We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dar Sienna
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Palais Amani(Fes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (456)
Filter reviews
456 results
Traveller rating
356
82
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
82
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoulay idrisshouse managerthe ownerroof terraceevery morningcall to prayerdegree viewentire housetrain stationhot waterbeautiful housemoroccan culturehome away from homea lovely stayancient medinaperfect place to stayprivate bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 456 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Dar sienna is a beautiful homely riad in the heart of the fez medina and was everything i hoped for as my first place to stay. I cant speak highly enough of Ahmed who was very welcoming, helpfull and freindly, he is an asset to Dar sienna. Saba equally was most lovely and provided a very nice breakfast and was more than happy to keep the coffee flowing. I had a wonderfull stay in the riad and would recommend to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in fez, I hope to visit again in the future. Also thanks Sonhild for all your information and help and for providing somewhere so nice for us to visit

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witch636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

For us, Dar Sienna is forever associated to or wonderful discovery of Fes, thanks to Sonhild, Ahmed and Saba. On one side of the entrance door, a beautiful quiet nest where you really feel at home, and on the other side, the heart of the Medina and it’s treasures.

Possible setbacks for some: lots of straight stairs (4 stories) and strict non-alcohol policy.

Room Tip: The last floor room (next to a fabulous terrace with a 360 view over the Medina) is best even if the shower and WC are small (those on second floor are better)
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

All the reviews about Dar Sienna are true, I don't want to repeat the others. Great location, great service, great city. (The city itself is much more interesting and authentic than Marrakech. If you have to choose between them, come to Fes and not Marrakech)
Ahmed and Sabam did their best for us.
Sonhild was very kind: She helped us with a lots advises to organize our trip. It was a huge extra for us. Thank you.

Room Tip: The too room has direct access to the terraces. Yes, the steps are slightly steep, but it worth the climb. The view is amazing.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIstva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had a great time at Dar Sienna. The rooms were lovely -- our bed was quite hard but we slept great on it. The location is fantastic and allowed us to get lost inside the walls of the old city. And the breakfasts were incredible!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattjduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We rented the entire Dar and stayed there for 4 nights in early November. From the first time I contacted the owner, she started sending me a lot of valuable information to make sure that I would have a pleasant stay in Fez and make Dar Sienna like a home for us. Yes, we had a wonderful time in Fez and Dar Sienna.

When giving a review, as always, I write both the pros and cons with the hope that the review will be benefit to both the travelers and the property owner.

Pro:
- The hospitality was the best of all. It started before our arrival and ended at the time we stepped into the taxi for the next destination.
- The location was unbeatable, inside the medina but away from the noise. It is so near the historical site, Moulay Idriss II shrine, that we could easily asked the direction to get back to the Dar.
- The daily breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. Saba, I called her Lady Saba, worked so hard to make sure that we ate well before heading out for the day. She prepared mint tea every late afternoon for us too.
- The property manager, Ahmed, was very observing and anticipated our needs before we got into troubles, such as recommending city tour guide to save us from lost in the maze inside the medina.
- The Dar has a wonderful kitchen facility and very well equipped. (After x meals of Tagine, couscous, kebabs and pastillas, we were craving for something light. We cooked 2 dinners in the kitchen and got a few tips from Ahmed of cooking local vegetable soup. )
- The sheets, pillows, down comforters and towels were very high quality.


Cons:
- The hot shower was not adequate. The water got cold in the middle of shower. Two of us caught cold during the trip. They were not happy with the hot shower system.
- The ensuite shower room in the third level had no lighting fixtures that we couldn't take a shower in the evening. Although the property manager suggested not to close the shower curtain to let the light from the bedroom in. We didn't do it for not wanting to damp the hallway floor.
- The beds/mattresses in the bedrooms of the 2nd and 3rd level were too soft to be comfortable; especially after sleeping 4 nights there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gw2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews