We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Beautiful Gem”
Review of Dar Sienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dar Sienna
Ranked #19 of 217 Fes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I can honestly say that our time spent at Dar Sienna was absolutely fantastic! A great location right in the heart of the Medina, giving you the chance to fully experience the real life of this wonderful ancient city. It has without a doubt the best view of all the Medina from its lovely cute rooftop terrace, where you can have a big tasty breakfast each morning. For me though what really made our stay such a joy was the kindness and love we felt from both Ahmed and Saba. Right from the start of our arrival they both made us feel very welcome and helped us to adjust to our new surroundings. More than just staff at the Riad, they have become our friends and already we look forward to our next visit at Dar Sienna. A true beautiful Gem!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent a month at Dar Sienna and found that it exceeded our expectations. What made it such a pleasant place to stay was the staff, Ahmed and Sabah. We couldn't have asked for anyone more helpful or friendly than these two. Another great thing about the Dar is its location. While we were still finding our way around the medina all we had to do was ask the way to Moulay Idriss and we were pointed in the correct direction. The space heaters kept the rooms quite warm, but the common spaces could become rather chilly (Feb. 12- Mar. 12)

I would agree that if there were others staying that it might seem crowded, we had the entire thing to ourselves and it was very pleasant.

I would make sure that I had the house manager's cell number before I left home. There were some wireless issues once in Morocco and the final hookup was somewhat difficult.

Room Tip: If I were traveling from the States again, I think I would get a hotel at the Casa airport on arriva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Ahmed was so kind with us and helped a lot, telling us what to visit in the little time we had. The house was perfect for us (we were 7 friends), great location in the middle of the Medina, and we loved the breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Fantastic location in the heart of the medina, in the most sacred close to the Moulay Idriss's mosque!. Ideal to immerse yourself in the life of fez.
The staff there has been an enormous help. Do not forget the kindness of Ahmed and the delicious breakfasts!
Recommended for those who love being in touch with the locals!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathanuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and rented the whole house. Seeing as there were just 2 of us, it was an extravagance, but really worth it. If you don't have the whole house, you don't have a lot of private space. The common spaces are actually quite small, so if there are other guests in the house, it would feel quite cramped. This is with the exception of the roof, where there is 3 separate sections. Two of the rooms don't have an ensuite bathroom, while the third bathroom has a small ensuite, which you have to walk through, to get to the bedroom. Given the limitations of space, the owners have done a remarkable job in fitting 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms into it. This would be perfect for a medium-sized family or a group of friends.

The detail of design in the house was fantastic -- carved plaster mouldings, architectural details, pierced light fixtures -- all contributed to a great atmosphere.

Ahmed is the house manager who helped us plan our days in Fez.
Saba is the cook/housekeeper who prepared our breakfasts, and took care of the house.
We felt spoiled by this personal service.

Ahmed met us at a predetermined location, and guided us to the parking area. Then walked us through the medina to the house. It's quite a long walk from the parking to the house. The house is located well, as it is central to all major sites.

The entrance to the house is a narrow, dark passage from the main street -- but felt very safe. Being in the middle of the medina, there was some noise from outside, but not intrusively so. It was really enjoyable sitting out on the roof terrace, looking over the sprawling medina, with the call to prayer issuing 360 degrees around you.

It was nice to have a fully equipped kitchen at our disposal, thus we were able to buy a very fresh chicken (dispatched in front of us) for our dinner, and visit the vegetable market for fresh produce.

Wifi was not strong enough to reach the upper floors or roof terrace, but fine on the main floor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Axe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Our stay at Dar Sienna was superb. When we arrived at Fes we were greeted by the driver just outside the airport which was very helpful. The cost of the trip from the airport to the Riad is 150 MAD. You could get it cheaper if you do your research but to be honest, I think it is more reliable to ask the Riad to arrange it on your behalf, if you were visiting Morocco for the first time as we were. Being a new country and a new city where we did not know anyone and after reading so many dodgy reviews about Morocco, we decided that this was our best option. Sonhild and Ahmed made the arrangement for us. Another word of advice for all travellers, CARRY YOUR CASH! There are 2 FX counters at the airport where you can exchange your currency to MAD (they don't accept cards). There are also 2 cash points but these were not working/not dispensing cash.

The driver was very kind and took us to various other banks where we got our cash finally and then to the drop off point where Ahmed was waiting for us. He welcomed us with a big hearty smile. His English is very good so rest assured communication will not be an issue at all if you are an English speaker only. From the drop off point Ahmed guided us to the Riad which is just around the religious mosque named Moulay Idriss and amidst the souks. The Riad is situated right at the heart of the famous old medina (a UNESCO heritage site) and everything is at a walking distance from here, the chouara tanneries, bab boujloud, cafe clock (restaurant).
After checking in, Ahmed gave us a map of the medina and showed us all the places we should visit. We asked him so many questions but he was always smiling and willing to help, which was very sweet of him. He also gave us his mobile number and told us to call (at any time) if we ever get lost in the medina, which I think was very kind of him. The Riad was traditional, very clean and well maintained. You truly get the feel of living in ancient Morocco which is exactly the kind of experience we wanted to have from our stay.
Inside the kitchen we were greeted by Saba who brought us mint tea as soon as we arrived. Saba was absolutely lovely!! The kind of hospitality we received from Ahmed and Saba was excellent! They never seemed to get irritated with questions and requests from all the tourists. You could see that they love Fes and were very passionate about ensuring that everyone had a great stay. The next morning breakfast was good. It was traditional Moroccan with eggs, breads, jams and olives. We enjoyed it thoroughly on the terrace that has an awesome view. Unfortunately since our stay at Fes was just for a day, we couldn't spend more time here as we would have been ideal.

I will strongly recommend this Riad to everyone planning a visit Fes. A big thank you to all staffs of Dar Sienna for making our stay in Fes a wonderful and a memorable experience. It was a very good start to our journey :)

Room Tip: Choose the room on the first floor which will give you access to the big bathroom (traditional Moroc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank send2archan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our family of 5 reserved the whole dar for 4 days in mid-January. Our party was 4 adults and one child; ages 3 – 62. We were completely charmed by Ahmed, the building manager and Saba, who prepared an amazing breakfast every morning. It was too cold to eat on the roof so we took breakfast in the salon. It was a pleasure spending time with Ahmed and learning about Fes and the medina. Ahmed also rescued us when we needed help getting back to the dar from a restaurant in the medina. The owner of Dar Sienna (DS), Sonhild provided comprehensive information and advice well before our arrival. I had no direct contact with Sonhild because my husband made all the arrangements but it was clear she takes the business of renting DS seriously and personally. She demonstrated genuine concern and interest in our experience. DS gets consistently glowing reviews. I think it's a testament to how well Sonhild manages expectations.

The location is exactly as described on the DS website and in Sonhild's correspondence. There is no way we could have found it on our own. We were grateful to have Ahmed escort us from the gate to DS. DS is inside the holy area and steps from the mosque. If you're using rolling luggage, make sure the wheels are in good condition. The cobblestones gave my suitcase quite the workout. It's in the middle of everything and you can walk everywhere. Comfortable walking shoes are a must and I recommend closed-toe shoes versus sandals. We were warned about the stairs in DS and they are no joke. Lots of steep stairs. Our group didn't have a problem with them but we could certainly see how anyone that was out of shape or had even mild mobility issues would have trouble here. The view from the roof is worth the climb.

We really only had two complaints: we were challenged by the hot water and it was really cold inside the dar. We left a day early for Marrakesh because the cold just became unbearable and my husband had not showered in 3 days because he was too cold. There are space heaters in the bedrooms but we really wanted to spend some time with our family in the salon. My husband and I were on the 3rd floor in Chamber Celeste and could not get the whole room warm enough to make shower time comfortable. We could warm up the bedroom by closing the door to the little hallway where the shower and toilet are but that left the hallway pretty cold. The salon was also freezing but logistically I don't know how you'd heat that room because all the warm air would travel up to the roof. We have the same problem in our townhouse which has high ceilings. Did I mention it was cold?

Keeping in mind the building is centuries old and there is no public utility providing gas, it really is astonishing it's as comfortable as it is and things went as well as they did. We had no problems with the wireless or electricity. The wireless has some weak spots on the 3rd floor but it was otherwise fine. We had no trouble getting water but it was tricky getting warm water for a morning shower on the 2nd floor. It started out scalding hot and then turned cold but by the second shower it was just right. We originally thought that was kind of funny but after the second morning our daughter and grandson were no longer amused.

Even though we left a day early I gave Dar Sienna a 4/5 rating because of Ahmed, Saba, breakfast (awesome) and because the location is pretty special.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor Chambre Celeste is the best room providing same floor access to the roof terrace and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0ingn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Taha
Riad Taha
#2 of 217 in Fes
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar El Ouedghiri
Dar El Ouedghiri
#24 of 217 in Fes
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mazar
Riad Mazar
#13 of 217 in Fes
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar el Bali
Dar el Bali
#17 of 217 in Fes
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Naila
Riad Naila
#28 of 217 in Fes
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Meski
Riad Meski
#60 of 217 in Fes
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sienna

Address: 6 Derb Eloued, Fes 30000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Fes
Price Range: £20 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Sienna is a cosy guesthouse, located in the heart of the car-free Fez medina. ALSO AVAILABLE TO RENT THE WHOLE HOUSE, SLEEPS 2-6 PERSONS. Free breakfast and high-speed wifi and use of kitchen.Golf course and swimming pool nearby. Excursions to Sefrou, Meknes, Volubilis arranged. Cookery and breadbaking lessons at Cafe Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Sienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Sienna Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing