We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confirmed”
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #5 of 99 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Rambrouch, Diekirch, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Confirmed”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was the second time we came to the Riad, for the Fez sacred Music Festival. Now even better, little details are improved, the panoramic terrasse becomes shady, food and staff as friendly and qualified as before, we enjoyed our one week's journey. Really the best !

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    43
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
106
268
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I spent three nights at the Riad Ahlam. It was excellent and I highly recommend it when traveling to Fez. I have no complaints. Overall, the rooms are very clean, the toilets flush, and the water is hot.

Specifics:

Credit cards were not used in any of the medina souks/restaurants we visited. Credit cards are used in the Riad.

Location--excellent: located just outside the medina and about a two-minute walk from the souks. For restaurants, enter the medina, turn to the right, and travel about 200 yards. If you travel a little farther, you will reach “restaurant row” with several choices. The food is high quality (i.e. the food tasted good, no one got sick) chicken and beef. The price is approximately 70 Dhs ($9 USD).

Arrival: you arrive in the parking area of the medina. As you exit the taxi, several porters will grab—literally—your luggage to put in a cart to travel to the Riad entrance—about 100 yards. Upon arrival at the Riad, they want a tip and have no problems asking for it or asking for more. Remember, whatever you give them, it is not enough. We gave 50 Dhs—about $6 USD—which they were not satisfied. But……….50 Dhs is what they got and we entered the Riad and met Kacem.

Riad layout: there is a center courtyard with a fountain and several areas/tables to sit. Also, this is where you can access the Wi Fi (fast and free) and eat meals. We had three in our room without problems. The rooms are clean, quiet, spacious, and have an excellent bathroom and shower.

Water: endless supply of complimentary bottled water.

Staff and service: excellent! Kacem is excellent and treats the guests like his family. The staff is excellent, as well, and will do anything for you. Breakfasts (included in your package) were outstanding and had more than anyone could eat. The breakfasts included breads, omelets, fruit, and coffee. The Riad did not have sugar substitute, so if you like Equal, bring your own. Dinners in the Riad were equally as good and again, more than one person can eat. In fact, on the second night, we shared main courses. The cost was approximately 140-150 Dhs per. The food—we had chicken and beef--was outstanding. And, in the Riad, it can all go onto your credit card.

Getting around the medina: We had pre-booked our guides to ensure that we had a human GPS “at our disposal” from 9 AM to 6 PM for two full days in Fez. The agency we used was excellent. But, the local guides were so-so. We are seasoned travelers and avoid co-ops, friendship stores, group lunches, etc. However, our guide wanted to take us to the “best” places. We told him multiple times “no.” But, he insisted. We won the battle but he wanted to dump us at 2 PM. Moral of the story. Hire someone local-ask Kacem for a quality guide and he will help ensure that you get exactly what you want. Pay ½ at the start and ½ when finished and you will be OK. The souks are crazy but all you need is your Riad’s business card and some common sense.

Summary: I highly recommend everything about the Riad Ahlam. There are hotels with all of the “hotel amenities” away from the medina. But, you are in Fez. The Riads are close to the action, which is why one would come here in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jknight910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Riad Ahlam is a lovely place to stay. It is a great location, right on the edge of the medina and just a 5-10 minute walk from Bab Boujloud. The rooms are absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable: great air conditioning, great wi-fi, and beautiful spacious bathrooms. In fact, we were upgraded to a suite for no extra charge, which was really nice. The breakfast was delicious and more than we could possibly eat, and served in a beautiful atrium with amazing tile work. Dinner is available for 14.95 euro per person, or for 19.95 euro per person for a larger selection: we tried both, and the food was absolutely incredible (especially the chicken tagine with olives and lemon!). The dinner we had there was the best we ate in all of Morocco. There is an amazing roof deck with a view of the entire city, and the surrounding hills. Additionally, the proprietor is very friendly and knowledgeable and extremely helpful. Really a terrific experience: I recommend it as highly as possible!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda3159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Amazing place with a friendly staff that left us absolutely loving Fes. As soon as we entered, we were brought in to the beautiful courtyard and served Moroccan tea, and then given a free upgrade to a suite. The manager insisted that we make the Riad our home for the two nights we were staying there and he really meant it.

The room was gorgeous and fabulously furnished with a four poster bed and colorful light fixtures that made us feel like royalty. In the morning, the breakfast was enormous, delicious and filling. We came during Ramadan, and our food options were rather limited so we decided to eat at the Riad the first night. It was so amazing we ate there the second night as well. After a day in the markets of the medina, this was a great choice, as both the chicken and lamb tangine dishes were outstanding, and the courtyard the perfect place to relax and enjoy true Moroccan cuisine. The roof patio has a sweeping, panoramic view of Fes. Relaxing on the roof after dinner it really felt like home, a very very long way from home.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattKdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Really excellent amenities, fantastic furniture, large tasty breakfast, free wi-fi, wonderful atmosphere. but, above all, the friendliness of the manager and the rest of the staff! We coudln't believe it...all true and really perfect tomake you feel good after a long day strolling around this beatiful town!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cucciolo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Beautiful riad, good food and they gave us a recommendation to a restaurant in a private home in the medina that was one of the best meals we've ever had, not just in Morocco (restaurant sent someone to pick us up and take us there). Our room was big and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovingtravel1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Many a good thing to be said about this lovely Riad; but firstly a warning to travellers about 'faux guides' on trains to Fes!
People may seem very friendly at first, introducing themselves, seeming very respectable people(businessmen, teachers, students). This is often a tourist trap. They will say their friend or relative is a 'official' guide and make up an elaborate story sounding genuine. Before you know it, you'll be on a tour of just shops with inflated prices and high pressure salespersons! Be independent and common sense should prevail! It's a shame for Morocco because you find yourself distrusting genuine people!
So, the Riad Ahlam.

1. The Staff - the problem we encountered above was settled with the help of the manager, Kacem, who was very welcoming and very friendly. He works with trusted people (guides, taxi drivers etc.) because you feel the reputation of the Riad is very important to him, almost like his baby! If not done independently, organise any tours or taxis at the reception. Kacem asked us our opinion of the guide and taxi we used, so I'm sure he knows who to go to and who not to go to. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite as it was available at no extra cost. The Riad staff were so nice. Rajaa will prepare you amazing, home cooked food; always with a smile on her face. Omar the nightwatchman was very attentive, always asking if we wanted anything. All in all, impeccable service!

2. The Riad - Big, clean and air conditioned bedrooms with safe provided and well decorated. Nice bathroom with hot water. The rooms were cleaned everyday. Roof terrace has a lovely view of the medina, not to be missed.

3. The food - Breakfast of Kings! You will not be disappointed or go hungry! No lunch required, maybe just some fruit if you're out and about. If you order dinner in the morning, ingredients are bought during the day and again, served to you in epic proportions that evening.

4. Location - Located at the top of the medina make Riad Ahlam relatively easy to find. Easy to get a petit taxi if you walk to the main road or in the car park if you're lucky. You'll be in the hustle and bustle of the medina in 2 minutes walking from Riad Ahlam. Also the Riad is very quiet at night.

A perfect stay and a big thank you to Kacem, Rajaa and Omar. You deserve all the good reviews with the work that you do. I would recommend Riad Ahlam to everyone and I would go back again and again. If this is in your price range, I doubt you will find anywhere better in Fes, maybe in all of Morocco!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesWoodQuerales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 99 in Fes
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 99 in Fes
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 99 in Fes
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 99 in Fes
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Property: Riad Ahlam
Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing