes at 3am and the only place we knew at that time was the riad. We werent expecting them to host us without notice but when we called at 3.30am they happily provided us with a room for the night and a nice breakfast in the morning..this is what I call a good service!

Last thing..the riad is located in a perfect position just few meters from the Medina and a bunch of mins from the gate Boujloud!!

Enjoy your stay at Layalina you'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    72
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
77
242
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great location with a convenient parking lot less than 100 steps away from the front door. There is no need to pay someone to carry your luggage through the maze that is Fes. The blue gate is also only a 5 minute walk. The management on duty did not speak a lot of English. My sister-in-law spoke the language so that helped us get by. We had a private room and bathroom, but they were not connected. This was a slight inconvenience. Breakfast was traditional. There is a pool, but we did not use it. The architecture is very pretty. Upon checking out they let us keep all of our bags in one room until 1:30 which was very convenient for our morning tour of Fes and lunch at Cafe clock.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miles28270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Walking into the riad was breathtaking. I arrived early and was promptly greeted with mint tea and pastries. The rooms are more than comfortable, the food was delicious and the location was perfect because it's on the edge of the medina. Jerome and his staff took care of all of our needs and recommended a guide who met our needs perfectly. I highly recommend this experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Beautifully restored riad. Very helpful and nice owner. Professional and kind staff. Very clean and well located - worth to recommend! It has convinient parking which is not usual for acommodation in medina.

Room Tip: it is better to ask about room with bathrom inside the room. Our had bathroom at the corridor and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MAja1012014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent one night here in March. It was wonderful. Greeted with a traditional meal on arrival. Property was a calm break from Fez and was picturesque and peaceful. Everyone was extremely attentive and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This place really has it all -
Location:
Perfect, it really was. It is on the edge of the medina so taxis can drive you pretty much to the front door (that said, you'll need to have your eyes peeled to find the door itself as the signs are difficult to find). There is an entrance to the medina just across the car park which puts you on to one of the main streets of this crazy twisting maze. The final contributing factor to this riad's perfect location isits proximity to the tombs on the northern hills of the medina, which aside from being fascinating in themselves, offer superb panoramic views of all of Fes El Bali. This looks like more of a hike than it actually is. You'll be up there in 15 mins and its well worth it.
Staff :
The owner, Jerome, is great. Friendly, knowledgeable, and with excellent English, he will be a massive help in all your trips endeavours. The other staff are also great, but have more limited English.
Venue:
The riad itself is stunning. The courtyard screams of class and is a place I just wanted to hang out all the time. It's quiet too and a lovely place to wind down after the bustle of the medina. The rooms were traditionally furnished to a very high standard. There is also a rooftop terrace with great views which offers a good place to catch some rays.
Food:
Upon arrival you'll be treated to a simple hearty egg, cheese and tomato tagine accompanied by some infamous mint tea. Breakfast will consist of a generous helping of Moroccan breads, omelette, jams and honey, and a croissant or two. Jerome has the best recommendations on where to eat out.
Little niggles:
Two problems we encountered on our stay were not because of the hotel itself so have not contributed to the rating.
1. On our final night we were moved to the riad next door because layalina had some kind of double booking. Jerome was out of the country at this point and the Moroccan staff didn't have enough English to explain to us why we'd been moved. It didn't really bother us though as the riad next door (Riad Jean Paul) was nice enough.
2. The taxi driver driving us to the airport, who had been recommended by Jerome for his honesty and reliability, overcharged us by 50 Durhams. He said he had no change so took my last 200D - yea a taxi driver without change, we've all heard that one before.
If you're still reading at this point - wow you must be even more thorough than me - but rest assured, your thorough self will thoroughly enjoy your stay at Riad Layalina

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caiboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerome78, Propriétaire at Riad Layalina Fez, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guests,

It was a great pleasure meeting you. Many thanks for your very kind review.
Regarding the fact that you had to change riad for the last night, please kindly control your voucher as you had booked until Fri, Mar 14, checking out on saturday. You obviously thought that you had booked one more night at the riad :-( As we had an arrival on saturday we had to arrange this issue for you. Sorry not to have been able to explain that to you as I had to leave the same day. Sorry either that the explanations were not so clear.

Regarding the airport transfer, I do deeply apologize as this is absolutely unacceptable. I will solve this issue so this never ever happens again. I will ask you by separate mail your bank details to send you a settlement of 200 DH in order to refund the totality of the fare.

I do wish you all the best to you both and will be very pleased to welcome you again.

Warm smiles
Jérôme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I am Moroccan and I had the difficult task of recommending a Riad to a friend of mine from the USA. I came a cross Riad Layalina by coincidence, and what a great experience it was. The owner was extremely helpful and professional. My friend had a fabulous time and was mesmerized by her stay at Riad Layalina. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to go to in Fes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#9 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#5 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Fes Aicha
Riad Fes Aicha
#16 of 99 in Fes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Property: Riad Layalina Fez
Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad, renovated in 2009, quiet and peaceful, benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the patio, by the pool or on the terrace, with it's stunning view. This house is ideal for families or friend groups.Riad Layalina is located in Fez medina, 50 metres from the main street and nearby Bab Boujloud. It offers 10 rooms and 7 bedrooms, has an outdoor swimming pool, a traditional Moroccan courtyard and a four-level panoramic terrace with a 360° view over all Fez Medina. Free WiFi and car private park on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing