We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely riad in the heart of Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Layalina Fez

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Layalina Fez
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely riad in the heart of Fez”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great place to stay inside the medina, beautifully decorated and run by the the wonderful Jerome and his staff Said and Redwan. 2 minutes from the main streets of the medina yet very quiet and peaceful. Would recommend to anybody. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    75
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
81
253
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Everything about our stay in the Riad Layalina was wondeful. It's like a little oasis when you walk in: gorgeous courtyard with a little pool. We were welcomed with sweet tea, Moroccan sweets, and a small kefta tagine! Really above and beyond. The guy in charge was great, really helpful, and he even walked us to a place he recommended for lunch when we asked for help. The room we stayed in was amazing, and as usual in Morocco, it came with a stunning bathroom. You can imagine when the aristocrats would bathe here! And the breakfast was superb - with a little change to it every day. I would definitely recommend this riad - and Fes in general!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katonah, NY
Level Contributor
365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This Riad is stunning. The service is excellent. The courtyard and seating area are utterly gorgeous. The rooms look perfect, and they are spacious. Breakfast was lovely. The arrival tea, sweets and egg tagine were all delicious and very much appreciated. The location was good, on the edge of the medina, but very central to lots of great stuff, such as the Bab Boujloud, the Clock Cafe, and Medersa Bou Ianina. It also has a private, secure car park, very rare in the medina, if not unique. It was excellent value. The one problem which brings it down is the noise. It is located near the road into Atlizen car park and the ring road. The windows are authentic style, therefore not good at keeping out any noise. I believe this Riad needs to invest in some double-glazed windows,, even if it does mean losing a little of the total Moroccan look. We actually had ear plugs and used them, and even so, heard every kind of noise: cars, dogs, scooters, kids, the mosque, etc.... If you are a sound sleeper, you will be fine, or else bring earplugs. Would I stay again? Probably, but I might ask for a room on a lower floor, which might help. We stayed in the two bed suite with our two kids who didn't think the noise was a problem, so that is a different viewpoint. I do recommend Riad Layalina overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindagaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My friends and I booked Riad Layalina because it has a suite that can accommodate 4 people (two bedrooms, one living room and one bathroom). We wanted to have a living room as a common area for hanging out when we need some privacy.
The riad arranged for a Grand Taxi to pick us up at a reasonable 70 Dirham rate, which saved us from being scammed by taxi drivers at Gare ONCF de Fes.
Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the staff and Jerome, the owner. Of course, mint tea and Moroccan cookies were served as a welcome gesture, but we were delighted to be offered a small meal: each of us got a delicious tajine with tomato and egg. It was a nice treat especially when our arrival time was past 1 PM.
The riad has a lovely courtyard and living room on the ground floor, but what I loved the most is that our suite was on the top floor and had ample ventilation and natural lighting. Windows could be opened to allow for sunlight and airflow, even in the bathroom.
Jerome was there to give us recommendations on where to eat and what to see. In order to give us the initial orientation, one of the staff walked us to the medina, which is less than 5 minutes away. Rue Talaa Kebira (one of the main roads in the medina) can easily be reached just by walking from the riad.
We loved the location of the riad in particular because it is accessible by taxi/car, whereas other riads right in the medina will require you to get off the taxi/car; then, haul your luggage throw the narrow alleys.
Riad Layalina was definitely a nice introduction to Morocco!

Room Tip: The suite is ideal for a group of 4 people or a family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suvimon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

My colleague and I both greatly enjoyed our stay at the Riad Layalina. Though we had a hectic journey to Fez, the staff greeted us very warmly and provided a warm meal/snack upon arrival, which was delicious and very much unexpected. (I loved the tomato/egg tajine – that was a treat!) Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were also very nicely furnished and were beautiful, and the breakfast was great, too. The staff also helped to set us up with a tour guide, which was nice, since we had afternoon meetings in Ifrane and had only 2 hours to explore Fez.The Riad itself was beautiful, conveniently located, and had a great view from the terrace! If only we could have stayed longer.

Thank you, Jerome and staff, for your hospitality. I would highly recommend the Riad Layalina to friends in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHodges18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santander, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Nice little Riad with perfect location to access the center of Fez. The staff was more than welcoming and made great effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable. It is easy to recommend when treatment is this good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Great choice whether you are just stopping by for one night or thinking about staying few days in Fes.
Jérôme, the owner, is a great host and surrounded by a great team. He divides his life between is actual job in France and the passionate management of his riad in Fes. We've been lucky to meet him and share some good talks about Morocco in front of a fresh orange juice. He also suggested us where to go eating and drinking in Fes.
The cook at the riad is Moroccan and will prepare you great and abundant breakfast with crepes, jam, bread, cakes, orange juice, coffee, tea etc. And also fabulous dinner freshly cooked everyday.
We stayed in the twin room at the ground floor. Very clean and nice decorated. The bathroom also very clean and the shower a dream..huge and hot water 24 hours.

To point out that we arrived from Merzouga with the night bus which was supposed to get to Fes at 6am. We initially booked for one night and the plan was to go for a breakfast in the Medina and drop our backpacks at the riad afterwards. For some reasons we arrived at Fes at 3am and the only place we knew at that time was the riad. We werent expecting them to host us without notice but when we called at 3.30am they happily provided us with a room for the night and a nice breakfast in the morning..this is what I call a good service!

Last thing..the riad is located in a perfect position just few meters from the Medina and a bunch of mins from the gate Boujloud!!

Enjoy your stay at Layalina you'll love it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#7 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ahlam
Riad Ahlam
#6 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalib
Riad Andalib
#1 of 99 in Fes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Layalina Fez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Layalina Fez

Property: Riad Layalina Fez
Address: 10 Derb el Miter | Aïn Azliten, Fes 30000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Layalina Fez 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad, renovated in 2009, quiet and peaceful, benefits from its own private pool. You will be able to rest in the patio, by the pool or on the terrace, with it's stunning view. This house is ideal for families or friend groups.Riad Layalina is located in Fez medina, 50 metres from the main street and nearby Bab Boujloud. It offers 10 rooms and 7 bedrooms, has an outdoor swimming pool, a traditional Moroccan courtyard and a four-level panoramic terrace with a 360° view over all Fez Medina. Free WiFi and car private park on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Layalina Fez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing