We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon stay”
Review of Riad Ahlam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ahlam
Ranked #5 of 100 Hotels in Fes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a wonderful time at Riad Ahlam for the 2 nights we were in Fes. The friendliness, decor and food were all amazing. The location of the Riad is very convenient to the markets and walking distance to many of the sites. We had one of the larger rooms and enjoyed the room. The a/c was nice on a few of the hotter days. We had dinner at the riad one night, and it was one of the better dinners we had on the trip.
The manager treated us like family and went out of his way to make arrangements for us to do the things we wanted, hired a guide for us one afternoon, and made sure we were taken care of.
We would definitely recommend this riad, and also would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ahlam
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Our heartfelt thanks to Kassem and the staff at the Riad Ahlam for making our visit to Fez so memorable and comfortable (and our apologies if we misspell anyone’s name). Our visit started with a late night (midnight) arrival on a flight from Northern Europe but we experienced no safety concerns. We had asked Kassem to arrange ground transportation from the airport, and when we arrived a Petit Taxi driver was waiting for us with a sign in hand. Once parked nearby, the taxi driver escorted us to the Riad door.
We were greeted by Omar the night time attendant, who dispensed of all registration formality, making our comfort the priority and escorting us immediately to our beautiful room for a great night’s sleep.
In the morning we met Kassem who greeted us warmly, efficiently completed our registration and assisted with our inquiries to commence our first day of sight seeing. It is sometimes difficult when you are on vacation to distinguish whether the people are friendly because they have to be, or because they genuinely are. It was not difficult at all here. We felt we were getting the real deal with Kassem and the entire staff.
JoeR674 commented on Fatiya's "infectious smile and contagious laughter" and he was not exaggerating a bit. We never once saw her without that smile, making sure we were enjoying ourselves, and every breakfast was a delicious feast. She also prepared a delicious lamb and prune tagine for us on our final evening, which was by far, the best meal we had in Morocco. Raja was equally cheery and worked hard keeping the riad and our room spotless so that we fully enjoyed its beauty and the wonderful reprieve provided from our busy days exploring Fez. I realize that in each case I have mentioned the smile. It is hard not to notice that each person seems to actually enjoy the fact that you are there at their Riad, and they want to make sure that your visit was everything that you hoped it would be. I think it is fair to say that they deliver on every aspect of service, comfort, location and value. In addition to the great service and value provided at Riad Ahlam Kassem arranged for a tour guide to show us around the Medina in particular, and Fez in general. We were guided by Khalid who we found to be so knowledgeable, informative and very personable. We gained more spiritual, cultural, and historical insight into Fez and its people from Khalid than we have from any guides we have engaged in our previous travels anywhere. Our tour included a visit to the largest tannery where we met Dahak who conducted the tour of the facilities and the process. Dahak let us know that he was going to try to sell us something, but we never did feel pressured to do so. All fascinating and very valued memories and a very unique destination.
The Riad Ahlam was a truly wonderful and magical place to stay and visit. We had a wonderful vacation due in no small part to the wonderful staff of the Riad. Thanks so much Kassem and Ahlam staff and Khalid for making it such a memorable vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ButtonCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is the most unique, beautiful, friendly, helpful and courteous establishment that we’ve ever stayed at. We were pampered every day in every way.

The staff, Kacem (Manager Par Excellence), Fatia with her infectious smile and contagious laughter was the Best Cook and most bubbly personality Anywhere. We wanted to take her home with us. Rajae is a super nice person and Omar was extremely helpful and always there to assist. Together they are beyond Outstanding. They are truly one of a kind!

We were not treated as customers, we were treated as Family. This is the best hotel/Riad experience we’ve ever had and would recommend this establishment ahead of all others anywhere in the world.

This Riad was absolutely beautiful and very large compared to others we stayed in, and had a superb rooftop view of this magnificent city, which is the jewel of Morocco. The main gate to the old city is only five minutes walk away. The service by manager Kacem was gracious and very helpful. We had dinner one night and the cooking was incredible. They have a good breakfast, welcoming tea at arrival, wifi everywhere + rooms. . Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended – if fact, it you are staying in Fes or anywhere around Fes, this is the ONLY place to stay!

The location is well situated at edge of old medina and very easy to find in an otherwise congested old medina. The Riad is just off a public parking area next to the center of the long souk street. Very convenient to say the least.
Rooms were very well decorated, clean and hygienic contained all of the modern amenities, yet kept it’s old world charm. Bathrooms were also super clean with old Arabian style showers. Staff was incredibly friendly especially Fatia and Omar and the lady by the name of Rajae.

We spent nearly 3 weeks in Morocco, visiting Rabat, Fes, Meknes, Marrakesh, the l’Ourika valley, and Essaouria and by FAR, this was the highlight of our stay. Out of 5 stars, this staff makes it a 10 Star - Can’t wait to go back, which we will definitely do!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeR674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed for only 2 nights, but it was wonderful stay. Every staff was very caring and the room was very clean. We had no plan on day 2 so the staff arranged us a half day tour in Fes, which was very wise decision. Fes is a maze and there was no way we could of seen that many if we did not go on the tour.
We ate one dinner and two breakfast. The dinner might have been the best we had during our stay in Morocco. Is in a great location to go out of Medina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank porcorosso365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Perfectly situated, traditional riad. Entire staff was so sweet and accommodating and went out of their way to ensure we had a perfect stay. Rooms were very clean and updated while still maintaining a traditional charm. Food was excellent and the rooftop terrace is probably one of the best in all of Fez.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephielee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

When you go to Morocco you must stay in a Riad. These beautiful homes, which reflect Islamic values, are for me the most wonderfully comfortable homes that exist. The balconies are on the inside rather than on the outside, and face a beautiful inner courtyard which is open to the elements. This riad was beautiful and very large compared to others we stayed in, and had a superb rooftop view of this magnificent city, which is the jewel of Morocco. The main gate to the old city is only ten minutes walk away. The service by manager Kassam was very helpful. We ate in and the cooking was excellent. Overall an excellent experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

we were a moroccan, 3 koreans, 1 jew and 1 chinese. we all arrived to this riad hoping for the best. the result is that we all came out with big smiles on the face. this place kept the traditional structure, lights, decoration and atmosphere with very tidy management, spotless in all corners. good breakfast, wecoming tea at arrival, wifi everywhere + rooms were spacious and with big TV and AC but really, it was a traditional place. just on the edge of medina wall, all were by walking distance. roof top was the place to see the sunrise and sunset. you really have to belive my and other people's comment about the staff, which makes the whole difference. kasim and fatia and many more......thank you again so much and looking forward to going back. jawad and juyoung.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juyoungkims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fes hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Laaroussa Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Bensouda
0.0 mi away
Riad Layalina Fez
Riad Layalina Fez
#7 of 100 in Fes
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Hafsa
Dar Hafsa
#6 of 100 in Fes
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Alya
Ryad Alya
#8 of 100 in Fes
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Yacout
Riad El Yacout
#4 of 100 in Fes
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ahlam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ahlam

Address: 24 Derb El Miter | Ain Azliten, Fes 30110, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Fes-Boulemane Region > Fes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fes
#7 Romantic Hotel in Fes
#11 Business Hotel in Fes
Price Range: £79 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ahlam 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former traditional Moroccan palace built around a beautiful shaded patio, refurbished and turned into a lovely guest house accommodation in Fez, Riad Ahlam boasts two terraces offering breathtaking panoramic views over the medina. Ideal place for an unforgettable stay in the historic city of Fez, Riad Ahlam offers 10 charming rooms and suites, equipped with all the modern comfort, as well as a dining venues where guests are invited to discover the fine flavours of Moroccan cuisine.Located in the heart of Fez Medina, Morocco, the traditional guest house Riad Ahlam is a welcoming place to stay when planning a sightseeing tour of the Old Town Fez, within walking distance from its colorful souks and Bab Boujloud door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Ahlam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ahlam Hotel Fes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing